MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.
jlofling
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 6:28 pm
Contact:

MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by jlofling » Fri Apr 18, 2014 7:01 pm

Ever since upgrading to Cubase 7.5 and OS X Mavericks, I've noticed that the "Audio Hardware Setup" option in the "Devices" drop down menu in Cubase disappears. This stops me from making any changes to the routing of my headphone mixes as it's the only place (known to me) where I can assign which physical outputs the headphone outs mirror. Furthermore, upon quitting Cubase, any attempts at making these changes in the MR Editor are met with the following error (see screen shot below): "Cannot use IEEE 1394 port; it is being used by another application."

The only way around this issue is to reboot the computer, and that's only temporary as this bug occurs quite often. It may be the result of Cubase crashing on exit (which it does occasionally and has since version 6, though I think that's due to Slate Digital's FG-X), but I'm not sure of that. Has anyone experienced something similar? Is there a process I can quit and relaunch to regain control of the MR816 IEEE port without having to reboot?

Any help is greatly appreciated.
Screen Shot 2014-04-18 at 2.07.47 PM.png
"Audio Hardware Setup" that disappears
(41.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2014-04-18 at 1.39.52 PM.png
Error from MR Editor
(110.21 KiB) Not downloaded yet

antonvalle
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2011 2:54 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by antonvalle » Thu May 22, 2014 9:19 am

I also have this problem.

I've used a script to set fixed values for mixing and mastering with headphones and speakers, but now it's very random when I can control that, since the "Audio Hardware Setup" option is sometimes missing.
OSX 10.9.3
iMac 2,8 GHz Intel Core i7
16 Gt 1333 MHz DDR3

Cubase 7.5.2
MR816 X

NiQ
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 04, 2013 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by NiQ » Wed Jun 04, 2014 1:27 pm

I am having this problem as well, the control over my MR816CSX is lost.
It appears sometimes at startup and sometimes when changing project... and frequently...

Hope Steinberg has picked this problem up!?

/NiQ
MBP i7 , OSX 10.9.3, C7.5.20, MR816 CSX 1.7.6, CC121

jsenadenos
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2016 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by jsenadenos » Sat Feb 06, 2016 4:49 pm

Did you guys ever figure out a solution to this problem? I'm having the same issue.

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by rtorstrick » Wed Feb 10, 2016 1:28 am

Hmmm... I seem to remember several had this problem a while back, including me. I've forgotten the fix. You might try reinstalling the latest tools for MR and trying again. I'm guessing you remembered this but be sure you've set the Yamaha FW port as your ASIO driver under Device Setup.
Windows 10
Cubase 9.5.30, Halion 6.0.15, Wavelab 9.5.20, Dorico 2.
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives, G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
Steinberg MR816csx, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo, Waves 9: IR-1, Vocal and Horizon Bundles, L316, iZotope Ozone 5, RX5

liph
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by liph » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:05 am

I h

liph
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by liph » Thu Feb 18, 2016 11:07 am

I have the same problem since the last update of Cubase Pro v8.5.10 : MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

MikZak
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2013 1:54 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by MikZak » Thu Feb 18, 2016 1:20 pm

The only workaround I have found is making sure you have at least two audiotracks enabled in the mixer window. Then (hopefully) you can access the Audio Hardware Setup by klicking the headphone icon in the hardware strip.
PC with Windows 10 64-bit. CPU: i7 (4 GHz). RAM: 16GB. NVIDIA GeForce GTX 750 Ti. MR816CSX. Midi Keyboard: Komplete Kontrol s61. Cubase Pro 8.5.15 Build 126. Groove Agent 4. The Grand 3. Komplete 10 Ultimate. EZdrummer. Superior Drummer

liph
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by liph » Fri Feb 19, 2016 7:18 am

Thank you for this solution .. I still hope they quickly fix this problem in an upcoming update to Cubase ...

jmartin225
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 12:48 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by jmartin225 » Mon Mar 14, 2016 2:44 pm

Same problem here with Cubase 8.5.10.
No problems seeing the Audio Hardware Setup in Cubase 8.0 or 6.5 on the same machine.
Uninstalling and reinstalling MR Extension (1.7.5) "fixes" the problem until the project is closed again.
Come on Stenberg...this needs to be fixed.

User avatar
steinpac
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by steinpac » Fri Mar 18, 2016 1:50 pm

bump :roll:

see this "Steinberg hardware related issues:
Please make sure to install the latest available driver for your Steinberg hardware to ensure full compatibility.
12108: Hardware Rack section for Steinberg UR/MR audio interfaces
If the Hardware Rack section for Steinberg UR/MR audio interfaces does not appear in the MixConsole, please make
sure that your audio interface is not running in "classcompliant-mode" and is switched on before launching the
application." from Cubase_8.5.15_Version_History.pdf
The above is apparently not so; as I may open a Project anew and there is no access to Audio Hardware Setup and if I turn the Interface off, whilst in open Project, then on again, when ASIO warning window pops up, then Setup comes on. Next Cubase opening and it is often off again. Sometimes the access from an audio track in MixConsole is available and sometimes it is not!
Cubase Pro9.0.21, Wavelab Pro9.5, VEP6, Waves, Plugin Alliance, HOFA,DDMF, Audio Vitamins and many more, using Steinberg MR816CSX on Win7SP1-64Bit, Intel i7-3930K, ASUS-P9X79PRO, 64GB-DDR3, ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 970...

User avatar
shanabit
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by shanabit » Tue Mar 22, 2016 11:59 pm

I uninstalled the extension here as I need access to the MR Console when using S1 or Logic since I do all my input monitoring with the MR Console
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, StudioOnePro 3.5.6
OSX 10.13.5 High Sierra
MacPro 2010, 14GB Ram, 2x 2.4Ghz Quad Core
Steinberg MR816X Tools ( Current)

User avatar
steinpac
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by steinpac » Fri Mar 25, 2016 10:12 am

shanabit wrote:I uninstalled the extension here as I need access to the MR Console when using S1 or Logic since I do all my input monitoring with the MR Console
I think that is the answer for now. I use the MR Console when recording from tape etc., into a mastering program,
so may as well do the same with Cubase (shame about the lack of promised integration, though).
Cubase Pro9.0.21, Wavelab Pro9.5, VEP6, Waves, Plugin Alliance, HOFA,DDMF, Audio Vitamins and many more, using Steinberg MR816CSX on Win7SP1-64Bit, Intel i7-3930K, ASUS-P9X79PRO, 64GB-DDR3, ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 970...

silver_mica
Junior Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Mon Dec 21, 2015 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by silver_mica » Fri Apr 22, 2016 9:24 pm

Or you can buy something that just works - a real multi-track recorder.

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by omniphonix » Wed Apr 27, 2016 3:59 am

I am having this problem as well since moving to my new machine running Windows 10. Same symptoms, it comes back if I reinstall the extensions until the next time restart the computer.
Main DAW:
Core i9-7940X | 32GB DDR4 2666 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon 7750HD | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD32 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1803 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB:
MSI GT72S G220 | Core i7-6820HK | 32GB DDR4 2133 | GTX 980M 8GB | SM951 256GB PCIe SSD | 850 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1803 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | Ableton Live 10

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by omniphonix » Mon May 02, 2016 2:28 am

So while hunting down a nasty issue with audio dropouts, I tried the YSFWUtility described here...

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... ssues.html

I set the firewire buffer size to large and while this fixed my dropouts, it had the unexpected side effect of also returning my Audio Hardware setup inside Cubase. I have a sneaking suspicion that Windows versions later than 7 have reduced the firewire buffer size. Worth a shot for those experiencing this issue, YMMV.
Main DAW:
Core i9-7940X | 32GB DDR4 2666 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon 7750HD | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD32 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1803 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB:
MSI GT72S G220 | Core i7-6820HK | 32GB DDR4 2133 | GTX 980M 8GB | SM951 256GB PCIe SSD | 850 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1803 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | Ableton Live 10

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by omniphonix » Wed May 11, 2016 7:39 am

I think I spoke too soon. This doesn't seem to fix the issue. I really need this resolved or my headphone jacks are basically useless on the MR816.
Main DAW:
Core i9-7940X | 32GB DDR4 2666 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon 7750HD | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD32 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1803 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB:
MSI GT72S G220 | Core i7-6820HK | 32GB DDR4 2133 | GTX 980M 8GB | SM951 256GB PCIe SSD | 850 Evo 1TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1803 | Cubase Pro 9.5 | Ableton Live 10

User avatar
steinpac
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by steinpac » Mon May 16, 2016 12:11 pm

another post viewtopic.php?f=31&t=96537&p=537948#p537948 has begun, I hope we can resolve this soon; I have asked for chipset usage, in order to see if a best hardware list may be accomplished. (The availability of cards seems to be less, than a few years ago).
Cubase Pro9.0.21, Wavelab Pro9.5, VEP6, Waves, Plugin Alliance, HOFA,DDMF, Audio Vitamins and many more, using Steinberg MR816CSX on Win7SP1-64Bit, Intel i7-3930K, ASUS-P9X79PRO, 64GB-DDR3, ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 970...

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by rtorstrick » Thu Jun 09, 2016 5:27 pm

steinpac wrote: If the Hardware Rack section for Steinberg UR/MR audio interfaces does not appear in the MixConsole, please make
sure that your audio interface is not running in "classcompliant-mode" and is switched on before launching the
application." from Cubase_8.5.15_Version_History.pdf
Does anyone know how this mode setting can be checked and/or changed? I can't find anything in Device Manager, the Yamaha FW Utility, or the MR816 hardware settings that address this.
Windows 10
Cubase 9.5.30, Halion 6.0.15, Wavelab 9.5.20, Dorico 2.
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives, G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
Steinberg MR816csx, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo, Waves 9: IR-1, Vocal and Horizon Bundles, L316, iZotope Ozone 5, RX5

User avatar
steinpac
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2013 6:13 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by steinpac » Sat Jun 11, 2016 9:29 pm

I refer you to viewtopic.php?f=31&t=96537&p=537948#p537948 '....The audio interface works and I see no other feature, in Cubase, disappearing....'
So it looks, without doubt, that this IS a Cubase problem and needs rectifying ASAP.
Cubase Pro9.0.21, Wavelab Pro9.5, VEP6, Waves, Plugin Alliance, HOFA,DDMF, Audio Vitamins and many more, using Steinberg MR816CSX on Win7SP1-64Bit, Intel i7-3930K, ASUS-P9X79PRO, 64GB-DDR3, ASUS Strix GeForce GTX 970...

ultradust
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2013 12:37 am
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by ultradust » Sat Oct 08, 2016 5:51 am

I have the same issue. "Audio Hardware Setup" is missing from Devices menu.

I am using a Steinberg UR824. This sort of issue should not be happening in a Steinberg application.

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by rtorstrick » Sat Oct 08, 2016 8:21 pm

Please see the workaround posted here:

viewtopic.php?f=31&t=96537#p556736
Windows 10
Cubase 9.5.30, Halion 6.0.15, Wavelab 9.5.20, Dorico 2.
Intel Core i7, 16 Gb RAM, ASUS Z97-A mobo, 256 Gb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives, G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
Steinberg MR816csx, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo, Waves 9: IR-1, Vocal and Horizon Bundles, L316, iZotope Ozone 5, RX5

User avatar
MoBuc515
Junior Member
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 2:50 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by MoBuc515 » Wed Dec 14, 2016 1:20 am

:arrow: I reran the latest UR824 Tools setup. When I load Cubase, and again get prompted to choose my Audio Interface, I DO NOT CHECK "Do not ask this again". I select my interface and continue into Cubase. As long as I do NOT select the "Do not ask..." box here, the Audio Hardware selection is visible in the Devices Menu! I've closed and reopened Cubase several times, I think it works! :D

:) I sincerely thank whomever discovered the problem was related to that opening Cubase, interface prompt. I've been in several Posts and cannot locate the thread that offered the above work-around. Give it a try, if it bothers you to click on an audio input Head Phone icon within the mixer. ;)
- MoBuc515
|============================================================================|
| PC AMD 8350 8-Core CPU | ASUS 990FX Gen3 R2.0 MoBo|AMD 7990 3GB GPU|
| 10K RPM C: 500GB Hdd | 7.2K RPM D: 1 TB Hdd | 7.2K RPM 2TB USB Media/Plugin Hdd |
| 32GB G-SKILL RAM | Steinburg UR824 audio interface | Mackie MCU 8 Control |
| M-Audio Pro 88 Keys KB/MIDI Controller | Yamaha YPT300 Mid KB |
| MS Win 7 64-Bit Pro | Cubase 9 | WaveLab 9| Absolute 2 |
|============================================================================|

User avatar
Casual-T
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu May 05, 2011 4:07 pm
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by Casual-T » Thu Dec 15, 2016 7:02 pm

Asking the same question here, just in case you missed it in the other thread!!

G'mornin', Gents & Ladies... Does anybody know whether this issue has bee resolved in Cubase 9? I'm on Cubase 8.5.2 with a MR816x, and have been plagued by this bug for quite some time. Would gladly purchase Cubase 9, if I knew this "feature" is reimplemented.
T - Composer/Producer/Musician - and all 'round dandy chap!!

================================
www.brooklyncomposer.com
www.youtube.com/brooklyncomposer
www.facebook.com/brooklyn.composer
www.imdb.com/name/nm3278451
================================

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 201
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: MR816 "Audio Hardware Setup" in Cubase disappears

Post by AlakaLazlo » Fri Dec 16, 2016 9:23 pm

Me too!
Moog IIP, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 8.5.20, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, MCU + 2 Extenders, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg MR816”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests