Working with FX in montage

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7
Post Reply
dvdrtldg
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:46 am
Contact:

Working with FX in montage

Post by dvdrtldg » Wed Mar 13, 2013 4:35 am

I've been working in WL6 for some time, am getting used to 7 but there are a few things I can't work out how to do. Main one is this:

In montage, I want to load FX onto specific clips and then modify the FX envelope (e.g. add some delay to a clip, starting out with no FX, but then gradually increasing the "wet/dry" to 100%. It's easy to do this in WL6: right click on the clip, add FX, click "Split" in the effect menu, then an envelope appears in the clip which you can add raise & lower, just like a volume or pan envelope.

How do I do this in WL7?

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7173
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Working with FX in montage

Post by PG » Wed Mar 13, 2013 5:36 am

The same is possible:
2013-03-13_05-36-00.png
(15.05 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Philippe

dvdrtldg
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: Working with FX in montage

Post by dvdrtldg » Wed Mar 13, 2013 6:21 am

Not sure what you mean here... if I go to "Focused clip", there's nothing to tell me how to add FX to the clip. Under "Envelope", my options are Volume, Pan etc. But how do I get the FX onto the clip (and thus get the FX envelope to display)?

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7173
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Working with FX in montage

Post by PG » Wed Mar 13, 2013 7:20 pm

There is an effect tab for this purpose.
Philippe

wodehouse
Member
Posts: 360
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Working with FX in montage

Post by wodehouse » Wed Mar 13, 2013 9:21 pm

A manual would have helped. ;)

dvdrtldg
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2011 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: Working with FX in montage

Post by dvdrtldg » Thu Mar 14, 2013 8:13 am

OK, so I've worked out how to load the FX onto the clip, and voila there's an FX envelope. But the FX envelope doesn't seem to be doing anything.

E.g. I have a distortion plugin loaded onto the clip, with the envelope set to zero at the beginning of the clip, then fading up to maximum or "wet" halfway through. But the distortion is affecting the entire clip from beginning to end, with no change in the FX level. What am I doing wrong?

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7173
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Working with FX in montage

Post by PG » Thu Mar 14, 2013 2:49 pm

You need a VST-2 plugins for this to work, do you?
Philippe

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests