URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7
Post Reply
LeosImpulse
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:02 pm
Contact:

URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by LeosImpulse » Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:34 am

Hi all!

Here's the problem: A recording originally mastered for CD is now meant to be released on a high-resolution platform. As the WL-Audiomontage is rather complicated, it would be insane to rebuild it in a higher samplerate. I tried changing the Audiomontage-properties to 96 k, but as the clips don't get converted that way, replacing them with the 96 k versions results in "incorrect" cliplengths.

The "save as" or "save special" options also don't seem to give me the right options, neither does the rendering-dialog!

Any help is very much appreciated!

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6065
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by PG » Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:59 am

Add the Resampler plugin in the Master Section. Then the Peak Master. Then Render.
Philippe

LeosImpulse
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by LeosImpulse » Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:19 pm

PG wrote:Add the Resampler plugin in the Master Section. Then the Peak Master. Then Render.
Thanx PG, but that ain't what I'm talking about. Doing like you said, I can't carry the original Audiomontage over to the new samplerate. But that is what I need! Because the new mixes are in another sampelrate but need to be mastered exactly the same as for the CD. With all it's fades, volume-automation etc. pp.

So I can only pray there's a solution for doing so. In Pro Tools there is, but the mastering session is Wavelab.

So does anyone have a solution?!

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6065
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by PG » Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:29 pm

But with the option "open as new audio montage", a new montage is recreated.
Philippe

LeosImpulse
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by LeosImpulse » Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:44 pm

PG wrote:But with the option "open as new audio montage", a new montage is recreated.
Yeah Philippe, I know. But all information about original cliplengths, fades, volume-automation etc. is lost. Or at least I don't know a way to preserve those informations needed.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6065
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by PG » Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:00 pm

Sorry, there is no build in function for this. All time information inside the montage, are relative to the montage sample rate.
You could change the montage sample rate, then close the montage, then resample the audio files. When reopening the montage, you will have to adjust some envelope points and positions. You will keep effects and other settings. Better than nothing.

I note this idea for a future version.
Philippe

LeosImpulse
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by LeosImpulse » Mon Feb 27, 2012 2:22 pm

Thanks Philippe for the response!

Sad it doesn't work this time, great you noted it for a future version. I think when mastering with WL, this could be a returning issue, as unfortunately we sometimes don't know what kind of requests we might get in the future for a project given.

So for now I'll try and work my way around it.

LeosImpulse
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by LeosImpulse » Mon Mar 12, 2012 2:08 pm

PG wrote: I note this idea for a future version.
Dear Philippe! With the company, that want's to release the 96 k-Version of the CD, I managed to convince them to move the release date. I tried everything possible so far, to convert the WL-session to the new Samplerate, but with no success. The problem is, that even if I would like to "rebuild" a one-to-one version in 96 k, that seems to be an almost impossible task, as even all the time-informations are wrong in the new session (still referring to 44.1 k).

So if there is any chance, there will be a WL update for this problem in the near future, I'd be very, very grateful!

Thanks and all the best,
Sebastian!

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6065
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by PG » Mon Mar 12, 2012 4:15 pm

Someone suggested this, but I must say I can't be sure it works perfectly or enough:
* Export 44100 kHz Audio Montage as XML.
* Replace in your text XML-Editor all 44100 entries with 96000.
* Resample your Audiofiles to 96000 (or copies of them).
* Import new edited XML.
Philippe

pwhodges
Member
Posts: 393
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:29 am
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by pwhodges » Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:18 pm

I thought the problem was that positions and offsets in the montage are stored in terms of samples, not time, and therefore would all need conversion along with the sample rate; but I could be wrong, of course...

Paul

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6065
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by PG » Mon Mar 12, 2012 5:21 pm

This is right, but at least this could help reconstruct the montage.
Philippe

User avatar
mroekalea
Senior Member
Posts: 1362
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: URGENT! Way to samplerate-convert Audiomontage needed

Post by mroekalea » Wed Jun 22, 2016 11:57 am

What's the point of only sample up the material to 96K?
Menoj

If nothing goes right, go left!


Win10, 3930K@3.2Ghz, 32GB, 2 x DELL u2713hm monitors (5120 x 1440), monitoring: ADAM P22A with SUB8, Audient ID14 & Behringer XR18 & Focusrite safire pro 26IO, Cubase 9.5 pro & artist 8.5, wavelab 9.5 elements, HSO, RND Portico 5033, CC121, Cubase IC pro, Halion 6, GA4, VG2, Arturia Analog Lab, TRacks CS grand + all custom elements, BFD3, Amplitube 3&4 (fender, orange, SVX collections, slash), Z3TA+2, HSO library, many Waves plugs, Plugin Alliance plugins (BX, SPL, Maag & Elysia), NI Komplete 11 Ultimate, AIR instrument expansion pack v3, Melodyne Studio v4, Soundtoys 5, Lexicon native PCM reverb bundle, UJAM Virtual Guitarist complete bundle, SoniVox Premium collection, Ezkeys upright & Vintage Fender Jazz basses, Fender Bassman 100, Markbass TTE500 , FMC Neo 2128 cab

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest