64 Bit Windows won't start

All topics on WaveLab 7 and WaveLab Elements 7
Post Reply
User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Mon Jul 04, 2016 7:58 am

When I try to start WL7 64 in Windows 10, the program doesn't execute. If I look at TaskMgr, Wavelab.exe appears for 2 seconds, then disappears.

The 32 bit version works as usual.

Perhaps related: this started after I had trouble installing the WL9 trial. See this topic:

viewtopic.php?f=244&t=98194

How do I fix this?

TIA,

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Wed Jul 06, 2016 5:18 am

Anyone? PG?

TIA,

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by PG » Wed Jul 06, 2016 8:34 am

No idea, sorry. WaveLab 7 was never tested for Windows 10.
Philippe

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Wed Jul 06, 2016 9:54 am

PG wrote:No idea, sorry. WaveLab 7 was never tested for Windows 10.
What about where you wrote:

Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe), and then create the following path and keys in the registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Policies\Microsoft\Windows\Installer

Create keys:
Logging : voicewarmupx
Debug=dword:00000007

Quit Regedt32.exe

Try to install WaveLab.
Is it possible that 'undoing' those changes might help?
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by PG » Wed Jul 06, 2016 10:16 am

I don't think so, because the installer of WaveLab 9 is a different technology that in past WaveLab versions.
This means, the parameter you mention, should have no influence.
BTW, not tempted to switch to WaveLab 9?
Philippe

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Wed Jul 06, 2016 11:56 pm

PG wrote:I don't think so, because the installer of WaveLab 9 is a different technology that in past WaveLab versions.
This means, the parameter you mention, should have no influence.
BTW, not tempted to switch to WaveLab 9?
I -am- tempted to get WL9. I'm broke right now. So far, I'm having no trouble using the 32 bit version of WL7 so I guess I'm OK until I can get the upgrade.

I have to say that it's disconcerting for it to stop working right after I ran the WL9 install. It -was- working fine under Windows 10. I understand it's not your responsibility -but- things don't happen for no reason...

Best,

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Fri Jul 08, 2016 6:13 am

PG: Where are the logs stored when Windows creates a Problem Report? I just noticed that Windows Problem Reporter is firing up when I try to start WL7/64.

TIA,

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by PG » Fri Jul 08, 2016 7:55 am

Not sure, but try to run eventvwr.msc
Philippe

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:07 am

Below are 3 events from the Event Viewer.
1. Seems to be an error generated from WL7/32... although WL7/32 does run properly. This may be unrelated to the problem I'm having with WL7/64 but I include it for thoroughness.

2. Is the Information event raised when I try to start WL7/64.

3. Is the actual Error event raised at exactly the same moment when I try to start WL7/64.

Hope these give you some insight.

Thanks in advance,

---JC



Log Name: Application
Source: SideBySide
Date: 7/8/2016 4:28:01 PM
Event ID: 35
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Sandybridge
Description:
Activation context generation failed for "C:\Program Files (x86)\Waves\Applications\wlc.exe".Error in manifest or policy file "C:\Program Files (x86)\Waves\Applications\WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release\WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release.MANIFEST" on line 8. Component identity found in manifest does not match the identity of the component requested. Reference is WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release,processorArchitecture="AMD64",type="win32",version="1.0.0.0". Definition is WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release,processorArchitecture="x86",type="win32",version="1.0.0.0". Please use sxstrace.exe for detailed diagnosis.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="SideBySide" />
<EventID Qualifiers="49409">35</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2016-07-08T23:28:01.402571300Z" />
<EventRecordID>2654</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Sandybridge</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release,processorArchitecture="AMD64",type="win32",version="1.0.0.0"</Data>
<Data>WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release,processorArchitecture="x86",type="win32",version="1.0.0.0"</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\Waves\Applications\wlc.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files (x86)\Waves\Applications\WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release\WavesQtLibs_4.8.2_Win32_Release.MANIFEST</Data>
<Data>8</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Last edited by suntower on Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:11 am

Log Name: Application
Source: Windows Error Reporting
Date: 7/9/2016 3:09:51 AM
Event ID: 1001
Task Category: None
Level: Information
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Sandybridge
Description:
Fault bucket -517892555, type 5
Event Name: BEX64
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: WaveLab7_64.exe
P2: 7.2.1.600
P3: 4eeaeefe
P4: StackHash_59d8
P5: 0.0.0.0
P6: 00000000
P7: PCH_E1_FROM_WaveLab7_64+0x00000000006E275F
P8: c0000005
P9: 0000000000000008
P10:

Attached files:
C:\Users\suntower\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4B44.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
C:\Users\suntower\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4CCB.tmp.appcompat.txt
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER4CFB.tmp.hdmp
C:\Users\suntower\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4D5A.tmp.WERDataCollectionFailure.txt

These files may be available here:
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_WaveLab7_64.exe_cb92884ecb4012283e28f9fba93cdab8215a3fb6_38c593d3_0d9d4d57

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: f1d34346-0e92-4270-aa43-cd7715ef9ec6
Report Status: 8
Hashed bucket: 6008a70ada9bae56a1d669ac341b65c6
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Windows Error Reporting" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1001</EventID>
<Level>4</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2016-07-09T10:09:51.679108300Z" />
<EventRecordID>2662</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Sandybridge</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>-517892555</Data>
<Data>5</Data>
<Data>BEX64</Data>
<Data>Not available</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>WaveLab7_64.exe</Data>
<Data>7.2.1.600</Data>
<Data>4eeaeefe</Data>
<Data>StackHash_59d8</Data>
<Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>00000000</Data>
<Data>PCH_E1_FROM_WaveLab7_64+0x00000000006E275F</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>0000000000000008</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
C:\Users\suntower\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4B44.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml
C:\Users\suntower\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4CCB.tmp.appcompat.txt
C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp\WER4CFB.tmp.hdmp
C:\Users\suntower\AppData\Local\Temp\WER4D5A.tmp.WERDataCollectionFailure.txt</Data>
<Data>C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_WaveLab7_64.exe_cb92884ecb4012283e28f9fba93cdab8215a3fb6_38c593d3_0d9d4d57</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>f1d34346-0e92-4270-aa43-cd7715ef9ec6</Data>
<Data>8</Data>
<Data>6008a70ada9bae56a1d669ac341b65c6</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:12 am

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 7/9/2016 3:09:51 AM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Sandybridge
Description:
Faulting application name: WaveLab7_64.exe, version: 7.2.1.600, time stamp: 0x4eeaeefe
Faulting module name: unknown, version: 0.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x00000000
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x0000000013c03a90
Faulting process id: 0x29a8
Faulting application start time: 0x01d1d9ca07cf6d35
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Steinberg\WaveLab 7\WaveLab7_64.exe
Faulting module path: unknown
Report Id: f1d34346-0e92-4270-aa43-cd7715ef9ec6
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2016-07-09T10:09:51.075627800Z" />
<EventRecordID>2661</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Sandybridge</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>WaveLab7_64.exe</Data>
<Data>7.2.1.600</Data>
<Data>4eeaeefe</Data>
<Data>unknown</Data>
<Data>0.0.0.0</Data>
<Data>00000000</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>0000000013c03a90</Data>
<Data>29a8</Data>
<Data>01d1d9ca07cf6d35</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\Steinberg\WaveLab 7\WaveLab7_64.exe</Data>
<Data>unknown</Data>
<Data>f1d34346-0e92-4270-aa43-cd7715ef9ec6</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6373
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by PG » Sat Jul 09, 2016 11:53 am

No clue. In one of the report, some Waves module is involved, though.
Anyway, you say WL7/32 is running fine isn't it?
Philippe

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1612
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: 64 Bit Windows won't start

Post by suntower » Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:41 am

Resolved. The solution was to RE-install the Windows 8 patch.

I have no idea why it worked. Just tried it as a Hail Mary, thinking that the WL9 installer had 'undone' something.

---JC
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 9, iCPro, WL7, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 7 | WaveLab Elements 7”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest