And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
User avatar
CosmicD
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Contact:

And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by CosmicD » Fri Nov 09, 2012 6:23 pm

Well,

Sad that http://www.musicxp.com is gone, as I could find some usefull stuff there to optimize your daw. Is there another great site that tells you what processes to disable to optimize windows 8 for DAW usage ?

I've never had such a smooth transition between OS' on my studio pc as today, but I want to replace metro with start8 to start with, and also I'd like to know if someone has tips for what processes to disable,

thanks

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Conman » Fri Nov 09, 2012 9:48 pm

If you've got anything like my spec then leave it well alone. If you're still using a Core2Duo then get a new computer.

If you don't know what you're doing then W7 is perfectly adequate and I wouldn't install W8 just to moan about it.

However, Cubase seems to work fine so far whereas Wavelab 7/64bit does not and I'm still working on that as I'm pretty sure it should if Cubase does and I've missed something.
In case you're wondering I've installed W8 just to see what it does and report and I know what I'm letting myself in for but for serious commercial use or if you have a deadline (and you don't really have much gen about the machine's innards) DON'T jump until you've looked at it for at least a couple of months.

musicxp? That some sort of advertising ploy? Doesn't seem to have anything to do with music or tweaking.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
CosmicD
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by CosmicD » Sun Nov 11, 2012 7:41 pm

it used to be a site lol now it's just a domain for sale :P I have a core i7 as well, 6 gb. (could install more but don't actually need it as I don't make huge orchestrations with sample libraries.

From what i have gathered from 1 day, it seems to be about the same performance wise but I haven't done any optimizing. Thats what I would like to know, which processes can you get rid of ? I guess firewall to begin with.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Conman » Sun Nov 11, 2012 11:02 pm

I wouldn't really bother optimising as it's still too early to tell what's what until all the reviews and reports are in about next month. It's too easy to tangle your system by over-tweaking and forget where you are.
Win7 didn't need any so my guess is neither does Win8 unless someone discovers a real biggie.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

killawattz
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by killawattz » Mon Nov 12, 2012 2:20 pm

CosmicD wrote:Sad that http://www.musicxp.com is gone,
How long did you think they'd last with a name like that?! :)

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Conman » Mon Nov 12, 2012 3:10 pm

killawattz wrote:
CosmicD wrote:Sad that http://www.musicxp.com is gone,
How long did you think they'd last with a name like that?! :)
:D Yes, probably musicwin8 now.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

killawattz
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by killawattz » Mon Nov 12, 2012 4:40 pm

MusicVista?!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by JMCecil » Mon Nov 12, 2012 9:16 pm

The useless ones are the ones you don't use. Disable those.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
CosmicD
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by CosmicD » Fri Nov 16, 2012 8:26 am

on music XP they had vista tips too last what I checked that site and it was still operational.
And there's a difference between services you don't use (like windows printing service or whatnot) and things you better not deactivated because they improve disk/memory management.

I thought there would be more info on this by now.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by JMCecil » Fri Nov 16, 2012 3:14 pm

Bredo wrote:The one thing I will disable is the indexing service.
and real time scanning
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
CosmicD
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by CosmicD » Sun Nov 18, 2012 11:10 pm

I removed all that yesterday , like defender and firefwall, some other stuff I don't remember but doesn't seem relevant: like themes and offline files, well after a boot it has now 0.9 gb in memory so I guess I can be happy :)

killawattz
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:28 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by killawattz » Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:10 pm

Let us know if you notice a performance boost Cosmic.

User avatar
CosmicD
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by CosmicD » Thu Nov 22, 2012 10:31 am

I wouldn't say a performance boost, just a memory increase which is good because I sometimes load much samples. At least 500 megabyte extra isn't a bad thing. I should plug another 6 gb in soon so i've got 12 gb then, than this wouldn't be such a problem.

There's something like search indexeing process that I didn't find but it's rumored to gain ferformance. I'll try another pass in the processes tree today

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by JMCecil » Thu Nov 22, 2012 3:38 pm

CosmicD wrote:I wouldn't say a performance boost, just a memory increase which is good because I sometimes load much samples. At least 500 megabyte extra isn't a bad thing. I should plug another 6 gb in soon so i've got 12 gb then, than this wouldn't be such a problem.

There's something like search indexeing process that I didn't find but it's rumored to gain ferformance. I'll try another pass in the processes tree today
if you have an ssd it will turn itself off. The name of the service is a little different than w7 but can't remember it off the top of my head.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Mr M
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Mr M » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:11 am

I'd be interested in knowing of a site with daw tips for Win 7. I'm setting up a new pc I7 3930 16gb and its my first time using Win 7 ,coming from XP. I'm online so will be keeping Windows Defender ,only thing I've turned off is Aero. Any sites that come to mind would be welcomed.
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by JMCecil » Sat Nov 24, 2012 12:58 am

Mr M wrote:I'd be interested in knowing of a site with daw tips for Win 7. I'm setting up a new pc I7 3930 16gb and its my first time using Win 7 ,coming from XP. I'm online so will be keeping Windows Defender ,only thing I've turned off is Aero. Any sites that come to mind would be welcomed.
I don't know of a site, but you should disable the real time protection of defender while using any DAW, then turn it back on for internet safety. It will scan files as you are using them, like samplers as the load/save files.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
CosmicD
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:25 am
Location: Hasselt, Belgium
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by CosmicD » Tue Dec 04, 2012 9:15 pm

defender is off with me unless there's something else that i need to look at, but the process was called microsoft defender so I guess that's a clear one...

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by alexis » Tue Dec 04, 2012 10:18 pm

XP guy here: Can one partition the hard drive using W8 so the browsing stuff (defender, antivirus, etc.) is active on one partition, but can be removed on the DAW side of things? Or something else, so that browsing can take place on the same computer as DAWing?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Conman » Wed Dec 05, 2012 12:11 am

I don't need to do all that palaver. Windows Defender and all flavours of it and the firewall have never interfered with Cubase. I really don't know how you get all those troubles. :D
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

Mr M
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Mr M » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:39 am

Conman wrote:I don't need to do all that palaver. Windows Defender and all flavours of it and the firewall have never interfered with Cubase. I really don't know how you get all those troubles. :D
I believe that a lot of "performance tips" are just left over lore from Win 98 days when Pentium 2's and 1gb of ram was a beast. I get no issues from a firewall or Windows defender either. Also , there is no longer a reason not to have a daw online unless the user has an affinity to Russian porn sites. I would be interested in some genuine Win 7 info beyond the obvious turning off Aero. So far no problems for me on my new daw anyway
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths

Early21
Senior Member
Posts: 1878
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Early21 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 6:51 am

Here is a very good guide for Windows 7.
http://www.native-instruments.com/knowl ... Processing

Notice no suggestion to turn off indexing. I saw a very long discussion on Gearslutz that convinced me that the indexing service had been re-written for Windows 7 in such a way that it could not interfere with performance, and that you are better off leaving it on. I think with multi-core CPU's, the benefits of turning off services that aren't used often or at all is marginal. You can turn off what you know you don't need, but you shouldn't expect much difference in your DAW performance. Much more important these days is ensuring the power settings aren't turning off cores, etc.
Cubase 8.0 Pro, Wavelab 6 Essential, Lenovo Legion Y520 Laptop/Win10, Steinberg UR212, Izotope Ozone, Izotope RX6, NI Komplete
My album Incontinental Breakfast at http://lborden.bandcamp.com. Works in process: https://soundcloud.com/incontinentals.

Mr M
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Mr M » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:16 pm

Early 21

Thanks for the link. Funny, I check the NI forum daily but never thought to look there.
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths

User avatar
Jarno
Senior Member
Posts: 1456
Joined: Wed Jun 08, 2011 2:31 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Jarno » Sat Dec 08, 2012 10:21 pm

Steve Fogal wrote:I'm still using 32 bit Win XP Pro myself...tweaked....
Same here. XP is good enough OS for music production. It's shame Steinberg decided to make it inpossible to install C7 on XP. Is there really features in W7/8 which C7 needs and which XP doesn't have?
Steve Fogal wrote:My ONLY forseeable needs would be to use more ram...but that's why I'm building a 2nd cloned quad machine of the one I have for.
Well ... if you need more RAM, would it be less painfull to switch to 64-bit system instead of creating a network of 32-bit systems?
Cubase 8 Pro/7/4/SX1/VST3.7 | Waves Gold | Melodyne | PC i7-4770/8G/2xSSD/Win7 64 | MacMini | Frontier Tranzport
Tascam DM-4800 | Soundcraft Spirit Studio 16 | dbx231 | Genelec 1032A | KEF C15 | Auratone 5S | Samson S-phone
Yamaha REV500/SPX990 | Alesis Midiverb4 | Roland SDE-330 | Pearl Echo Orbit | Aphex 109 x2 | TL-Audio C5021
Alesis 3630 | AudioLogic MT66 | Joemeek VC1Q | dbx386 | Focusrite VoiceMaster | Line6 PodXt/BassPodXt | Boss GT-3
Roland TD8/TD5/JV2080/SC55 | UseAudio Plugiator | E-mu ProteusXR | Akai S-900/AX73 | M-Audio Keystation
Martin/Taylor/Ortega/ESP/Fender/Line6 guitars/basses | Pearl/Olympic by Premier drumkits | Custom Roland V-drum kit
AKG D112/CK77 | Calrec CM1050C | Earthworks QTC30 | EV RE20/Spherex920 | Neumann M147 | Pearl CR57
Peavey PVM45 | RØDE NT2/NT55 | Sennheiser MD441/MD421/e606 | Shure SM7/SM57/SM58/BETA57/BETA58 ...
... Saeco Odea Giro Espresso machine | BMW Z3 roadster | American Pit Bull Terrier

Mr M
Member
Posts: 659
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:07 pm

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by Mr M » Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:21 pm

Jarno wrote:
Steve Fogal wrote:I'm still using 32 bit Win XP Pro myself...tweaked....
Same here. XP is good enough OS for music production. It's shame Steinberg decided to make it inpossible to install C7 on XP. Is there really features in W7/8 which C7 needs and which XP doesn't have?
Steve Fogal wrote:My ONLY forseeable needs would be to use more ram...but that's why I'm building a 2nd cloned quad machine of the one I have for.
Well ... if you need more RAM, would it be less painfull to switch to 64-bit system instead of creating a network of 32-bit systems?

I was an XP user until 4 weeks ago,when I got a new daw with Win 7. I took a small bit of satisfaction in getting XP to continue to work over the years. Big problem came in installing a Native Instrument add on a few months ago. Basically although I got the sounds installed I really had to work with NI (they were good about it) and it illustrated that XP is just not supported by anyone any more and its just going to get worse. Its really not Steinberg thats abandoned XP; its basically everyone that makes software including Microsoft.

Interesting question as to whether C7 needs something in Win 7/8. One thing I noticed is that the Cubase 64x bridge works perfectly in Win 64x whereas I needed Jbridge with XP 64 x.
i7-3930k @3.20Ghz 16gb Win7 64x Cubase 7 Komplete8 Maschine Axon50 and 11 hardware synths

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2144
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: And the windows 8 useless processes are ? ...

Post by BriHar » Wed Dec 12, 2012 4:03 pm

"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 8.5.15 - 64bit | Cubase AI8 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests