Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7
Post Reply
User avatar
Southae
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:03 pm
Contact:

Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by Southae » Mon Sep 24, 2012 11:11 pm

Hi, Folks!
I've been using WL7 for awhile now, on an HP 8460p Core i5 laptop with 16GB RAM running Windows7, and have run into a curious issue:
For some reason, closing WL removes it from the screen, but the .exe file remains loaded according to the Windows Task Manager. In this state, WL cannot be restarted, and the Task Manager must be used to END the WL Process Task.
However, when this is done, none of the existing settings are saved, and a WL restart comes up with totally different startup data, including windows layouts, from a much older session that it seems to have somehow saved!?!?!
Anybody got any ideas why? It's not a fatal problem, but it is a bit frustrating to have to reset layouts and files accessed everytime it's loaded up for use.
Thanks in advance!
AES ;:-)

Just my 2 bits, 0 and 1!

ASUS Z-87 Expert MOBO, i7-4770K HASWELL Processor, 32GB RAM
ASUS GTX 770 Video, Corsair H-60 CPU Cooler & 550 Quiet Case
w/Samsung 512GB SSD Boot, & WIN 10 [ARRGH!] - 23% Overclocked
And a few other laptops!!!
Echo Layla 24/96
Mackie 1604 VLZ/XDR
AKG, B&K, DPA, Royer, Schoeps & Sony Microphones, & Homebrew Quadriphonic Jecklin Disk
Pushing Way Over 10 Terabytes of Storage (GAD!)
And AWAAAAYY We Go!

Rat
Member
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by Rat » Tue Sep 25, 2012 3:32 am

Hi Southae ...

So, has this only just started to happen? Or was the behaviour occurring from the outset of the WL installation?

By 'closing WL' you mean using 'Cntl+Q' correct? As opposed to just closing the open screens using the 'X'.

Until you sort the issue out, you can try saving your 'default' workplace and this will allow you recall it easily irrespective of what the last closed WL session looked like.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7185
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by PG » Tue Sep 25, 2012 5:36 am

This means "something" hangs in WaveLab before the preferences are saved.
I don't know what it can be, but you can try:
1) Close all workspace windows one by one, and for the last one, close all tabs before closing the workspace. The idea is to limit the complexity of the layout.
2) If this does not work, erase the file:
C:\Users\[...]\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\WaveLab 8\Preferences\General.dat
This will erase some of your settings, but not preset.
Philippe

User avatar
Southae
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by Southae » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:30 am

Hmm, this is interesting! Ctrl-Q shuts down WL7 completely and saves the screens, but clicking the upper right hand window "X" doesn't! Curious behavior?!? Or is this the way its supposed to behave??? :o
AES ;:-)

Just my 2 bits, 0 and 1!

ASUS Z-87 Expert MOBO, i7-4770K HASWELL Processor, 32GB RAM
ASUS GTX 770 Video, Corsair H-60 CPU Cooler & 550 Quiet Case
w/Samsung 512GB SSD Boot, & WIN 10 [ARRGH!] - 23% Overclocked
And a few other laptops!!!
Echo Layla 24/96
Mackie 1604 VLZ/XDR
AKG, B&K, DPA, Royer, Schoeps & Sony Microphones, & Homebrew Quadriphonic Jecklin Disk
Pushing Way Over 10 Terabytes of Storage (GAD!)
And AWAAAAYY We Go!

Rat
Member
Posts: 739
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by Rat » Thu Sep 27, 2012 1:58 am

Hi Southae ...

Subject to what PG might say, I believe Ctrl+Q is the way it is supposed to work ... a real difference to previous versions.

Certainly, on my system, closing the windows will not close WL.

I am glad this helped in some way.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Studio: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

Laptop: Windows 10 Pro (x64), Razer Blade Gaming Intel Core i7 8750H 6 cores/12 threads 4,1GHz CPU, 16 GB RAM SSD & HHD

WaveLab 10 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7185
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by PG » Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:06 am

To quit WaveLab:
Ctrl+Q or File > Quit WaveLab
If you close a window, WaveLab only quits if this is the last opened WaveLab window. Now, it's not impossible that in certain circumstances, there is a bug and that this mechanism fails (WaveLab does not quit, thinking there is still an opened window).
Philippe

User avatar
Southae
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by Southae » Thu Sep 27, 2012 6:48 pm

Thanks, as always, to everyone, especially Philippe, who's developed an absolutely fantastic software application!
AES ;:-)

Just my 2 bits, 0 and 1!

ASUS Z-87 Expert MOBO, i7-4770K HASWELL Processor, 32GB RAM
ASUS GTX 770 Video, Corsair H-60 CPU Cooler & 550 Quiet Case
w/Samsung 512GB SSD Boot, & WIN 10 [ARRGH!] - 23% Overclocked
And a few other laptops!!!
Echo Layla 24/96
Mackie 1604 VLZ/XDR
AKG, B&K, DPA, Royer, Schoeps & Sony Microphones, & Homebrew Quadriphonic Jecklin Disk
Pushing Way Over 10 Terabytes of Storage (GAD!)
And AWAAAAYY We Go!

User avatar
richardjay
Junior Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Shutting Down WL7 Issue!

Post by richardjay » Fri Feb 01, 2013 11:36 pm

I had/have exactly the same issue so glad I found this thread. I'm clicking X in the last window to close WL, but it's not closing. It is not in the taskbar, but can be seen still running in Task Manager and if you don't realise this and launch WL again nothing happens. Quite annoying.
Win7 64 // P8Z77-V PRO // i7-3770 @3.4ghz // 32gb DDR3 // ATI HD5400 // Samsung SSD's // RME HDSPe AIO

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest