MIDI parts on multiple tracks as one polyphonic staff

All topics related to the Cubase Score Editor can be posted here.
Post Reply
alin89c
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:02 am
Location: Iași, Romania
Contact:

MIDI parts on multiple tracks as one polyphonic staff

Post by alin89c » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:47 am

In the manual ("Cubase_Pro_Score_10_5_Score_Layout_and_Printing_en") we can read the following:
Parts on different tracks are shown on different staves. (page 9)

Can parts on multiple tracks be shown on a single polyphonic staff (single/split)?
Alin-Teodor Catană
MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) | macOS 10.14.6 Mojave | Cubase Pro 10.0.60 | Korg Sp-200 | Behringer UMA25S

User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI parts on multiple tracks as one polyphonic staff

Post by TheMaestro » Thu Mar 26, 2020 2:57 pm

From the developer himself:
Michael Michaelis wrote:
Thu Feb 27, 2020 10:36 pm
You can move the parts of the different tracks on top of each other. That way, all the MIDI notes will show up in the scores in one staff.
But, different articulations for different instruments on the same staff: No it's not possible!
This one is a major issue that needs to be addressed in Cubase score.
Cubase Pro 10.5 | Halion 6.3 | VEP 7
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT | Yamaha S80

alin89c
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:02 am
Location: Iași, Romania
Contact:

Re: MIDI parts on multiple tracks as one polyphonic staff

Post by alin89c » Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:18 pm

Thank you for the quick reply, but I must say you're wrong when you say that one can't have different articulations for different instruments on the same staff.

Watch this video I've made:
https://youtu.be/IXXbEPYZ4-0

I already did what Michael Michaelis said, but It's a pain. Using lanes helps a bit.
Screenshot 2020-03-26 at 18.47.46.png
(232.84 KiB) Not downloaded yet
The black MIDI parts (that can be seen in the picture above) contain only the CC's for the corresponding instrument in the sampler (first black part is for the 1st instrument - "a" articulations; and the second black part is for the 2nd instrument - "b" articulations). This way, I can control the expression (cc.1, cc7, etc) of the 1st and 2nd instrument, individually.
Also, if you use a separate track for the cc's, you can set a track delay so that a CC point can have the same position as the note that a particular instrument is assigned to it. That's neat neat neat!

I managed to use the Project Logical Editor to make macros that are assigned to an OSC button on my tablet. So, when I hit the Oboes button, the Key Editor opens like this:
https://youtu.be/SVIc_hrP72Q

Maybe I said more than I should've. Sorry. That's what you get if you reply to my posts :lol:
Last edited by alin89c on Fri Mar 27, 2020 5:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Alin-Teodor Catană
MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) | macOS 10.14.6 Mojave | Cubase Pro 10.0.60 | Korg Sp-200 | Behringer UMA25S

alin89c
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:02 am
Location: Iași, Romania
Contact:

Re: MIDI parts on multiple tracks as one polyphonic staff

Post by alin89c » Thu Mar 26, 2020 8:16 pm

Also, did you know that your avatar picture is from Bach's 13th invention?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ttwo-QYqDNo
Alin-Teodor Catană
MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) | macOS 10.14.6 Mojave | Cubase Pro 10.0.60 | Korg Sp-200 | Behringer UMA25S

User avatar
TheMaestro
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Fri Mar 22, 2013 1:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MIDI parts on multiple tracks as one polyphonic staff

Post by TheMaestro » Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:51 am

alin89c wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 6:18 pm
I must say you're wrong when you say that one can't have different articulations for different instruments on the same staff
I would have loved to be wrong.

I watched your video.
You are just lucky and/or you are cheating :D

First, all your articulations in this video are Attributes. A pizzicato is not used as articulation per note normally. It should be a Direction.
Then, it all depends on your configuration: the way you have built your Expression Maps or your sampler and instruments configuration.
For instance, in your example, you could have set the MIDI channel in your expression map for pizz. or tremolo or staccato etc. That way it would work but, this is what I call cheating, because it is unsound.

The way it should work is that articulations (Directions and Attributes) should send data to the channel they belong to. And this is not the case unfortunately.
Same problem for Dynamics.

All expression data are always send to MIDI channel 1 whether articulations are in voice/channel 1, 2, 3, ... and this is the problem.
You can easily check in MIDI Monitor.

I use OSC too. What I really would like is commands in Generic remote to select articulations defined in Expression Maps!

And you didn't say too much to my taste, even not enough ;)



And as for my avatar, I must say you have risen in my esteem! :shock:
Absolutely! and it's Bach's manuscript (I used to play it). My admiration of Bach is beyond imagination.
(Your video is very cute)
Cubase Pro 10.5 | Halion 6.3 | VEP 7
Windows 10 x64 | i7 920 | 48GB RAM | M-AUDIO Delta 1010LT | Yamaha S80

alin89c
Junior Member
Posts: 74
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2019 11:02 am
Location: Iași, Romania
Contact:

Re: MIDI parts on multiple tracks as one polyphonic staff

Post by alin89c » Fri Apr 03, 2020 8:27 pm

You are just lucky and/or you are cheating :D
This makes me think about that scene in "Bruce Almighty" (2003) where Bruce, after receiving God's powers, starts the engine of his car by saying "Start!" [engine starts], then commenting: "That was lucky", trying to calm himself down.
https://youtu.be/ZsvYEb_DEH0?t=16
First, all your articulations in this video are Attributes. A pizzicato is not used as articulation per note normally. It should be a Direction.
→ Well, if you create direction articulations (for pizz. and others), then they don't appear in the info line articulation drop-down menu. That's one of the reasons I made them all attributes.
→ Another reason is that I don't like the Score Editor (or any other notation software) to limit my notation possibilities. Actually, I don't want articulations to influence how my score looks. That's why I have this option activated:
Score Settings > Notation Style > Project > Miscellaneous > Hide Expression Map Symbols
Then, it all depends on your configuration: the way you have built your Expression Maps or your sampler and instruments configuration.
For instance, in your example, you could have set the MIDI channel in your expression map for pizz. or tremolo or staccato etc. That way it would work but, this is what I call cheating, because it is unsound.
This is how I've built my articulations:
Screenshot 2020-04-03 at 22.09.44.png
(294.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet
\
MIDI Channel 5 is for the first instrument;
MIDI Channel 6 is for the second instrument.
Both instruments/patches in the multitimbral sampler (Kontakt 6) have key switches (group start on key...).
The way it should work is that articulations (Directions and Attributes) should send data to the channel they belong to. And this is not the case unfortunately.
Same problem for Dynamics.
I'm not sure I understand what you mean.
All expression data are always send to MIDI channel 1 whether articulations are in voice/channel 1, 2, 3, ... and this is the problem.
You can easily check in MIDI Monitor.
That's why I use separate tracks for sending expression data to the channels 5 and 6 (and others). Actually, I find it very useful, because I can make an instrument have the same expression as another, just by copying the part that contains only the CC data to the corresponding expresssion track. Of course, this requires that both instruments respond to the same CC's.
I use OSC too. What I really would like is commands in Generic remote to select articulations defined in Expression Maps!
You and me both.
This OSC? (below)
https://openstagecontrol.ammd.net/
And you didn't say too much to my taste, even not enough ;)
I'm glad to "hear" this.
And as for my avatar, I must say you have risen in my esteem! :shock:
Absolutely! and it's Bach's manuscript (I used to play it)
Also glad.
My admiration of Bach is beyond imagination.
We shouldn't admire composers, but their music. But I guess this is exactly what you mean when you say that your admiration of Bach is beyond imagination. Right?
(Your video is very cute)
Is this a "last but not least" line? I just wanna sleep well tonight. :lol:
Alin-Teodor Catană
MacBook Pro (Mid 2012) | macOS 10.14.6 Mojave | Cubase Pro 10.0.60 | Korg Sp-200 | Behringer UMA25S

Post Reply

Return to “Scoring in Cubase”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests