Listen doesn't work when mapped to Function button on CC121

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration Controller CC121.
Post Reply
User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Listen doesn't work when mapped to Function button on CC121

Post by Sunshy » Thu Jul 31, 2014 8:53 am

I mapped one of my 4 function buttons to Edit/Listen so I can use the Listen function in control room. Works great, but ONLY WHEN MIXCONSOLE IS IN FOCUS. Why is this? Mute, Solo, etc. work as expected when in project window. I have to click on the mixconsole in order to get it in focus and THEN press the function key. If I have to do this, I might as well just click the L button with my mouse. Can we get this fixed please? :evil:

Can another user please confirm this behavior with CC121 & Cubase 7.5?
N 8.3 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 8999
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Listen doesn't work when mapped to Function button on CC

Post by -steve- » Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:36 pm

Sunshy wrote:Why is this?
This is part of the deficient way Cubase currently handles focus for commands, e.g., Listen should have the same status as Solo and Mute. Steiny know how people feel about this, and hopefully it's just a matter of time for it to be fixed.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listen doesn't work when mapped to Function button on CC

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Thu Jul 31, 2014 6:38 pm

Sunshy wrote:I mapped one of my 4 function buttons to Edit/Listen so I can use the Listen function in control room. Works great, but ONLY WHEN MIXCONSOLE IS IN FOCUS. Why is this? Mute, Solo, etc. work as expected when in project window. I have to click on the mixconsole in order to get it in focus and THEN press the function key. If I have to do this, I might as well just click the L button with my mouse. Can we get this fixed please? :evil:

Can another user please confirm this behavior with CC121 & Cubase 7.5?
it's the same for the listen keycommand. i instead made a two-command macro that calls up the control room twice, then toggles listen (cubase responds to the listen command on the control room panel as well).
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

User avatar
Sunshy
Member
Posts: 741
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Listen doesn't work when mapped to Function button on CC

Post by Sunshy » Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:08 pm

OK, so my work around was to make a Macro: F3, F3, Edit/Listen and assign it to a function key on the CC121. This hides the mixconsole, then brings it up again (bringing it into focus) and then the Listen command words. It's annoying to have the mixer disappear and reappear like that, it's better than mouse clicking. Thanks Lukas and good to have you on as a mod Steve.
N 8.3 Cubase 10
Intel Core I7-3930K Sandy Bridge 3.8, 64 GB Corsair RAM, Itel 330 Series SSD Drive for OS, Win 10 Pro 64 bit
RME UFX, UR28M, CC 121, Blackmagic Intensity Pro

lukasbrooklyn
Senior Member
Posts: 1043
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Listen doesn't work when mapped to Function button on CC

Post by lukasbrooklyn » Sat Aug 02, 2014 9:34 pm

Sunshy wrote:OK, so my work around was to make a Macro: F3, F3, Edit/Listen and assign it to a function key on the CC121. This hides the mixconsole, then brings it up again (bringing it into focus) and then the Listen command words. It's annoying to have the mixer disappear and reappear like that, it's better than mouse clicking. Thanks Lukas and good to have you on as a mod Steve.
no worries. i hope they fix these little issues soon...
system// i7 4930k, w7 x64, c7.5.4, (c8)
audio// RME HDSP, SSL duende, audeze lcd-2, klein&hummel o300, adam s2x, lavry DA, avantone mixcubes, EL Fatso ...

http://www.lukasturza.com // http://www.snapmastering.com // music production / mixing / mastering [hybris, upbeats, noisia, rem koolhaas, czech television, havas, ogilvy, ...]

cubendo supercharged workflow ideas/threads of possible interest:
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=63450
http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 81&t=38182
my supercharged workflow videos:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ellGhSdmXfk

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg CC121”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest