Groove Agent 4 announcement

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
vinja
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 7:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by vinja »

Hi Matthias,

I was overzealous and purchased GA 4 upgrade w/ out GA 3. (Not sure how I confused Groove Agent ONE w/ Groove Agent 3) Can I split the difference when the full version is released? Or get a refund so I can purchase the full version? Very excited about the product!

monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi Mattias,
Matthias Quellmann wrote:Groove Agent will be available both as a download and as a boxed version.
Will there be a BOXED version of the UPGRADE version also ?

Ta,

Paul

dangerousbrian
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:37 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by dangerousbrian »

Matthias Quellmann wrote:Hi Dave,

the full version will be available for 179 EUR (179 USD).
Matthias

Will there be a Grace Period update when the full release is announced? I have only just activated GA3 and I am hoping I will benefit from a Grace Period update.

Thanks
Steinberg:
Cubase Pro 10, Halion 6, Absolute 4, The Grand 3, Halion Symphonic Orchestra Pro, Neo Soul Keys, Groove Agent 5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, BFD 3, Virtual Bassist

Rigs:
Desktop: Dell Optiplex 7050m (silent), Intel Core i5 7500T, 16GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, 512GB Hynix PC300 NVMe (PCIe 3.0 x 4) SSD, Samsung 512GB SATA3 SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, HP s340c 34" curved widescreen monitor
Laptop: Dell Latitude e7440, Intel Core i7 4600U, 16GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM, Hynix 256GB mSATA SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Music Hardware:
Steinberg UR28m, Steinberg CC121, Steinberg CI2, 2 x Steinberg CMC-FD, Steinberg CMC-PD
Mics:
Sennheiser 845, Shure SM58, Rode NT3, Sontronics STC2, 2 x AKG C567E, Steinberg ST M01, 2 x Audio Technica Wireless Mics, Studiospares M1000, JBL Control One Pro, JBL Control One

Instruments:
Yamaha P150 Stage Piano (studio), Casio PX-300 (gig), Fender Contemporary Telecaster, Simon & Patrick Cedar SP6 Electroacousitc, Squire Acoustic

RajahP
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by RajahP »

Biss wrote:
RajahP wrote:Any upgrade offers for owners of GA2.. Who could not buy GA3 because it was unavailable? :oops:
Same here.


Shoot, I could not upgrade to GA3 for years, because it was not for sale... Now I must wait about a month to put my hands on GA4. As an early owner of Groove Agent 1 (The Original) and Groove Agent 2 something seems wrong here... Won't mind paying a little more for the a GA4 upgrade from GA2... But life is too short to have to wait about a month unnecessarily..
Yes and I did download the manual... Looks Great..

pip1000
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2014 6:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by pip1000 »

Is GA4 compatible with Logic pro X? (is it a 64 bits plugin?)

User avatar
Whirly
Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:49 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by Whirly »

pip1000 wrote:Is GA4 compatible with Logic pro X? (is it a 64 bits plugin?)
It's compatible with AU hosts, so yes, it's compatible with Logic: http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/vs ... loads.html

It's not mentioned but I'm sure it will run in any 64 bit VST and AU host (Cubase has been 64 bit on both Windows and Mac OS for quite a while now).
Cubase Pro 10.5 l Logic Pro 10.5 l Reason Suite 11
Macbook Pro l OSX 10.14 Mojave l 2.6 GHz i7 l 16 GB
Wavelab 7.2 l HALion 6 l Groove Agent 5 l Backbone
Focusrite Scarlett 2i2 l MR816x
Stuff I do: https://vimeo.com/190392395
Stuff I do: https://soundcloud.com/vbre/060320-1a

mojord
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2011 9:56 pm
Contact:

Sounds change

Post by mojord »

The problem with these updates is, SOMEONE thinks they are upgrading the sounds and the original samples are gone.. There are always like 1 or 2 sounds I like, and then they update and those samples are gone. Groove Agent 2 was cool, Groove Agent 3 discontinued the few sounds I loved there, now Groove Agent 4 will probably do away with the couple sounds I like there.. I don't understand the thought process of "Loosing sounds"... ESPECIALLY when you have to open an archive to find it un-playable...
~ Mac Pro 8 core, OS 10.8.5, 2.66gHz, 16g RAM

~ 17" MacBook Pro, OS 10.9, 2.66gHz Intel i7, 8g RAM

Cubase 7, Wavelab 8
Apogee AD8000s, Steinberg 8 i/o, RME HDSP, UAD-2

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

monsterjazzlicks wrote:Hi Mattias,
Matthias Quellmann wrote:Groove Agent will be available both as a download and as a boxed version.
Will there be a BOXED version of the UPGRADE version also ?

Ta,

Paul
Hi Paul,

the upgrade is only available for download.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

dangerousbrian wrote:
Matthias Quellmann wrote:Hi Dave,

the full version will be available for 179 EUR (179 USD).
Matthias

Will there be a Grace Period update when the full release is announced? I have only just activated GA3 and I am hoping I will benefit from a Grace Period update.

Thanks
Hi Dave,

Unfortunately there is no grace period update for Groove Agent 4 since Groove Agent 3 was discontinued over 18 month ago.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

dangerousbrian
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Sun Feb 26, 2012 12:37 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by dangerousbrian »

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
dangerousbrian wrote:
Matthias Quellmann wrote:Hi Dave,

the full version will be available for 179 EUR (179 USD).
Matthias

Will there be a Grace Period update when the full release is announced? I have only just activated GA3 and I am hoping I will benefit from a Grace Period update.

Thanks
Hi Dave,

Unfortunately there is no grace period update for Groove Agent 4 since Groove Agent 3 was discontinued over 18 month ago.
Shame, but thanks for the response.

£82 doesn't seem a lot to pay for such a major upgrade anyway.

Regards
Steinberg:
Cubase Pro 10, Halion 6, Absolute 4, The Grand 3, Halion Symphonic Orchestra Pro, Neo Soul Keys, Groove Agent 5, Wavelab Pro 9.5, BFD 3, Virtual Bassist

Rigs:
Desktop: Dell Optiplex 7050m (silent), Intel Core i5 7500T, 16GB DDR4 2400MHz RAM, 512GB Hynix PC300 NVMe (PCIe 3.0 x 4) SSD, Samsung 512GB SATA3 SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit, HP s340c 34" curved widescreen monitor
Laptop: Dell Latitude e7440, Intel Core i7 4600U, 16GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM, Hynix 256GB mSATA SSD, Windows 10 Pro 64bit

Music Hardware:
Steinberg UR28m, Steinberg CC121, Steinberg CI2, 2 x Steinberg CMC-FD, Steinberg CMC-PD
Mics:
Sennheiser 845, Shure SM58, Rode NT3, Sontronics STC2, 2 x AKG C567E, Steinberg ST M01, 2 x Audio Technica Wireless Mics, Studiospares M1000, JBL Control One Pro, JBL Control One

Instruments:
Yamaha P150 Stage Piano (studio), Casio PX-300 (gig), Fender Contemporary Telecaster, Simon & Patrick Cedar SP6 Electroacousitc, Squire Acoustic

monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by monsterjazzlicks »

Matthias Quellmann wrote:Hi Paul,

the upgrade is only available for download.
Ok MQ,

Shame but no problem.

Thanks.

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by Elektrobolt »

Matthias,

Does the boxed version (USA) come with a printed manual?

If not, can we PLEASE get a download option for the US market?

Thanks,
E
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

RajahP
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by RajahP »

Elektrobolt wrote:Matthias,

Does the boxed version (USA) come with a printed manual?

If not, can we PLEASE get a download option for the US market?

Thanks,
E
Here is the manual... I think.

http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=d ... gent_4&L=1

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Sounds change

Post by hotchickenbone »

mojord wrote:The problem with these updates is, SOMEONE thinks they are upgrading the sounds and the original samples are gone.. There are always like 1 or 2 sounds I like, and then they update and those samples are gone. Groove Agent 2 was cool, Groove Agent 3 discontinued the few sounds I loved there, now Groove Agent 4 will probably do away with the couple sounds I like there.. I don't understand the thought process of "Loosing sounds"... ESPECIALLY when you have to open an archive to find it un-playable...
Dude, its all new samples new technique to get those samples. Not a big deal. Just use the previous GA if you like it!
Cubase 10.5 Pro,WaveLab Elements 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by hotchickenbone »

vanhaze3000 wrote:So no upgrade or discount price for Cubase 7 users who who have Groove Agent 4 SE ?
How lame. :twisted:
Dude, you don't know what your talking about. Totally different animal, you will see. you will love it!
Cubase 10.5 Pro,WaveLab Elements 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by Elektrobolt »

RajahP wrote:
Elektrobolt wrote:Matthias,

Does the boxed version (USA) come with a printed manual?

If not, can we PLEASE get a download option for the US market?

Thanks,
E
Here is the manual... I think.

http://www.steinberg.net/index.php?id=d ... gent_4&L=1
A download option for Groove Agent 4, the actual VSTi plugin.

My point was that if I don't get a printed manual in the boxed version, I might as well download the VSTi plugin.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 910
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

Hi,

There is no printed manual included in the box and there will be a download option for the full version of Groove Agent 4.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

User avatar
Ed Doll
Site Admin
Posts: 1265
Joined: Thu May 16, 2013 11:18 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by Ed Doll »

RajahP wrote:
Biss wrote:
RajahP wrote:Any upgrade offers for owners of GA2.. Who could not buy GA3 because it was unavailable? :oops:
Same here.
Shoot, I could not upgrade to GA3 for years, because it was not for sale... Now I must wait about a month to put my hands on GA4. As an early owner of Groove Agent 1 (The Original) and Groove Agent 2 something seems wrong here... Won't mind paying a little more for the a GA4 upgrade from GA2... But life is too short to have to wait about a month unnecessarily..
Yes and I did download the manual... Looks Great..
I just sent you an email on this. From next Friday on the update offer will also be valid for Groove Agent 2 users. You have waited for years now so I hope another week isn't that bad ;)
Ed Doll, Support Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram and SoundCloud!

RajahP
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jul 03, 2011 11:00 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by RajahP »

Ed Doll wrote:
I just sent you an email on this. From next Friday on the update offer will also be valid for Groove Agent 2 users. You have waited for years now so I hope another week isn't that bad ;)
Got it... Thank you very much..

DavidGlynn
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2011 6:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by DavidGlynn »

vanhaze3000 wrote:So no upgrade or discount price for Cubase 7 users who who have Groove Agent 4 SE ?
How lame. :twisted:
Groove Agent 4 SE is included with Cubase 7 for free, why on earth would you think that should entitle you to a discounted price on GA4?
Windows 8, Cubase 7.5, Halion 5, Groove Agent 4.

bengo3
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 11:43 pm
Contact:

Drop the dongle if you want to retain casual users

Post by bengo3 »

I've used Cubase since the 1990s, and owned every version of Groove Agent. Initially I was a music obsessive. Like a lot of people here, I suspect, I was in bands, living in one bedroom filled with studio gear, a supercharged desktop, a rack of outboard, a pile of analogue synths, with big dreams of music output, that were partly realised. Now I'm a dad with a job. I still make music, on my laptop, on the sofa, on trains or planes, with headphones, in stolen moments.

Last year I bought Ableton Live for the simple reason that the cubase dongle was too much hassle (and buying Logic would have felt boring, even though I've moved to a Mac). I kept forgetting to carry the dongle around, I didn't have it when I had a spare hour. Then I put the dongle on my keys, for once a fortnight use. But when I'm on a train, or a plane, I don't want my keyring full of keys splayed out across the tray table. When I'm on the sofa, I can't be bothered to get out my keys, and have them hanging out of the laptop, especially since I'm often in my pyjamas (lol writing this I realise I'm such an old man now...). Then the plastic on the dongle broke. I fixed it with metal and superglue.

Here's the thing. I've got more disposable income than ever before. I could buy GA4 without thinking about it (when I started paying for Steinberg stuff, it was a months' outgoings). But I know because of the dongle that I'd never use it. I've got my laptop on my lap right now. I've been having really good fun with the Live studio drums pack. I thought about firing up GA3, because it's given me so much fun over the years, but I can't be bothered to go upstairs and get my keys from my trouser pocket.

I will pay huge amounts of money for solid, convenient music fun. I miss Groove Agent. I'm not an ipad noodler, I'm, like, an ex-semi-pro user. But I don't have a studio desktop any more, so I'll pay for things that let me have fun on my laptop. If you drop the dongle, like Logic, and Ableton, I'll buy GA4, and I'll go back to Cubase.

I wish you would.
Last edited by bengo3 on Fri Aug 08, 2014 12:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

bengo3
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 11:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by bengo3 »

Incidentally, I know it's cheeky, but if anyone has any recommendations of midi drum pattern packs that will work with Ableton drum mappings, that can even begin to approach the fun of GA3, then do please let me know. Or any similar plugins that work on a Mac (without dongle!) that have similar "just start playing" functionality. I've played with the drummer in Logic and it's similar and fun but much less range in terms of styles. There are times when we all need to go bossa nova.

hotchickenbone
Junior Member
Posts: 103
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:34 am
Contact:

Re: Drop the dongle if you want to retain casual users

Post by hotchickenbone »

bengo3 wrote:I've used Cubase since the 1990s, and owned every version of Groove Agent. Initially I was a music obsessive. Like a lot of people here, I suspect, I was in bands, living in one bedroom filled with studio gear, a supercharged desktop, a rack of outboard, a pile of analogue synths, with big dreams of music output, that were partly realised. Now I'm a dad with a job. I still make music, on my laptop, on the sofa, on trains or planes, with headphones, in stolen moments.

Last year I bought Ableton Live for the simple reason that the cubase dongle was too much hassle (and buying Logic would have felt boring, even though I've moved to a Mac). I kept forgetting to carry the dongle around, I didn't have it when I had a spare hour. Then I put the dongle on my keys, for once a fortnight use. But when I'm on a train, or a plane, I don't want my keyring full of keys splayed out across the tray table. When I'm on the sofa, I can't be bothered to get out my keys, and have them hanging out of the laptop, especially since I'm often in my pyjamas (lol writing this I realise I'm such an old man now...). Then the plastic on the dongle broke. I fixed it with metal and superglue.

Here's the thing. I've got more disposable income than ever before. I could buy GA4 without thinking about it (when I started paying for Steinberg stuff, it was a months' outgoings). But I know because of the dongle that I'd never use it. I've got my laptop on my lap right now. I've been having really good fun with the Live studio drums pack. I thought about firing up GA3, because it's given me so much fun over the years, but I can't be bothered to go upstairs and get my keys from my trouser pocket.

I will pay huge amounts of money for solid, convenient music fun. I miss Groove Agent. I'm not an ipad noodler, I'm, like, an ex-semi-pro user. But I don't have a studio desktop any more, so I'll pay for things that let me have fun on my laptop. If you drop the dongle, like Logic, and Ableton, I'll buy GA4, and I'll go back to Cubase.

I wish you would.
bs
Cubase 10.5 Pro,WaveLab Elements 10, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, HP Quad Core Windows 10, 16 Gig Ram, Alesis Multimix 8 USB, Nektar Impact LX49

comsax1
Member
Posts: 322
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 8:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by comsax1 »

I agree, I had to pay $60.00 for Reaper so I can use it live because I'm afraid to lose my dongle. I used to keep it on my key ring with a quick release but the loop on the dongle broke adding insult to injury. Please come up with a better solution. :cry:
Ross Humphries
Cubase Pro 10.5.12
AKAI EWI 5000
Halion 6
Ozone 7 Advanced
Neutron Advanced
Arturia SEM v2
Arturia DX7v
Korg Legacy M1
Padshop Pro
RME AIO
Steinberg UR28M
UR44
MSI x570-A pro MB Ryzen 5 3600x
1tb Firecuda M.2 SSD
32 GB Ballistics DDR4
1TB Seagate hybrid HDD

monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1432
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent 4 announcement

Post by monsterjazzlicks »

Hi,

Its probably not for me to say, but this matter might be better being discussed elsewhere. I did actually start a thread more or less on this issue earlier in the year :-

http://www.steinberg.net/forums/viewtop ... 98&t=59046

Its up to you(s) though and I am not a Moderator.

Cheers,

Paul

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests