Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

All topics on Groove Agent
spikey
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by spikey » Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:44 pm

Niles wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 9:17 am
spikey wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:00 am
Whats a bit humorous to me is kinda like going to the ER and trying to negotiate the Doctor fees thereby claiming they charge too much (which they do of course, but you nor I is changing that either). :lol:
That is the best analogy you can come up with? Comparing emergency room costs with a plugin update. Really? :roll:
spikey wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:15 pm
I cant program like that, and so it was worth the cost to me.
Not surprising. :lol:
Niles, Its a better analogy than whining like a little baby girl not understanding that it won't make a BIT of difference in pricing, for either one. And let's see YOU program anything like Groove Agent. I'm betting you have a hard time flushing the toilet... :lol:
Cubase 10, GA5, Superior Drummer 3, Logic X, Studio One, yada yada so many toys- not enough time....

Niles
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Niles » Tue Jan 08, 2019 12:33 am

spikey wrote:
Mon Dec 31, 2018 4:44 pm
Niles, Its a better analogy than whining like a little baby girl not understanding that it won't make a BIT of difference in pricing, for either one. And let's see YOU program anything like Groove Agent. I'm betting you have a hard time flushing the toilet... :lol:
Like I said, you don't seem to be the witty type.

raffo79
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:07 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by raffo79 » Fri Jan 11, 2019 2:32 pm

Same here. Stopped at 4. too pricey

bonghat
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2011 6:44 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by bonghat » Mon Jan 21, 2019 9:25 pm

Same here. With that huge upgrade price it's just not worth it. Just bought superior drummer 3 instead....and what a difference, both in ease of use and sound quality. Still using GA4 for percussion.

James K
Member
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:59 am

The FULL GA 5 version for the education discount is only $14 more than my upgrade price! Seriously?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 9.56.40 PM.png
(46.22 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2019-01-30 at 9.56.47 PM.png
(42.64 KiB) Not downloaded yet
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

Naturligasteg
Junior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Sun Jan 26, 2014 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Naturligasteg » Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:45 pm

James K wrote:
Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:59 am
The FULL GA 5 version for the education discount is only $14 more than my upgrade price! Seriously?
Interessting. It has been brougt up in the 3Dsoftware forums that it may be a smart sales tactic to allow really cheap licenses for hobby users that don't allow you to sell your work. And then cashing in on the license when the user wants to go public and sell his stuff. Maybe this could be a route for music software as well. I am a hobbyist and I am constantly torn between cool features and high upgrade prices. I may not need the updates, but I know that sometime I will ahve to do it anyway when my OS does not support it any more.

James K
Member
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:27 pm

Naturligasteg wrote:
Sun Feb 03, 2019 7:45 pm
James K wrote:
Thu Jan 31, 2019 6:59 am
The FULL GA 5 version for the education discount is only $14 more than my upgrade price! Seriously?
Interessting. It has been brougt up in the 3Dsoftware forums that it may be a smart sales tactic to allow really cheap licenses for hobby users that don't allow you to sell your work. And then cashing in on the license when the user wants to go public and sell his stuff. Maybe this could be a route for music software as well. I am a hobbyist and I am constantly torn between cool features and high upgrade prices. I may not need the updates, but I know that sometime I will ahve to do it anyway when my OS does not support it any more.


So professionals who are sure to upgrade for many years get screwed where as hobby musicians may not at all.

Crappy way to treat your bread and butter customers.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Tech-dance » Sun Feb 17, 2019 11:05 pm

Are Steinberg shooting themselves in the foot here? Seems like it!

peachy
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2011 7:13 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by peachy » Tue Feb 26, 2019 9:38 pm

Sorry guys, I caved eventually, was at a low point after Valentine’s Days non-event, but by paying close attention to “wife” on aforementioned day she felt the need to demonstrate her affections in a fiscal manner and couch up the dough for the upgrade.

Soz
Intel i7 8700K @4.8, Intel Z370 , 32 gig corsair RAM, Nvidia 1080, 4k monitor, Windows 10 64 bit, Steinberg UR824, Cubase 10 Pro, HALion 6, Groove Agent 5. SoundToys, U-He, NI, Moog. and 30 years of other kit....

ruffindajungle
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 7:36 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by ruffindajungle » Mon May 27, 2019 5:12 pm

spikey wrote:
Sun Dec 02, 2018 1:00 am
Whats a bit humorous to me is kinda like going to the ER and trying to negotiate the Doctor fees thereby claiming they charge too much (which they do of course, but you nor I is changing that either). :lol:
Pretty poor analogy for sure. I mean you can easily express your dissatisfaction with Steinberg by using your wallet, or to be precise not using it. They will see how many of us GA4 owners did not upgrade. Doesn't really need any complaining in forums, won't hurt either. Now try to vote with you wallet in ER and you will be left dying. Huge difference.
Hackintosh i7 4790k, Sierra, Cubase 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 4, Erica synth Fusion box, Sh101, Ob-6, Rme UCX, E352 cloud terrarium

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1646
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by mozizo » Wed May 29, 2019 7:06 pm

GA4 user ..
didnt upgrade to GA5 either .as many mentioned here,its too pricey for this price range product(psychology works too) and for me the new features dont justify the price.wait for a least 50 % discount,50 euro should have been more logical upgrade price from GA4 from start.
what i miss from GA feature anyway, is the ability to built kit or change/select drum elements as in other popular drum softwares. say i want snare from simon phillips kit ,toms from studio kit ,hihat from nashville kit etc..
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 55 , GA45 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

trance2020
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2017 1:20 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by trance2020 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 1:12 pm

Just received email from Steinberg offering 30% of update from Groove agent 4 to 5 (£85 down to £60). But i have Absolute 3 so can only update to Groove agent 5 by updating to Absolute 4. The Absolute 4 update is still £85. Anybody else still waiting on price reduction on the Absolute 4 update before they take the plunge?😄

Martijn70
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Nov 27, 2017 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by Martijn70 » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:09 pm

Received the email too do'nt have Absolute almost all the products of Absolute but upgrading is not an option to Absolute.

I am also not upgrading to GA 5 still too expensive for an upgrade.

James K
Member
Posts: 826
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by James K » Fri Jun 14, 2019 3:29 pm

Did they not do a 50% off GA 4 last summer?
Same again this summer for GA 5?
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.0.20
Mavericks Cubase Pro 9.5.5
UR28M
CC121

maggie
Member
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by maggie » Fri Jun 14, 2019 4:29 pm

At the moment the update is 30% cheaper until July 1st.
Cubase 10 pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Padshop Pro, Tone2 Electra 2, Tone2 Ultraspace, U-He Diva, U-He Presswerk, U-He Hive, Tubeohm Vintage, Virtual CZ, Arturia Solina V2, Arturia Analog Lab, Waldorf Nave, Synapse Dune 2, UVI Falcon, UVI Grand Piano Type D, AiR Xpand!2, KV331 Synthmaster, Steinberg UR22, Arturia Keylab 49 (Black Edition), Intel i7 2600, 16GB RAM, ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN 3, Windows 10 64bit

theodorozzz
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 10:19 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by theodorozzz » Fri Jun 14, 2019 10:00 pm

As it was asked before - same question about Absolute. I'd like to upgrade it to 4 and get GA5. Can we expect some discount? Cause we saw discounts last time on multiple products, but not for it((

nacho1000
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Fri May 24, 2019 5:37 pm
Location: Spain
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 5 update too expensive!

Post by nacho1000 » Sat Jun 15, 2019 11:39 am

Any discount for upgrading GA SE 5 to GA 5? Or does such upgrade existe at all?
W10 Home. I7 7700K. 32Gb DDR4. SSD 512GB / HDD 2TB. DTS Studio Sound. Interface: BOSS GT1000 or Line6 UX1

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest