NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7
Post Reply
nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

File sounds great when playing back in window, but sounds over processed when rendered. I am using UAD2 plugins. I know its probably a simple fix, but after trying multiple things for about 5 hours thought I would ask for help.

Thanks in Advance

Mike

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4723
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by curteye »

Aloha n, and welcome to the board. E' Komo Mai'.

Is the rendered file being played back
thru the same audio I/O system as the DAW?

And BTW what is your audio I/O device (and 'puter and OS)?
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
Arjan P
Senior Member
Posts: 2633
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:28 pm
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by Arjan P »

Sounds like you're listening through the same plugin chain again. When rendering, check the box next to 'bypass on resulting file', or some such wording..
--- "If anyone owes it all to Bach, it's God" - Emil Cioran ---
SOFT: (All 64 bit) | WaveLab 10.0.30 | Cubase 10.0.60 | HALion 6.0 | Win10 Pro - SoundCloud
HARD: i7-950 | Asus P6TD | 30GB | Tascam DM-3200 | DigiMax48 | Midisport 8x8 - SoundByte Studio

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

curteye wrote:Aloha n, and welcome to the board. E' Komo Mai'.

Is the rendered file being played back
thru the same audio I/O system as the DAW?

And BTW what is your audio I/O device (and 'puter and OS)?

Hi
Thanks for taking the time. My interface is a UAD2 Apollo Quad. My computer is a mac pro 2.8 ghz quad core Intel Xeon.
{'-'}

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

Hi
Thanks for taking the time. My interface is a UAD2 Apollo Quad. My computer is a mac pro 2.8 ghz quad core Intel Xeon. The rendered file is being played back through the same I/O device.

Mike

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

Sorry I'll get the posting figured out soon. OS 10.6.8

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by enjneer »

Yeah, you're hearing the mastered file playing back through the Master Section again. There's a check-box to "Bypass Master Section on resulting audio file," or you can click on the little speaker icon at bottom right of Wav file display to make it stop routing through MS.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

Morning enjneer,
Thank you for replying. When I rendered the file the bypass box was checked. I also have played back with the speaker icon turned off and got the same results. I also backed out of wave lab and played the rendered file through iTunes only and got the same results. The only way I've been able to get a clean file is to take the o
main outs from the Apollo and record them to tape them take the file and burn to disc, can't do that forever takes a lot of time. I see you have a similar setup but you use 10.9. I still use 10.6.8 because I still use Final Cut Pro 7 for my video work. Could that be an issue? I could install wave lab on another mac that I have Yosemite on and try that. But it would be nice to keep it all on my Mac Pro. Any suggestions?

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by enjneer »

Using 10.6 shouldn't be an issue—I was still on 10.6 when I installed WL…

I can't think of what would be causing your issue other than playing through the Master Section again! … can you do a screen cap of all of WL when it's playing back the now-too-loud WAV?
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

I sincerely appreciate your help. I took a screen cap of each part of the the render process. The volume actually is reduced. Ill try to make sure they are in order. see attached
Attachments
before render.png
(409.26 KiB) Not downloaded yet

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

Preparing to render attached
Attachments
preparing to render.png
(416.4 KiB) Not downloaded yet

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

Post Render Attached
Attachments
after render playback.png
(406.27 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by enjneer »

nose49 wrote:I sincerely appreciate your help. I took a screen cap of each part of the the render process. The volume actually is reduced. Ill try to make sure they are in order. see attached
I'm stumped for now! :( Especially if you're hearing an over-processed file when you play it in iTunes…

The resulting master is much quieter than the original (unless you're zoomed vertically in the first two pics)—is that what you wanted?
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

User avatar
enjneer
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 10:10 pm
Location: Ottawa
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by enjneer »

How about the Apollo? I recently had a student with the Apollo Duo and we had some surprises sometimes when it's mixer would have plugins loaded in its inserts—they can hide within the busses…
The other thing would be to go into Audio MIDI Setup and see if there's a boost / trim happening within the OS. This has happened to me before.

That's all I got for ya for now.
http://dahlhousestudios.com
Mac Pro 2008 (3.1); 14G RAM; GeForce GT 120 512M
OSX 10.9
FireFace 800
UAD 2 Duo
Bryston 4B
Yamaha NS-10Ms
Presonus Central Station
Cubase 7; 7.5; 8 64-bit
Wavelab 7

nose49
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:48 am
Contact:

Re: NEWBIE !!! When rendering a file over processed

Post by nose49 »

Problem Solved: Wavelab 7 doesn't work with UAD 2 Apollo Quad! I think it is because the Apollo has its own outboard processors. I mastered using only steinberg plugins and the song rendered just fine. I do like the quality of the plugins in the Apollo, so I will just have to grab the pre-rendered mastered signal on the main outs and record it. a lot of extra work, but the UAD 2 Apollo plugins are great. Thanks to all those who helped.

Respectfully,

Mike

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests