Chaining a second MR816

All about Steinberg's Advanced Integration DSP Studio MR816 CSX and MR816 X.
Post Reply
blueNan
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 5:45 am
Contact:

Chaining a second MR816

Post by blueNan » Mon Apr 21, 2014 5:48 am

Hello,

I own a Steinberg MR816 CSX, and i need to add a second one. Do i need to buy another identical CSX model, or it is ok with the normal X model? If it is the latter, then would i have the DSP effects in all the channels, or only in the first 8 channels? I am a total novice in this kind of stuff, i read the manual but i could not find this info.

blueNan
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 21, 2014 5:45 am
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by blueNan » Mon Apr 21, 2014 5:59 am

BTW, i read somewhere that i can chain an ADAT converter instead of buying a second MR816, as the dsp effects would not work with the chained unit... i guess this could save me some money, but i do not know this kind of gear so would anybody recommend one... and clarify a little bit the options available for this?

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 776
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by Norbury Brook » Thu Apr 24, 2014 2:11 pm

Any ADAT device will work with your MR. Just connect via ADAT in/out and you'll have 16 channels available from your main MR. I'm pretty sure the rev-x will still work on your added 8 channels as it's only being used as a send, the channel strips might have an 8 channel limit.


MC
Asus X79 pro | 3930x @4.6 hex core | 32 gigs DDR3 | Crucial M4 SSD-win8 x64 | Samsung 840 SSDs | Spinpoint F3's | Poco | VSS3 DVR2 Non Lin | UAD 2| 2x MR 816 | UR824 | full CMC selection |2x Euphonix MC Mix | MC transport |Cubase 7|Nuendo 6 |Windows 8.1 x64

rexesq
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by rexesq » Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:28 pm

I've got an MR816 CSX, and have a chance to get an MR 816 X. Question: do my monitor outs increase from 8 [from unit 1] to 16 [unit 2]? Also, I have 2 ADATs. Can I lightpipe from each ADAT into each MR unit? In other words, could I conceiveably get 32 inputs from 2 MR units and 2 ADATs lightpiped in?

rexesq
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 6:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by rexesq » Fri Mar 06, 2015 5:07 pm

Anybody out there?

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by AlakaLazlo » Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:55 pm

Yes, ins and outs increase to 16 when you chain 2. I have an 816CSX and an 816X. Can't speak as to ADAT as I don't use it. You will lose direct monitoring if you chain!
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

User avatar
Mrhehon
Member
Posts: 332
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2011 2:02 am
Location: Valencia Spain.
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by Mrhehon » Thu Mar 12, 2015 12:25 am

rexesq wrote: Also, I have 2 ADATs. Can I lightpipe from each ADAT into each MR unit? In other words, could I conceiveably get 32 inputs from 2 MR units and 2 ADATs lightpiped in?
Yes. I have 32 analog in´s and out´s using a similar setup.
Windows 10 pro
Cubase Pro 10
PC i7 920@2.67 GHz (10 years old but still doing it for me) 16GB ram
2xMR816 CSX FireWire Audio Interfaces
CC121 controller
Nektar P6

SiBrax
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 2:22 am
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by SiBrax » Mon Jan 30, 2017 7:47 am

AlakaLazlo wrote:Yes, ins and outs increase to 16 when you chain 2. I have an 816CSX and an 816X. Can't speak as to ADAT as I don't use it. You will lose direct monitoring if you chain!
Hi AlakaLazlo (or anyone who may be able to help),

I too have an 816CSX and an 816X. I've daisy-chained them via firewire (exactly as described in the manual) but the 2nd unit refuses to pass audio out to any DAW. Each unit is working fine on it's own and I can see all 32 ins and outs in both my mac audio/midi setup as well as in the DAWs (I've tried this w/ Pro Tools, Reaper, Garageband AND Tracks Live).

I'm running the most recent version of Tools for MR (V1.7.8).

I've tried different FW cables and just today went out & bought an optical cable (in case that was the problem) but nothing seems to help.

Any ideas where I'm going wrong?

Cheers from Australia.

MacBook Pro (13-inch, Mid 2012)
OSX 10.11.6
2.9 GHz Intel Core i7
12 GB 1600 MHz DDR3

puke
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:37 am
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by puke » Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:42 am

Did you ever find a solution? I have the exact same setup as you, and I, too, have only one unit passing audio to my daw. I can use either unit separately and they work the same. But when I daisy chain them as you did, I do not get audio from the second one to my daw (REAPER). I do notice, however, that the MR Editor does show signal when I apply it to any channel on either of the 2 units. I am stumped.. Have spent countless hours on this,.. And I am thinking it's something silly I overlook.

petamilos
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by petamilos » Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:32 am

puke wrote:
Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:42 am
Did you ever find a solution? I have the exact same setup as you, and I, too, have only one unit passing audio to my daw. I can use either unit separately and they work the same. But when I daisy chain them as you did, I do not get audio from the second one to my daw (REAPER). I do notice, however, that the MR Editor does show signal when I apply it to any channel on either of the 2 units. I am stumped.. Have spent countless hours on this,.. And I am thinking it's something silly I overlook.
Hi, friend of mine was running chained 816csx & 816x for more than 5 years - with Cubase 5 - with no troubles. Then he upgraded to a fancy Allen&Heath mixer with FW, so I've bought 816x for my homestudio (csx is still for sale). I don't know if he remember all the tricks, but I'll ask him ;)

petamilos
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2019 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by petamilos » Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:02 am

@puke: hi, I met my friend yesterday, but I'm afraid that I don't have any solution for you. He told me, that chaining two MR816 interfaces worked straight from the box - no extra steps whatsoever. Only issue was that sometimes inputs on the second interface were muted for no reason after booting up. But it happened only a few times.
Maybe you can try to download some Cubase trial, just for test. If it works under Cubase then you have to ask the Reaper community. Don't take me wrong, I think that Reaper is very good software - I don't use it only because I'm used to Cubase from my university studies and you know how it is with the old dog and a new tricks hehe.
Good luck!

User avatar
AlakaLazlo
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: Chaining a second MR816

Post by AlakaLazlo » Wed Jan 23, 2019 10:31 pm

Make sure you have the audio routing from the 2 units set correctly. You have to use the MR Editor software that is part of Tools. Same goes for ADAT and SPDIF inputs. If they aren't set in the MR editor, you will see meters move in your DAW, but they won't pass audio. Look at the Operation manual, page 33. (Not the quickstart manual!)
Moog IIP, One, and MiniMoog, Dot.Com 110, Cubase 10.0.5, Ableton Live 9.6/64, W10 Pro/64, i75820/GAX99SLI/16Gigs HyperX 2133, 3xSSD, 2xMR816, MidiExpress128, Novation SL61MKII, and SL41MkII, Slate Raven MTI2, HR824s, NS10Ms, Komplet10, Omnisphere 2.5, RMX, Trilian, MMV, Z3ta+, Axon AX50, Variax (heavily customized) JTV69S (the Hexstainocaster) and 700... Hi, I'm Al, and I'm a gear addict...

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg MR816”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest