Moving Wavelab Elements to a new computer

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7
Post Reply
plutoC
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:10 am
Contact:

Moving Wavelab Elements to a new computer

Post by plutoC » Fri Feb 01, 2013 4:28 pm

I am upgrading my computer and want to install my existing Wavelab Elements 7 on the new one.

Can anybody point me to the correct procedure to follow, in terms of deactivation/reactivation etc?

markino
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Moving Wavelab Elements to a new computer

Post by markino » Sat Feb 02, 2013 10:16 pm

You have to go to your MySteinberg account, choose Activation Re-activation, then WL Elements. All you need is: 1- your old activation code, and 2- the new eLicenser number (that will be installed via the 7.2.1.600 Elements installer).
Remember EULA, only one machine at a time can have Elements installed.
Marco

plutoC
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Wavelab Elements to a new computer

Post by plutoC » Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:54 am

Thanks Marco, I appreciate the reply.

It also seems possible to deactivate via eLicenser. Here is what the help says:

***********
To transfer an existing license from one eLicenser to another, please drag the respective license from the “Licenses” list to the target eLicenser in the “eLicensers” list.
An Internet connection is required to complete the process. Please follow the onscreen instructions.
***********

I don't suppose it can't do harm to try that. . .?

On another note, your point regarding the single active license limitation got me thinking; is anybody using Wavelab installed on a virtual machine? If so does anybody have any experience they can share, eg VM configuration, useability, etc?

User avatar
haloinreverse
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Wavelab Elements to a new computer

Post by haloinreverse » Sun Feb 03, 2013 2:51 pm

Are you using a physical USB eLicesner?
Gigabyte Designare, Intel i7-9700k, 16gb of ram, Windows 10, RME MADI HDSPe, SSL Alpha Link MADI-AX, 2x UAD-2 Quad cards, 1 UAD-2 Solo, 2 Focusrite IAS 828's and many other goodies.

plutoC
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2012 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Wavelab Elements to a new computer

Post by plutoC » Sun Feb 03, 2013 5:32 pm

haloinreverse wrote:Are you using a physical USB eLicesner?
Nope, just the software version, and I may be misinterpreting the help. . .

User avatar
haloinreverse
Junior Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 12:19 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Wavelab Elements to a new computer

Post by haloinreverse » Mon Feb 04, 2013 4:07 pm

plutoC wrote:
haloinreverse wrote:Are you using a physical USB eLicesner?
Nope, just the software version, and I may be misinterpreting the help. . .
ahh ok not sure about transfering sofware licenses. Sorry man.
Gigabyte Designare, Intel i7-9700k, 16gb of ram, Windows 10, RME MADI HDSPe, SSL Alpha Link MADI-AX, 2x UAD-2 Quad cards, 1 UAD-2 Solo, 2 Focusrite IAS 828's and many other goodies.

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests