Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
iburwell
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:57 pm
Contact:

Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by iburwell » Tue May 07, 2013 1:04 am

Hi Guy's

I've just bought6 WL8, anyone out there having problems with WL8 crashing on startup? I have issues with Abbey Road PLugins and also some Antares pugins I have all stored on an iLok.

I can ignore the plugins, but WL8 still crashes on startup. I've currently installed the 32bit version.

WL7, C7 and Nuendo 6 are all ok with all plugins!

Any Idea's?

Is there a "safe mode" or something in WL8 to see what it doesn't like on startup?

Regards

Ian
Nuendo 8 (Primary DAW) | Cubase Pro 10 | Wavelab 9 | Protools 12.8| Apollo Quad SF | Avid S3 | PT Dock | Custom Built PC 256Gb RAM 6TB HDD's Dual Xeon (40 Cores HT)| Windows 10 64bit | UAD-2 Quad, Apollo QUAD, Various plugins Steinberg/Waves/UAD

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Tue May 07, 2013 1:36 am

Same here. Get the message WaveLab8.exe has stopped working. "Windows is checking for a solution for the problem."

Then that window changes to "A problem caused the program to stop working correctly. Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available."
Thanks,
Ron Rice

tadpole
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:49 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by tadpole » Tue May 07, 2013 2:12 am

Windows 8 64/ Nuendo 6/ Wavelab 8/ The Grand 3/ Steinberg MR816csx/ Steinberg CC121/ Intel Core i7-3770 @3.40GHz/ 20 GB RAM/ NVIDIA Quadro NVS 290

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Tue May 07, 2013 2:43 am

tadpole wrote:Hi,

Similar issue here - http://www.steinberg.net/forum/viewtopi ... 89&t=39187
Here when it hangs the window is the "Audio Files" window." Going to task manager when the program freezes it shows WaveLab8.exe running but "Audio Files" not responding. Not so sure its a plugin issue here.
Thanks,
Ron Rice

plyman
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by plyman » Tue May 07, 2013 3:15 am

Same Here. Running Win 7 Pro
Pete Lyman
Infrasonic Mastering
www.infrasonicsound.com

iburwell
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by iburwell » Tue May 07, 2013 8:25 am

Hi Guy's,

I installed WL8 64bit and it works. But sInce only 64bit Plugins are loaded and can be used (I donl;t have that many 64bit plugins), I'm putting it initially down to a 32bit plugin or pluigin(s) causing the crash. WL8 32bit didn't want to install most if not all of my iLok plugins.

I did initially have a problem with Waldorf Largo with WL7, but when I added it to the "plugins not loaded" file that went away. However it looks like we have some sort of issue with plugins with WL8 that I'm sure Phillipe is looking into.

I'll remove each plugin in turn to see if I can find it.

Regards

Ian
Nuendo 8 (Primary DAW) | Cubase Pro 10 | Wavelab 9 | Protools 12.8| Apollo Quad SF | Avid S3 | PT Dock | Custom Built PC 256Gb RAM 6TB HDD's Dual Xeon (40 Cores HT)| Windows 10 64bit | UAD-2 Quad, Apollo QUAD, Various plugins Steinberg/Waves/UAD

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Tue May 07, 2013 1:23 pm

plyman wrote:Same Here. Running Win 7 Pro
Running Win 7 Pro 32 bit here. Still can't get WL8 to open.
Thanks,
Ron Rice

S-EH
Member
Posts: 356
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 12:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by S-EH » Tue May 07, 2013 1:24 pm

latest eLicenser ?

regards S-EH
RME Fireface 800, WaveLab, Cubase...

iburwell
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by iburwell » Tue May 07, 2013 1:48 pm

Hi S-EH,

Nope, I downloaded the latest which funny enough were released yesterday (6th May), but sadly doesn't help. It's definitely from my POV a plugin as the WL8 64bit works with the limited 64 bit plugins I have.

Thanks

Ian
Nuendo 8 (Primary DAW) | Cubase Pro 10 | Wavelab 9 | Protools 12.8| Apollo Quad SF | Avid S3 | PT Dock | Custom Built PC 256Gb RAM 6TB HDD's Dual Xeon (40 Cores HT)| Windows 10 64bit | UAD-2 Quad, Apollo QUAD, Various plugins Steinberg/Waves/UAD

Guest

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by Guest » Tue May 07, 2013 2:47 pm

iburwell wrote:I'll remove each plugin in turn to see if I can find it.

Regards

Ian
IMO you're better off removing all, then adding each one until the guilty party shows itself.

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Tue May 07, 2013 3:02 pm

S-EH wrote:latest eLicenser ?

regards S-EH
Thanks for the suggestion. I run the latest eLicenser and WL8 still won't run, same message as above. I have WL6 and WL7 installed on this Win7 (32) bit machine as well and both programs work fine. Never a problem with plugins.
Thanks,
Ron Rice

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6954
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by PG » Tue May 07, 2013 4:52 pm

@rondr

It is possible for WaveLab to generate diagnostics. Do this:
Press and maintain the Alt key, and using the mouse, open the main preferences.
Now you can see a new tab called "Diagnostics"
Set it as:
2013-05-07_17-51-09.png
(36.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Quit WaveLab.
Under Windows:
Run C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\WaveLab 8\Tools\Tracer.exe
Under the Mac:
Run the Console.app

Launch WaveLab.

The Tracer/Console window will display many informations.

Copy that info to me (private email). Maybe that can be an hint.

When you don't need diagnostics, you should switch them off, to avoid a small performance lost.
Philippe

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Tue May 07, 2013 5:49 pm

PG wrote:@rondr

It is possible for WaveLab to generate diagnostics. Do this:
Press and maintain the Alt key, and using the mouse, open the main preferences.
Now you can see a new tab called "Diagnostics"
Set it as:
2013-05-07_17-51-09.png
Quit WaveLab.
Under Windows:
Run C:\Program Files (x86)\Steinberg\WaveLab 8\Tools\Tracer.exe
Under the Mac:
Run the Console.app

Launch WaveLab.

The Tracer/Console window will display many informations.

Copy that info to me (private email). Maybe that can be an hint.

When you don't need diagnostics, you should switch them off, to avoid a small performance lost.
Thanks PG,
Trying the Alt Key method don't work, nothing on screen is active until the close program button is pushed then WL8 closes. The only choice is to close WL8.

I ran Tracer.exe and this is all that shows up.

A70: ////// WaveLab Diagnostics //////
A70: WaveLab 8.0.1 (build 665)
A70: Operating System: Windows 7
Thanks,
Ron Rice

plyman
New Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by plyman » Tue May 07, 2013 9:59 pm

Any ideas?

I've uninstalled a few times, updated my eLicenser...
Pete Lyman
Infrasonic Mastering
www.infrasonicsound.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6954
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by PG » Tue May 07, 2013 10:03 pm

Trying the Alt Key method don't work, nothing on screen is active until the close program button is pushed then WL8 closes. The only choice is to close WL8.
I don't see what you mean. Could you see the disgnostic tab displayed on my picture?
Philippe

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Wed May 08, 2013 1:24 am

PG wrote:
Trying the Alt Key method don't work, nothing on screen is active until the close program button is pushed then WL8 closes. The only choice is to close WL8.
I don't see what you mean. Could you see the disgnostic tab displayed on my picture?
WL8 crashes before it gets to that point in your picture. Only one choice and that is to "Close program." Please see attached.
Attachments
WL8 Start Crash.png
(47.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Thanks,
Ron Rice

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6954
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by PG » Wed May 08, 2013 7:25 am

Did you see the plugin scanning goind through correctly? The problem you report happens later? What audio card do you have? (this initialization happens late).
Philippe

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6954
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by PG » Wed May 08, 2013 7:44 am

Do you have a chance to try the 64 bit version?
Philippe

iburwell
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 1:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by iburwell » Wed May 08, 2013 7:56 am

PG wrote:Do you have a chance to try the 64 bit version?
Hi PG,

In my situation WL8 64bit works, but obviously with limited plugins as not all of mine are 64bit.

I did set the diagnostics as suggested on a previous post in WL8 64bit (I'm assuming both use the same preferences) and fired up the 32 bit version and monitored via the tracer program. Nothing obvious jumped out at me. I can PM the results if you want to have a look.

Regards

Ian
Nuendo 8 (Primary DAW) | Cubase Pro 10 | Wavelab 9 | Protools 12.8| Apollo Quad SF | Avid S3 | PT Dock | Custom Built PC 256Gb RAM 6TB HDD's Dual Xeon (40 Cores HT)| Windows 10 64bit | UAD-2 Quad, Apollo QUAD, Various plugins Steinberg/Waves/UAD

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6954
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by PG » Wed May 08, 2013 8:07 am

@iburwell

Yes, please send the data on PM
Philippe

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Wed May 08, 2013 1:14 pm

PG wrote:Did you see the plugin scanning goind through correctly? The problem you report happens later? What audio card do you have? (this initialization happens late).
Initially upon install the plugins scanned and completed, it appeared to. Sound card is MOTU 896mk3. I did try unstalling WL8, unplugging and removing the soundcard, reinstalling WL8 with same results.
Thanks,
Ron Rice

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6954
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by PG » Wed May 08, 2013 3:07 pm

iburwell's case was solved by removing an obsolete ASIO driver.
To help you, rondr, I need the Trace output I have told you about.
Philippe

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Wed May 08, 2013 3:59 pm

PG wrote:iburwell's case was solved by removing an obsolete ASIO driver.
To help you, rondr, I need the Trace output I have told you about.
Thanks PG,

I ran Tracer.exe and all that comes up is this...

A70: ////// WaveLab Diagnostics //////
A70: WaveLab 8.0.1 (build 665)
A70: Operating System: Windows 7
Thanks,
Ron Rice

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6954
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by PG » Wed May 08, 2013 4:07 pm

You said earlier:
Here when it hangs the window is the "Audio Files" window."
then it's not possible to have as little info as what you show. Pleasee my previous post and activate the exact same options. Then you will see more trace messages...
Philippe

rondr
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 11:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Wavelab 8 Crashing On Startup

Post by rondr » Wed May 08, 2013 4:29 pm

PG wrote:You said earlier:
Here when it hangs the window is the "Audio Files" window."
then it's not possible to have as little info as what you show. Pleasee my previous post and activate the exact same options. Then you will see more trace messages...
I think I found the problem but not sure of the cause. Maybe one of two things. WL8 is working now. A few years back I had a project come in on Pro Tools. I installed Pro Tools 9 and the hardware unit drivers for the latest version of Avid's M Box. I uninstalled both Pro Tools and the hardware drivers and WL8 opens now without any issues.
Thanks,
Ron Rice

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests