Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

All topics on Groove Agent
maggie
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by maggie » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:30 pm

The full version costs 179,00€ and the update from version 4 to version 5 99,00€? That is clearly too much, realistic would be rather 49,00€. You should revise the update price again.
Cubase 10 pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Padshop Pro, Tone2 Electra 2, Tone2 Ultraspace, U-He Diva, U-He Presswerk, U-He Hive, Tubeohm Vintage, Virtual CZ, Arturia Solina V2, Arturia Analog Lab, Waldorf Nave, Synapse Dune 2, UVI Falcon, UVI Grand Piano Type D, AiR Xpand!2, KV331 Synthmaster, Steinberg UR22, Arturia Keylab 49 (Black Edition), Intel i7 2600, 16GB RAM, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN 3, Windows 10 64bit

User avatar
Hippo
Member
Posts: 463
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Hippo » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:45 pm

It does look a bit pricey to me as well

Hippo
i9 9900k 32gig ram Steinberg UR44 Windows 10

User avatar
Anatomix
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Aug 15, 2013 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Anatomix » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:08 pm

The price of up-dating is higher, than a half of cost of a product! Greed limit! What is going on.
Anatoliy Anyn
Home Studio
Moscow, Russia

User avatar
Reflection
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Reflection » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:13 pm

I agree.

Must be a lot of work put in to it, to justify that upgrade price.
Asking steady users to take the "big bill", is not always the best marketing.
I would probly understand it better if they bumped the price of the plugin up to 249€
os: win 10 64bit (latest). Cubase pro 9.5.41, 10.0.5
Hw: maximus viii hero 1151, I7 K6700, 16gb ram, nvida GTX 1070.
Sound: A&H Gsr-24M. Otari mtr-90mk2, Mx-55.
Dsp: uad-2. Powercore.
Daw control: Nektar Panorama p4, A&H Gsr-24M

maggie
Member
Posts: 347
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by maggie » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:38 pm

Even at 249,00 are € 99,00€ would be too high.

For the HALion 99,00€ is ok, the full version costs 379,00€ and the update prices for Cubase are ok too, but this is definitely too much.
Cubase 10 pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Padshop Pro, Tone2 Electra 2, Tone2 Ultraspace, U-He Diva, U-He Presswerk, U-He Hive, Tubeohm Vintage, Virtual CZ, Arturia Solina V2, Arturia Analog Lab, Waldorf Nave, Synapse Dune 2, UVI Falcon, UVI Grand Piano Type D, AiR Xpand!2, KV331 Synthmaster, Steinberg UR22, Arturia Keylab 49 (Black Edition), Intel i7 2600, 16GB RAM, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN 3, Windows 10 64bit

kostal
Junior Member
Posts: 65
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2014 4:28 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by kostal » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:48 pm

Just upgraded. I think it's the new "The Kit" library. Some would pay $50-$100 for that alone--maybe that is Steinberg's logic. But, yeah, should have been a bit cheaper to update.

User avatar
Reflection
Member
Posts: 254
Joined: Wed Aug 17, 2011 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Reflection » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:58 pm

Yes, it is too much.
Even Halion sonic can be questionable, as it follows the same upgrade price as halion.

Maby it is a online store algo that is the fault?
3 products in the online store, 3 different prices, but still same asking price for update.
os: win 10 64bit (latest). Cubase pro 9.5.41, 10.0.5
Hw: maximus viii hero 1151, I7 K6700, 16gb ram, nvida GTX 1070.
Sound: A&H Gsr-24M. Otari mtr-90mk2, Mx-55.
Dsp: uad-2. Powercore.
Daw control: Nektar Panorama p4, A&H Gsr-24M

Blisargon Demogorgon
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 8:47 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Blisargon Demogorgon » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:01 pm

Yep i was really happy when i saw the update but left after i saw the price i left the page

fiddler2007
Member
Posts: 245
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by fiddler2007 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:20 pm

Me too .... Had GA2 for a while, then came GA4, and i could never get accustomed to the quirky interface regarding all it's possibilities, especially when importing user MIDI and sound data. So i bought EZdrummer a few years back, and now i am a Superior Drummer 3 user. Compared to that Groove Agent 4 is more of a kids toy LoL. GA2 was that too, but far easier towards getting useful results. I'd rather spend my 99 on some Toontrack SDX kit.

What also p-i-s-s-e-d me off is that i bought some add-ons, and with the Jazz Essentials pack there was a TRUE ESSENTIAL MISSING: No Jazz Waltz (3/4) tempos. Beats me.

PS Now i wonder about this; I bought Absolute 3 a little while back .... GA4 was included, but there's no upgrade path ..... F
Last edited by fiddler2007 on Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:40 pm, edited 7 times in total.

peachy
Junior Member
Posts: 128
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by peachy » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:26 pm

Too expensive for me as well, out of order Steinberg and still no synth engine. I hope this is not the start of Arturia type thing of offering the main product really cheap then stinging you every year for half the price for a update. Count me out. Will stick to Maschine.
Intel i7 8700K @4.8, Intel Z370 , 32 gig corsair RAM, Nvidia 1080, 4k monitor, Windows 10 64 bit, Steinberg UR824, Cubase 10 Pro, HALion 6, Groove Agent 5. SoundToys, U-He, NI, Moog. and 30 years of other kit....

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1803
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Puma0382 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:48 pm

Agree with others, this upgrade seems a tad expensive; nothing really 'stellar' here, over and above GA4... I own GA4 full too, and am happy with that - and AD2..! :)
Last edited by Puma0382 on Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10.0.10, Studio One v4.5.5, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

gmontano
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 5:50 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by gmontano » Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:17 pm

Ditto on the price. Throw in an expansion or discount the expansions with purchase or something. Cubase pro 9-9.5 is $59!!!
6950x, 64 GB RAM, ASrock x99 mobo, 1050 Ti video card, Windows 10, RME UFX, Cubase 10 Pro.

mysteryspy2001
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 10:55 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by mysteryspy2001 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:16 pm

Way too much money for the upgrade . Throw in two expansions I would be in. I will not be upgrading at that price

coolbass1000
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2011 9:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by coolbass1000 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:51 pm

Yes. The update is too expensive.
I won't update at this price.
Dumb move, Steinberg.

Izitskyj
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Sun Apr 14, 2013 9:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Izitskyj » Thu Nov 01, 2018 10:15 pm

I agree. For those who bought it year ago from scratch, especially. Here near no new significant features, mainly soundpacks. Upgrade price should be about 40-50, but anyway not 100. It's funny, I want to do that too.
Halion 6, Padshop Pro, Retrologue, Groove Agent 4
OS Win 7 64bit

Dilim
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 01, 2018 7:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Dilim » Thu Nov 01, 2018 11:09 pm

Hi. I recently bought a GA 4. 100 euros for an update for me is expensive.
I am willing to pay for the upgrade $ 30- $ 40.
New purchased product must be updated free or not expensive.
I like GA4, but not very stable.
Last edited by Dilim on Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
MacPro(2013) Prism Titan, Logic Pro X ,Pto Tools 12, Groove Agent 4, VG2.UAD 2 Quad, TC Powercore.

bonghat
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:44 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by bonghat » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:11 am

Waaay too expensive.
I guess this will be the new upgrade price policy....so im switching to EZDrummer now. Its only 40 EUR more than the GA5 upgrade and right now you get a free expansion on top.

bonghat
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:44 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by bonghat » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:21 am

I hope this upgrade pricing strategy will not be the same for cubase. If so...cubase 10 upgrade will be like 300 EUR :?

James K
Member
Posts: 850
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Fri Nov 02, 2018 7:54 am

Definitely not for the upgrade price of $150 from GA 4. No way.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

rsm76
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Aug 10, 2013 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by rsm76 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:31 am

upgrade price is too high. no purchase.

User avatar
NoMad92
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Sat Aug 02, 2014 10:56 am
Location: Paris FR
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by NoMad92 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 11:10 am

Same here...99eur from 4 to 5, wha-what???
It looks more like a +0.5 update, not a real +1 update.
49eur for the update from 4 to 5 seems really reasonable, but twice that price...hell no !!!
Win10 creator 64bit, 16gb, i5-2550
DAW: Cubase 10.5
Hardware: Steinberg UR 12, Nektar Panorama P4, Akai MPD226
VSTs: UVI Falcon, VPS Avenger, Sylenth1

rlebla
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by rlebla » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:16 pm

I bought this update, it cost me $ 150 CAD and honestly I paid way too much for two new drum kits and some new MIDI styles. Sure, there are some new features, but make sure that you will be really useful before investing this amount.

I recently bought a new Cypher2 synth, a special offer from ROLI for a whopping $ 79 USD, I must admit I got my money and more, which is not the case with this update of GA5 or GA $$$.
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10 & UR22 Audio Interface.
Yamaha HS50M & AKG Reference Headphones K701
(Home setup with PC)

Marsi13
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 1:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Marsi13 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:33 pm

I agree, the relation is not right!
An update price between max. 69, - € just 79, - € would be justified also because of the content increase, although certainly not everyone need it. The acoustic kit of the 4 version could not keep up with Toontrack or the NI studio drummer in my opinion.
More important are the new functionalities and, above all, a larger GUI.
The pattern editor of the 4 version was definitely too small.
But 99, - € are definitely too high
The ratio - GA4 Update 99, - € -GA 2/3 Update 119, - € - full version 179, - € is not true at all!
Compared to the GA 2/3 update, the GA4 update price would have to be lower.
In the spring there will probably be a Groove Agent 5 offer for 109, - € for the full version, as in 2015 GA4 for 99, - €?
The already longer Steinberg user feels a little
disadvantaged.
Silentmaxx ST-11 Pro V2, i7-4771, Noctua NH-U9B SE2, Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD4, HyperX LoVo 16GB RAM, Samsung EVO840 250 GB SSD & Seagate ST1000DM003 1 TB HDD,Silentmaxx HD Silencer Rev2, Win8.1 64bit, Steinberg UR12, Cubase 10.0.15 Pro , Wavelab 9.5.40
Silentmaxx ST-11 Pro V2, i7-8700K, Noctua NH-U9B SE2, Gigabyte Z370-HD3P, HyperX Fury 32GB RAM, Samsung EVO850 500 GB SSD & Seagate ST2000DM006 2 TB HDD,Silentmaxx HD Silencer Rev2, Win10 64bit, Steinberg MR816x & UR22 MK2, Cubase 10.0.15 Pro , Wavelab 9.5.40
EMES Black tv HR active MK4

rlebla
Junior Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by rlebla » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:40 pm

maggie wrote:
Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:30 pm
The full version costs 179,00€ and the update from version 4 to version 5 99,00€? That is clearly too much, realistic would be rather 49,00€. You should revise the update price again.
Advice for all. Wait to try it with the demo version that I imagine will be available soon.
For my part, I bought this update and I am disappointed. I am not the kind of person who criticizes everything and everything. I love this VST, but seriously, it's not worth 99 Euros. That's my opinion and I share it ...
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10 & UR22 Audio Interface.
Yamaha HS50M & AKG Reference Headphones K701
(Home setup with PC)

auggybendoggy
Junior Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by auggybendoggy » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:40 pm

I'm about set to buy a drum module. GA sounds good to me and then I heard about Superior Drummer. I went to their site and it's nearly 500.00. Now GA sounds even better. However, EZdrummer is priced closer to GA and but I don't know which is better.

I also agree with everyone, upgrades should be far less expensive than buying outright. I believe upgrades are to keep current customers on your platform. But when it's all the same price, people then start looking at sampletank, EZdrummer, and others. Hell, there's even Sonivox Tony Coleman kits that sounds damn good. Lacks all the fancy stuff but for 19.00 hahaha.

Still I love Cubase and am favoring GA5.

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest