SyncStation in Madi systems

All about the advanced SD/HD hardware synchronizer for Nuendo.
Post Reply
Hugh
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

SyncStation in Madi systems

Post by Hugh » Tue Mar 08, 2011 6:23 pm

Hello,

We own a TimeBase which was a good idea at the time although we all know it's limitations. We could certainly use the SyncStation but our large systems are all Madi therefore we have no way of interfacing an audio port to gain the advantages of accurate sync the SyncStation promises. We'd like to add an RME aes card but there are not any slots. We could purchase an RME ADI-642 to bring an aes port out, but that seems like quite a waste both of money and rackspace. Are there plans to integrate Madi into the Syncstation?

Thanks
Hugh

Hugh
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: SyncStation in Madi systems

Post by Hugh » Fri Mar 11, 2011 6:03 pm

Hello,
I suppose three days is enough for a response so I'm interpreting the silence as "no". Unfortunately.
Hugh

Tino Degen
Moderator
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: SyncStation in Madi systems

Post by Tino Degen » Thu Mar 17, 2011 6:34 pm

Hello Hugh, sorry that you had to wait. Actually you will need a physical connection that
is supplied and built in the SyncStation for supporting SystemLink like SPDIF coax or
optical, AES XLR or AES BNC. This means in your situation you would need a Madi to AES
converter box that are only a very few existing or an additional AES card. As the hardware
was not specified for a MADI input, there would be no possibility to integrate MADI into
the current SyncStation. best regards, Tino

Hugh
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: SyncStation in Madi systems

Post by Hugh » Wed Mar 30, 2011 5:38 pm

Hello Tino,

I didn't catch this earlier, thanks for the response.
Hugh

Truing
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2016 8:04 am
Contact:

Re: SyncStation in Madi systems

Post by Truing » Sun Aug 28, 2016 11:47 am

Tino Degen wrote:Hello Hugh, sorry that you had to wait. Actually you will need a physical connection that
is supplied and built in the SyncStation for supporting SystemLink like SPDIF coax or
optical, phen375 customer reviews http://ohdivinehealth.com/phen375-reviews/ . AES XLR or AES BNC. This means in your situation you would need a Madi to AES
converter box that are only a very few existing or an additional AES card. As the hardware
was not specified for a MADI input, there would be no possibility to integrate MADI into
the current SyncStation. best regards, Tino
that was something really helpful. will be looking forward to use this with my situation too. a big help. thanks!

R
Junior Member
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 8:06 pm
Contact:

Re: SyncStation in Madi systems

Post by R » Fri Jan 06, 2017 8:25 pm

I have a large Madi system as well and what you will need, as an alternative to the SyncStation is a Colin Broad P2MMC-USB and a Word clock/video sync device such as the Rosendalh NanoSyncs HD or Mutec iClock.

Video Sync is required otherwise the LTC will drift over time and the P2MMC won't work without it.
Windows 10 Pro X64. 1 PC for Cubase Pro 9.5.21 x64, WaveLab Pro 9.5.25
Windows 10 Pro x64. 1 PC for Pro Tools 12.8 HDX
Asus Rampage V Extreme
ASUS GTX Titan 12GB card
Intel i7-6950X 10 Core
120GB DDR4 3300 Memory
RME HDSPe Madi-FX
RME HDSPe AES x 2
Avid AM713 x3, MA703 x2, DM714, MD704, FC726
Avid System 5 Console, 300 channels
Genelec 1038B Mains, 7271A Sub x 2, 8240A surrounds
TC Music 6000 MKII, TC Reverb 4000, Lexicon PCM96, Lexicon 960L, Bricasti M7

Post Reply

Return to “Nuendo SyncStation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest