Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.
Post Reply
Ian s
Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by Ian s » Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:35 pm

Hi all,

Current setup is Win 7 machine, MR816CSX + MR816X, Cubase 7.5

I have a 3rd MR ready to go in too. Yes, I'm aware of the reported issues with direct monitoring + daisychaining units.

The current system all works fine, bar some occasional drop outs (which usually seem to occur toward the end of a long session when I've opened multiple projects). Certainly works good enough for my purposes.

i tried using C8.5 but had issues with the Hardware Rack disappearing in the Mixer, among other things, non MR related. However, I do actually have a C10 licence, but not yet installed past 8.5.

I'm thinking to try installing C10 (staying on Win 7 - because it works and I don't use the machine for anything other than audio stuff), but would like to know if there are any common problems which might arise when using the MR interfaces with C10 on Windows (7)?

Thanks
C9.5 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by AlakaLazlo » Sun Jul 21, 2019 6:25 pm

If you switch to W10, make sure your firewire card will work. Many older ones don't. Search this forum for my post from a few years ago about the hell I went through trying to find one that works. I did find one and I have 2 MRs daisychained working under W10/64.
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

Ian s
Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by Ian s » Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:04 am

Thanks for the reply. Yes, one of the reasons for considering staying on W7 is that the firewire currently works ok on this machine running W7, and as well as reading your post I've seen a fair few other accounts of people's struggles with firewire (and MR) on W10.

This current studio computer is 5 years old and has a pretty good spec , and I love my MRs. My theory is that continuing to run W7 the system would/could/should happily bear the weight of C10, but switching up to both C10 and W10 might possibly create some issues. If + when the time comes to go beyond C10 I'll look at upgrading the computer and addressing the potential firewire + interface issues.
C9.5 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 313
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by fuzzydude » Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:45 pm

Ian s wrote:
Mon Jul 22, 2019 9:04 am
Thanks for the reply. Yes, one of the reasons for considering staying on W7 is that the firewire currently works ok on this machine running W7, and as well as reading your post I've seen a fair few other accounts of people's struggles with firewire (and MR) on W10.

This current studio computer is 5 years old and has a pretty good spec , and I love my MRs. My theory is that continuing to run W7 the system would/could/should happily bear the weight of C10, but switching up to both C10 and W10 might possibly create some issues. If + when the time comes to go beyond C10 I'll look at upgrading the computer and addressing the potential firewire + interface issues.
No issue here with Win10 1809 x64 and the MR series, at least before I started using them them as slaves. The key thing is to use a TI Chipset card with a 1394B port (FW800). Some good cards out there for under £50.00. https://www.scan.co.uk/products/lycom-p ... 394a)-card

Usually they'll have 2 FW800 and 1x FW400 port. You'll also need to get a FW 400 to 800 cable.
Comps+OS: Macbook Pro's 10.13.4 I PC's - i7's - M2's - SSD's I Win10 Pro x64 (V-1809)I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro | Absolute Collection | VSTConnect (latest versions)

Ian s
Member
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: Anyone using MR816 successfully with C10 on Windows?

Post by Ian s » Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:07 pm

fuzzydude wrote:
Wed Jul 31, 2019 5:45 pm


No issue here with Win10 1809 x64 and the MR series, at least before I started using them them as slaves. The key thing is to use a TI Chipset card with a 1394B port (FW800). Some good cards out there for under £50.00. https://www.scan.co.uk/products/lycom-p ... 394a)-card

Usually they'll have 2 FW800 and 1x FW400 port. You'll also need to get a FW 400 to 800 cable.
Thanks for that. if I go up to Win10 I'll look at upgrading the FW card also.
C9.5 | W7 | MR 816CSX, MR 816X | CC121| ES-175D | ES-345

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg MR816”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest