GA4.2.40 Crashing Cubase Pro 9

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

GA4.2.40 Crashing Cubase Pro 9

Post by omniphonix »

Anybody know where to get the Groove Agent 4.2.30 updater? I mistakenly deleted it before testing 4.2.40 and since it is blacklisting and then crashing Cubase if I try to reactivate, I need to roll back to 4.2.30 (which worked just fine). I wish Steinberg would put previous version updates on the download site and not just the latest. I submitted a support ticket, but thought this might work faster. Thanks in advance.
Main DAW: Core i9-7940X | 64GB DDR4 3200 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon RX570 | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | Acer T272HUL | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD232 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB: MSI GT76 9SG | Core i9-9900K | 64GB DDR4 2666 | RTX 2080 8GB | 2x PM981 512GB NVMe SSD RAID0 | 860 QVO 2TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10

iPad Pro 12.9" Gen 3 1TB: Same Audio4+ as above | CME Xkey 37 | Cubasis 2 | Cubase iC Pro | Many IAA/AU Apps

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: GA4.2.40 Crashing Cubase Pro 9

Post by Romantique Tp »

I assume this is the full version of GA4.

Go to Program and Features in the Windows Control Panel and select "View installed updates" on the side panel. This will allow you to revert to the previous version without having to download anything.

The 4.2.40 update is noticeably more CPU efficient, so it's worth it to try to get it working. Maybe something went wrong during your previous installation attempt, so try installing the update again after uninstalling it. If you're still getting crashes, download the trial version from Steinberg, uninstall GA4 and its stock content, then install the trial and update it to 4.2.40.

Here's the previous update (4.2.30) if you need it:
http://download.steinberg.net/downloads ... er_win.exe
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: GA4.2.40 Crashing Cubase Pro 9

Post by omniphonix »

Thank you so much!
Main DAW: Core i9-7940X | 64GB DDR4 3200 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon RX570 | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | Acer T272HUL | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD232 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB: MSI GT76 9SG | Core i9-9900K | 64GB DDR4 2666 | RTX 2080 8GB | 2x PM981 512GB NVMe SSD RAID0 | 860 QVO 2TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10

iPad Pro 12.9" Gen 3 1TB: Same Audio4+ as above | CME Xkey 37 | Cubasis 2 | Cubase iC Pro | Many IAA/AU Apps

omniphonix
Junior Member
Posts: 149
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: GA4.2.40 Crashing Cubase Pro 9

Post by omniphonix »

I messed around with it a bit more and I think I figured out what was going on. Only the VST2 version was getting blacklisted and I think it was because I moved the DLL into my drum plugins folder from my main VST2 directory. The update installer put the new DLL into the original location and it seems that was screwing up the scanning of the VST2 version. I really wish they would give you an option of where to install the plugins themselves if you can break them by moving them. Right now the installer only allows you to change the program directory. Cubase might have a nice plugin organizer now, but many other hosts do not. We shouldn't be forced to haphazardly dump plugins into a folder and then good luck finding them when you're in the DAW.
Main DAW: Core i9-7940X | 64GB DDR4 3200 | Asus Prime X299-A | Radeon RX570 | Samsung 950 Pro 512GB & 850 Evo 2TB | Acer T272HUL | UR824 | CC121 | Virus TI | MCU Pro | Akai MPD232 | Nektar Panorama P6 | Roland VG-99 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Reason 10

DAW/Gig NB: MSI GT76 9SG | Core i9-9900K | 64GB DDR4 2666 | RTX 2080 8GB | 2x PM981 512GB NVMe SSD RAID0 | 860 QVO 2TB SATA SSD | iConnect Audio4+ | Akai APC40 mkII | Akai MPK249 | Win10 Pro x64 v1809 | Cubase Pro 10 | Ableton Live 10

iPad Pro 12.9" Gen 3 1TB: Same Audio4+ as above | CME Xkey 37 | Cubasis 2 | Cubase iC Pro | Many IAA/AU Apps

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests