VST plugin levels

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
RobotMan
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:38 pm
Contact:

VST plugin levels

Post by RobotMan » Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:43 pm

Hi, there!

Can VST plugin produce signal louder than 0 dBFs?
Can it make overload on input of next VST plugin in chain?

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 1821
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: VST plugin levels

Post by marQs » Thu Apr 12, 2018 9:32 am

Of course, actually most VSTis do with just their standard presets ;-)

Yes it can and will overload your signal chain if it's too hot. Use the gain slider in the pre section to calm it down to a proper level. Most plugins expect a level of -18 dbFS. The whole thing is called 'gain staging', lot of topics here and some good stuff on Youtube that explains what's going on.
Cubase 9.5 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de

RobotMan
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 8:38 pm
Contact:

Re: VST plugin levels

Post by RobotMan » Thu Apr 12, 2018 12:44 pm

Thank You, marQs.

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest