The Grand Trap

All topics on The Grand 3
Post Reply
groovechild
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

The Grand Trap

Post by groovechild » Mon Nov 07, 2011 2:21 am

Hi
I have just been reading the various topics on the Grand 3 SE and it looks as though I'm the latest victim as I was not aware there was a difference between the two versions.

Basically I have purchased a full license download for the SE, but for now what I would like to know is can the SE version be used in standalone mode and if so how? I don't have a shortcut on my desktop and I don't know where to find the Program to create a shortcut.

Still happy, it does have great sounding pianos

Any help would be gratefully received. :D
Definition In Innovation & Creative Expression

User avatar
Marcus
Moderator
Posts: 731
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2011 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by Marcus » Tue Nov 08, 2011 4:03 pm

Hi groovechild,

only the Grand 3 (full version) has a standalone version included.

The Grand 3 SE is only a VST- Plug in.
BDM Education
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

My Desktop PC: Intel i7 950; Gigabyte GA 58x UD5, 12GB RAM, NVidia Geforce 770
OS: Win 8 64bit

My Laptop:
Lenovo T540p,Intel i7 4700MQ, 16GB Ram, 750GB Samsung SSD, NVidia Geforce 730M
OS: Win 8.1 Pro 64bit

groovechild
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2011 3:15 pm
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by groovechild » Tue Nov 08, 2011 9:06 pm

Thanks Marcus
I was starting to think no one was going to reply.
Thank you for your reply, I will continue to use it as a VST as I do like the piano sounds it comes with.
Do you have the full version of the Grand 3 and if so what are the advantages compared to the SE version?

Thanks again :D
Definition In Innovation & Creative Expression

JLM
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Wed Jul 06, 2011 7:58 pm
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by JLM » Mon Dec 05, 2011 8:32 pm

For standalone mode try Minihost (http://www.tobybear.de/p_minihost.html)

I have the full version of TheGrand3, but i dont really remember the Grand3se. I tried the trial before purchasing the full version, and i think the differences are that the full version has more Pianos, more Microphone positions and better Quality (24 Bit vs 16 Bit). Not sure about all of these points, just compare the descriptions on the steinberg-site and you will see...
Cubase 6.5, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Halion 5, The Grand 3, Kontakt 5, Session Strings Pro, BFD2 ...

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by neilwilkes » Fri Dec 09, 2011 11:16 am

There's no mention of the SE version on the main website that I can find.
I'm certain you're right about the 16/24 bit thing and the additional Pianos too....

TG3 is great, I use it all the time.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Fri Feb 14, 2014 9:55 pm

Hi folks,

I did not want to start a new thread as my questions are an extension of this one here.

I am thinking of purchasing the GRAND 3 SE which is on offer in this weeks half price sale. I can not seem to find anything on it on the Steinberg website at all (just the GRAND 3). Do the above comments in his thread still apply ??

I have Artist 7.5, HALion Sonic and HALion Sonic SE. I do use my Nord Stage Piano at the moment for such samples but I remember thinking how much better the Piano sounds were on the GRAND 3 when I had access to the trial version.

If the above comments are accurate, is there a noticable difference between 16 x Bit and 24 x Bit ?? And is anyone familiar with the GRAND SE ??

Rather han keep my Nord wired up to my mixing desk and soundcard, I was thinking of having an onboard VSTi to use for all he Piano work.

Thanks guys,

Paul
Fender Rhodes Suitcase, Fender Rhodes Stage, Hohner E7 Clavinet, Mini Moog Model D, Multi Moog, Yamaha DX7 (Mk1) & DX21, Korg Poly 61, Roland Juno 6.

Mackie SRM 350 (pair), Fender DeVille, Yamaha HS7 (pair), BeyerDynamic DT880 Headphones, Pro (250 Ohm).

Sibelius 7, Cubase Artist 8, HALion Sonic SE , HALion Sonic 2, HALion 5, Grand SE, Grand 3, Groove Agent 3, Arturia V_Collection, EZ2 Drummer, Steinberg CI2+ Interface, Lexicon MX300, Midi Sport 2x2.

Dell Inspiron 3737, Windows 10 Professional, 1.70gHz, 16GB RAM, 64-bit, Intel Core i3.

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:10 pm

Hi again,

Is nobody able to help here please ??

Cheers,

Paul
Fender Rhodes Suitcase, Fender Rhodes Stage, Hohner E7 Clavinet, Mini Moog Model D, Multi Moog, Yamaha DX7 (Mk1) & DX21, Korg Poly 61, Roland Juno 6.

Mackie SRM 350 (pair), Fender DeVille, Yamaha HS7 (pair), BeyerDynamic DT880 Headphones, Pro (250 Ohm).

Sibelius 7, Cubase Artist 8, HALion Sonic SE , HALion Sonic 2, HALion 5, Grand SE, Grand 3, Groove Agent 3, Arturia V_Collection, EZ2 Drummer, Steinberg CI2+ Interface, Lexicon MX300, Midi Sport 2x2.

Dell Inspiron 3737, Windows 10 Professional, 1.70gHz, 16GB RAM, 64-bit, Intel Core i3.

mpayne0
Member
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by mpayne0 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 2:52 pm

It's subjective but yes I do think there is a difference between 16 and 24 bit (otherwise they would not offer both!)

In HSO, the difference is there on solos if you study it, it's ok for a few layers, once you start really stacking, the sound is just not as clear, it's that little difference that matters to me at least, it's like I'm either going to use a clean compressor or a colored one. Subjective.

TG3SE does not have as many Pianos, and less mic positioning. If you weren't to compare 16 vs 24, in that case I doubt you would question the quality, only when comparing things is it an issue, isn't it funny how that works?

edit: Where is this sale??

edit: Got it. Never knew anything about it. Shouldn't ALL SE users get an email?

http://www.steinberg.net/en/landing_pag ... Valentines

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Feb 20, 2014 12:45 am

Thanks a lot Mpayne,

I am happy with what and got and for the price of it.

Why do you call it 'TG3SE' please ??

Regarding the 'stacking', luckily this is something that is not done with Grand Pianos.

Ta,

Paul

mpayne0
Member
Posts: 667
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by mpayne0 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 3:31 pm

monsterjazzlicks wrote:Thanks a lot Mpayne,

I am happy with what and got and for the price of it.

Why do you call it 'TG3SE' please ??

Regarding the 'stacking', luckily this is something that is not done with Grand Pianos.

Ta,

Paul
It's shorthand for The Grand 3 SE.
Actually I have the demo, and was interested in upgrading either to full or to SE. I concluded that the SE version would suffice for the price until another solution comes, Eggs in 2 or 3 baskets ya know? ;)

No stacking, but big chords, long tails, fast music...
But yeah Piano is one of those things, so harmonic and rich, I don't think it's a game changer as far as a beautiful music piece, to use 16 bit, sometimes, I do prefer it (16) alongside other VSTi, as 24/32 bit stuff can sound too perfect, too shiny and clean.

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:53 pm

Cheers Mpayne,

I think the full version of the GRAND 3 is totally excellent. If I did not own my Nord Piano I would definitely spend the £300 on it.

What does the 'SE' mean at the end of many of the HALion products please ??

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by Bane » Sun Feb 23, 2014 12:56 am

Streamlined Edition

just a guess
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1424
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun Feb 23, 2014 1:03 am

Thanks Bane.

I was thinking SMALL or SPECIAL edition ??

Paul

User avatar
Bane
Senior Member
Posts: 1739
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2011 2:57 am
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by Bane » Sun Feb 23, 2014 1:12 am

Hard to be sure, but small or streamlined would both serve as apt descriptions. They're just lite versions of the real deal.
Asus R500A-RS52, Windows 8, 2.6gHz i5 -3230M, 6GB RAM,

Cubase Artist 7.0.6, Wavelab Elements 7, Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, The Grand 3, Melodyne Essential, Superior Drummer, EZDrummer and Pop! EZX, Samson CO1, Yamaha P-35, Mackie MR5mk2 monitors, and more....

My tunes on: Soundcloud

Andrea66
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by Andrea66 » Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:19 pm

Hello everybody,

I got the Grand SE and I can find only one acoustic piano, one electric and the upright one. Just to be sure, in the Grand I see 3 grand pianos. Where's the truth? Am I to push some button...?

Thank you if you can help.

Regards

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by hotchickenbone » Tue Apr 15, 2014 1:18 am

Are you guys seeing the GRAND 3 SE in Cubase 7.5 64 bit? Because Im only seeing it on my 32 bit version. I looked on the 64 bit Cubase and the Grand 3 is not present. I cant find where to down load it either. I downloaded it from asknet during the promotion a few months ago. I too thought it was the original Grand 3 at half price I overlooked putting the promotion code in to get the discount because at 99 dollars, I thought it was discounted. Only later to find, it was a slimmed down version. I was in contact with Ask.net and Steinberg, for a refund, but they didn't care to help. Then finally I got a response from a Steinberg employee, Jeff Deno. He asked me to email my invoice, I kept doing it. He claimed he never got it. Then he disappeared. Very bad experience after Ive spent a lot of money with this company. Anyway, now Im trying to find the 64 bit version of the GRand 3 SE. any thoughts? Im ready to lay down tracks.

Thanks!
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Mini Moog V, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by hotchickenbone » Wed May 28, 2014 10:30 pm

Hello Steinberg, Where is your support for The Grand 3 SE? I don't see it for sell anywhere. I don't see where I can download it.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Mini Moog V, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

User avatar
C.LYDE101
Member
Posts: 204
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by C.LYDE101 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 12:31 pm

hotchickenbone wrote:Hello Steinberg, Where is your support for The Grand 3 SE? I don't see it for sell anywhere. I don't see where I can download it.
http://www.steinberg.net/en/shop/access ... rials.html


Activation Code to permanently activate your copy of The Grand SE 3 that came with Cubase or Cubase Artist.
The objective of good design, whether products or services, is to …satisfy customers by meeting their actual or anticipated needs and expectations.

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by hotchickenbone » Thu Jun 19, 2014 2:02 am

Hello! Where is the 64 bit version of the Grand SE 3? I cant seem to locate it. Thanks!
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Mini Moog V, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 80
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by hotchickenbone » Sat Aug 02, 2014 7:26 am

Can someone at Steimberg help? Ive tried everything, I cant get The Grand SE over to 64 bit. Whats up. I need to complete my studio. Please help.
Cubase 9.5 Pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Mini Moog V, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by Makumbaria » Sat Aug 02, 2014 8:28 am

Here you should find the vst3 file:
C:\Program Files\Common Files\VST3\Steinberg\The Grand SE 3

Here you should find the content:
C:\ProgramData\Steinberg\Content
Cubase 9.5 Pro / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.1 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 1.0.30 / Halion 5.1.10 / Halion Sonic 2 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 4 / Sampletank 3 SE / VSL / Bias amp & FX / Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI

j-earle
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Oct 05, 2013 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by j-earle » Sun Aug 17, 2014 5:52 pm

Hey guys i accidentally scratched my dvd for the grand ..i've been looking everywhere and tried messaging steinberg support for some help but nada so far... I have a new computer and I'm trying to reinstall everything but i can't get my the grand 3 dvd to work (cause i scratched it) i was wondering if anyone could help me out by uploading the iso file (for mac) for me i have the license and everything but the only way ill be able to use this software again is if i spend another 300$ buying the software (just for the dvd) all over again.

If anyone has any spare time and has the steinberg grand 3 dvd can you please help me out by uploading the iso file and sending it to me?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Makumbaria
Member
Posts: 718
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:41 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: The Grand Trap

Post by Makumbaria » Sun Aug 17, 2014 10:34 pm

j-earle wrote:Hey guys i accidentally scratched my dvd for the grand ..i've been looking everywhere and tried messaging steinberg support for some help but nada so far... I have a new computer and I'm trying to reinstall everything but i can't get my the grand 3 dvd to work (cause i scratched it) i was wondering if anyone could help me out by uploading the iso file (for mac) for me i have the license and everything but the only way ill be able to use this software again is if i spend another 300$ buying the software (just for the dvd) all over again.

If anyone has any spare time and has the steinberg grand 3 dvd can you please help me out by uploading the iso file and sending it to me?

Thanks in advance!
Send me a PM and I will help you.
Cubase 9.5 Pro / 6.5.5 / Cubasis 2.1 / CMC-TP/CH/AI/QC/PD / Cubase IC Pro 1.2
Windows 10 Pro 64 bits/ i7 3630QM / 2.4Ghz / 16 GB & i7 950 / 3.06Ghz / 8GB RAM / Focusrite Scarlett 18i8
Dorico 1.0.30 / Halion 5.1.10 / Halion Sonic 2 / Padshop Pro 1.1.0 / HSO 1.0.1 / The Grand SE 3.1/

Ivory II Italian Grand / Ravenscroft 275 / Vienna imperial piano / Alicia Keys Piano / Addictive drums 2 & Keys / Ezdrummer 2 / Abbey Road Modern Drums / GPO 4 / Sampletank 3 SE / VSL / Bias amp & FX / Amplitube 3 & 4 / Kuassa Creme & One / TH2 & 3 / PSP Audioware / Nugen Audio / Slate Digital / Wave Arts / Waves V9 / Softube / Toneboosters / NI

Post Reply

Return to “The Grand 3”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests