Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.
Post Reply
Ian s
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by Ian s » Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:35 pm

Hi all,

Current setup is Win 7 machine, MR816CSX + MR816X, Cubase 7.5

I have a 3rd MR ready to go in too. Yes, I'm aware of the reported issues with direct monitoring + daisychaining units.

The current system all works fine, bar some occasional drop outs (which usually seem to occur toward the end of a long session when I've opened multiple projects). Certainly works good enough for my purposes.

i tried using C8.5 but had issues with the Hardware Rack disappearing in the Mixer, among other things, non MR related. However, I do actually have a C10 licence, but not yet installed past 8.5.

I'm thinking to try installing C10 (staying on Win 7 - because it works and I don't use the machine for anything other than audio stuff), but would like to know if there are any common problems which might arise when using the MR interfaces with C10 on Windows (7)?

Thanks
C10.0.40 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by AlakaLazlo » Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:25 pm

If you switch to W10, make sure your firewire card will work. Many older ones don't. Search this forum for my post from a few years ago about the hell I went through trying to find one that works. I did find one and I have 2 MRs daisychained working under W10/64.
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

Ian s
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by Ian s » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:04 am

Thanks for the reply. Yes, one of the reasons for considering staying on W7 is that the firewire currently works ok on this machine running W7, and as well as reading your post I've seen a fair few other accounts of people's struggles with firewire (and MR) on W10.

This current studio computer is 5 years old and has a pretty good spec , and I love my MRs. My theory is that continuing to run W7 the system would/could/should happily bear the weight of C10, but switching up to both C10 and W10 might possibly create some issues. If + when the time comes to go beyond C10 I'll look at upgrading the computer and addressing the potential firewire + interface issues.
C10.0.40 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by fuzzydude » Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:45 pm

Ian s wrote:
Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:04 am
Thanks for the reply. Yes, one of the reasons for considering staying on W7 is that the firewire currently works ok on this machine running W7, and as well as reading your post I've seen a fair few other accounts of people's struggles with firewire (and MR) on W10.

This current studio computer is 5 years old and has a pretty good spec , and I love my MRs. My theory is that continuing to run W7 the system would/could/should happily bear the weight of C10, but switching up to both C10 and W10 might possibly create some issues. If + when the time comes to go beyond C10 I'll look at upgrading the computer and addressing the potential firewire + interface issues.
No issue here with Win10 1809 x64 and the MR series, at least before I started using them them as slaves. The key thing is to use a TI Chipset card with a 1394B port (FW800). Some good cards out there for under £50.00. https://www.scan.co.uk/products/lycom-p ... 394a)-card

Usually they'll have 2 FW800 and 1x FW400 port. You'll also need to get a FW 400 to 800 cable.
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.6 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1903) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Ian s
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by Ian s » Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:07 pm

fuzzydude wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:45 pm


No issue here with Win10 1809 x64 and the MR series, at least before I started using them them as slaves. The key thing is to use a TI Chipset card with a 1394B port (FW800). Some good cards out there for under £50.00. https://www.scan.co.uk/products/lycom-p ... 394a)-card

Usually they'll have 2 FW800 and 1x FW400 port. You'll also need to get a FW 400 to 800 cable.
Thanks for that. if I go up to Win10 I'll look at upgrading the FW card also.
C10.0.40 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

auggybendoggy
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by auggybendoggy » Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:43 pm

Fuzzydude, can you link us in the U.S. to a firewire card you believe will work?

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 346
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by rtorstrick » Thu Sep 26, 2019 8:04 pm

I can use my MR816csx in Windows 10, BUT, I get occasional BSDs when the unit is on. So the driver need an update. I'd tell you the 1394 card but I'm away from that machine at this time.
Windows 10
Cubase 10, Halion 6.1.15, Wavelab 9.5.35, Dorico 2.1
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives,
G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
Steinberg UR-RT 2, Steinberg MR816csx, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo (Pcie)

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by fuzzydude » Fri Sep 27, 2019 6:24 pm

auggybendoggy wrote:
Mon Sep 23, 2019 3:43 pm
Fuzzydude, can you link us in the U.S. to a firewire card you believe will work?
Apologies for the late reply. Hope the below helps i your search.

https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-Por ... B000WCT5HK

Fine with both the TI and 'Legacy' 1394 drivers. Just for the sake of clarity, ONLY USE the LEGACY drivers if not using the TI chipset.

Remember to get a good firewire 400 to 800 cable. Do not use 400 to 400.
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.6 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1903) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Ian s
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by Ian s » Fri Oct 04, 2019 2:20 am

Thanks everyone who contributed.
I''ve now updated to C10.0.40 ( still on Win 7) and everything fine with all 3 MR units.
Performance actually seems better so far. MR/Cubase integration is fine too, no problems at all. Except for the GUI darkness, lol.
C10.0.40 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg MR816”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest