Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
bakiki
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by bakiki » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:24 pm

Hi

As the title says I just want to produce a midi note when my midi foot pedal is pressed. The reason is I'm want to experiment with creating some sort of midi track that I can later use to create a tempo track from.. I will be pressing the pedal while playing a guide/guitar track . The theory may not work out but I want to try never the less.

I've look at the midi transformer as well as the other midi inserts but can't seem to see a way of doing this.

Does anyone know of a way to do this..


Thanks in advance for any help....

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by thinkingcap » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:40 pm

bakiki wrote:Hi

As the title says I just want to produce a midi note when my midi foot pedal is pressed.
What does the manual of your specific not mentioned manual say..?
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

bakiki
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by bakiki » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:52 pm

I have obviously looked at the manual and the Cubase 7 manual does not seem to say that there is or isn't a way. Hence this question. I'm hoping somebody might know a work around that is not obvious,well obvious to me at least...

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by thinkingcap » Sat Jun 15, 2013 6:58 pm

bakiki wrote:I have obviously looked at the manual and the Cubase 7 manual does not seem to say that there is or isn't a way. Hence this question. I'm hoping somebody might know a work around that is not obvious,well obvious to me at least...
Now since you say it´s a MIDI pedal and the question is, if the pedal can produce a MIDI note, you will surely not find the answer in the Cubase manual. It depends which kind of MIDI Message it transmits, or maybe it can even be programmed to transmit a certain MIDI message. Since it seems to be a big problem for some people to post useful gear info, you should look that up first. Apart from that, MIDI Messages still can be transformed for example with the input transformer inside Cubase...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

bakiki
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by bakiki » Sat Jun 15, 2013 7:52 pm

I take your point that I have not provided gear info but this isn't an elaborate question regarding ram, cpu, or OS platform. It's just about a basic midi pedal like any other midi pedal that produces midi controller data (I have never heard of a midi pedal that was designed not to send midi controller data..)
And yes Cubase 7 does not have a dedicated function for this but that does not mean that this isn't a valid question. Cubase doesn't not have a simple bounce in place function but this can be achieved in a round about way and hence I wondering if there is a round about way for me the achieve this. I have look into the midi Transformer options and I have used these functions before (I am not a novice) but I haven't been able work this out for this request.

I hoping someone less pendantic and more knowledgeable than me regarding transformer midi functions might come across this question..

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9247
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by -steve- » Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:18 pm

Well, I might not be less pedantic, but he did give you the answer in his second post, to use the input transformer. You can also use the midi monitor to see what your pedal is sending. I'll get out out of the way now.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee, and I do not speak for them)
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR44C | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by thinkingcap » Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:25 pm

bakiki wrote:I take your point that I have not provided gear info but this isn't an elaborate question regarding ram, cpu, or OS platform. It's just about a basic midi pedal like any other midi pedal that produces midi controller data (I have never heard of a midi pedal that was designed not to send midi controller data..)
The gear question was towards the type of pedal (I see, I have a typo in my first post...)
http://www.thomann.de/gb/behringer_fcb_1010.htm
Programmable MIDI foot pedal
"freely assignable MIDI channel-...-MIDI note-on commands for trigger and tap tempo applications"

But I do understand it' s not really appropriate to ask someone for a bit of useful info, those who try to help should have to ask repeatedly to get info, or just write anything that might be in relation to the question... :roll:
Last edited by thinkingcap on Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by Weasel » Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:27 pm

For what I'm guessing you'd like to do, the Input Transformer should do the trick. In this example, I've set it up so a footpedal, plugged into my keyboard's Sustain jack will play the kick drum on GrooveAgentOne.

Image
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

bakiki
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by bakiki » Sat Jun 15, 2013 8:43 pm

Weasel wrote:For what I'm guessing you'd like to do, the Input Transformer should do the trick. In this example, I've set it up so a footpedal, plugged into my keyboard's Sustain jack will play the kick drum on GrooveAgentOne.

Image

Thank you for your suggestion. I will give this a try. The transformer can be confusing and I was sure that someone here would more know more than me about this.


I appreciate you taking the time to reply to this question... :D



It worked, thanks again!

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4722
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by curteye » Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:16 am

Weasel wrote:For what I'm guessing you'd like to do, the Input Transformer should do the trick. In this example, I've set it up so a footpedal, plugged into my keyboard's Sustain jack will play the kick drum on GrooveAgentOne.

Image

+1

page 595 in the manual.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

bakiki
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by bakiki » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:20 am

SteveInChicago wrote:Well, I might not be less pedantic, but he did give you the answer in his second post, to use the input transformer. You can also use the midi monitor to see what your pedal is sending. I'll get out out of the way now.
I find it ridiculous that you think he has answered the question by telling me to look up the manual regarding input transformer. How can that be the complete answer when I have stated in my original post that I have already looked up input transformer but the manual has limited information regrading this...

Thankfully Weasel was able to answer my question and point out to me an obscure logical command (cc36 Foot LSB) THAT IS NOT IN THE MANUAL. Therefore it was reasonable for me the approach the forum and ask rather than run out and buy another piece of gear. I keep telling people I've looked in the manual for the answer and people keep telling to look in the manual for a detail (cc36 FOOT LSB) that isn't in there....?

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:28 am

bakiki wrote:I find it ridiculous that you think he has answered the question by telling me to look up the manual regarding input transformer. How can that be the complete answer when I have stated in my original post that I have already looked up input transformer but the manual has limited information regrading this...
Well, first of all, MIDI transformer / inserts and input transformer are two different things. If you had read the manual thoroughly, you would know that. and 2nd,
bakiki wrote:Thankfully Weasel was able to answer my question and point out to me an obscure logical command (cc36 Foot LSB) THAT IS NOT IN THE MANUAL. Therefore it was reasonable for me the approach the forum and ask rather than run out and buy another piece of gear. I keep telling people I've looked in the manual for the answer and people keep telling to look in the manual for a detail (cc36 FOOT LSB) that isn't in there....?
As I said before this was pointed at the pedal´s manual, to know which kind of message is output by the pedal. Not every pedal ouputs the same MIDI message. And of course this kind of info can not be found in the Cubase mnanual.
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

bakiki
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by bakiki » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:42 am

thinkingcap wrote:
bakiki wrote:I find it ridiculous that you think he has answered the question by telling me to look up the manual regarding input transformer. How can that be the complete answer when I have stated in my original post that I have already looked up input transformer but the manual has limited information regrading this...
Well, first of all, MIDI transformer / inserts and input transformer are two different things and 2nd,
bakiki wrote:Thankfully Weasel was able to answer my question and point out to me an obscure logical command (cc36 Foot LSB) THAT IS NOT IN THE MANUAL. Therefore it was reasonable for me the approach the forum and ask rather than run out and buy another piece of gear. I keep telling people I've looked in the manual for the answer and people keep telling to look in the manual for a detail (cc36 FOOT LSB) that isn't in there....?
As I said before this was pointed at the pedal´s manual, to know which kind of message is output by the pedal. Not every pedal ouputs the same MIDI message. And of course this kind of info can not be found in the Cubase manual.
There you go being pendantic again... I said "I've look at the midi transformer as well as the other midi inserts" that statement does include the input transformer a midi insert...

The bottom line here is that the manual although very comprehensive cannot supply every single obscure detail, hence the forum. You can keep telling me all you want that the manual would explain that (cc36 FOOT LSB) actually triggers the 36 note but it's clear it doesn't explain this..

I don't want to waste your time arguing but I don't why people who clearly don't know the answer to questions keep replying . If I don't know an answer I just stay out of it, I know I do.. Why clog the forum..?
Last edited by bakiki on Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:45 am

bakiki wrote: There you go being pendantic again... I said "I've look at the midi transformer as well as the other midi inserts" that statement does include the input transformer a midi insert...
That´s the point - the input transformer is not a MIDI insert, therefore it works different as a MIDI insert.
If I don't know an answer I just stay out of it, I know I do.. Why clog the forum..?
But obviously you´re still trying to tell me, the input transformer is a MIDI insert...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by vic_france » Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:44 pm

(not wishing to confuse the issue any further.. yes, the Input Transformer is the answer ;), but I do have a slight query to ask of Weasel, and his screenshot)...

Seeing as how the "pedal up" should produce, natively, a CC#64=0 anyways, that "Value 2 line" shouldn't even be necessary at all ;)... value 2 (which becomes "velocity" after conversion to note), would remain unchanged.. hence note velocity = 127 on pedal down, and velocity = 0 (which also means "note=off) on pedal up.

On the other hand, that "multiply" line could be used to scale the velocity of the desired note (e.g. x0.500 for a note-on with velocity = 64.. the zero, on pedal up, would still be zero after multiplying :) )
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

bakiki
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by bakiki » Sun Jun 16, 2013 12:59 pm

thinkingcap wrote:
bakiki wrote: There you go being pendantic again... I said "I've look at the midi transformer as well as the other midi inserts" that statement does include the input transformer a midi insert...
That´s the point - the input transformer is not a MIDI insert, therefore it works different as a MIDI insert.
If I don't know an answer I just stay out of it, I know I do.. Why clog the forum..?
But obviously you´re still trying to tell me, the input transformer is a MIDI insert...


I said "I've look at the midi transformer (input transformer) as well as the other midi inserts" .....Pedantic?
Last edited by bakiki on Sun Jun 16, 2013 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by thinkingcap » Sun Jun 16, 2013 1:35 pm

bakiki wrote:I said "I've look at the midi transformer (input transformer) as well as the other midi inserts" .....Pendantic?
No, you obviously did not "say" it that way - see your first post - No mention of input transformer.
There is a MIDI transformer insert and there is the input transformer. And although they look similar, they are two different things.
And obviously I´m not the only one in this thread seeing it that way. Only you still keep telling me, the MIDI transformer is the same as the input transformer. And call me pedantic for distingushing between the two...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by Weasel » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:00 pm

(not wishing to confuse the issue any further.. yes, the Input Transformer is the answer ;), but I do have a slight query to ask of Weasel, and his screenshot)...
When it comes to all things Transformer… Vic France is, without a doubt, our forum's resident expert on the matter (not to mention being our resident Score guru and all-around good guy). He raises a few questions that deserve a reasonable response.

I found that using "Set to fixed value" with a value of 127 for the Action Target's Value 2 (which I felt was necessary to set a specific recordable Note velocity value) created a "double hit" or "bounce" situation with the pedal I used for this test (an old KORG sustain pedal).

Using "Multiply by" solved the "bounce" problem. Why? I have no idea. It just works. Since I had no idea what kind of gear bakiki might be using, I felt that including the "Multiply by" step would just work no matter what keyboard controller/pedal combo was being used. Of note: I had the same results in both C7 and C6.5.

I guess this is a good point to add that this Input Transformer design could have been set up in "Local" mode. I just went with the first choice: "Global".

If anyone is interested in the results I was getting between using "Set to fixed value" and "Multiply by" as the Action Target's Value 2 to solve my "bouncing" issue, take a look here:
http://78cf01617e3950417f0c-edf74d1b5a4 ... 20720p.m4v

I rest my case...I'll wait and see if Vic files a motion
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by vic_france » Sun Jun 16, 2013 11:45 pm

Weasel wrote:
I found that using "Set to fixed value" with a value of 127 for the Action Target's Value 2 (which I felt was necessary to set a specific recordable Note velocity value) created a "double hit" or "bounce" situation with the pedal I used for this test (an old KORG sustain pedal).

Using "Multiply by" solved the "bounce" problem. Why? I have no idea.
That is completely "Logical" (sorry for the pun ;) ).. using "Value 2___Set to fixed Value___127", that is converting also the desired CC#64=0, on pedal up (for "note-off") into a(nother) CC#64=127. If you are certain that pedal down is transmitting CC#64=127 anyways, you don't need that 2nd line at all.
Whereas using "Multiply" x1.0000 leaves both 127 and 0 intact (and, like I said earlier, as an added bonus, can also be used to scale the velocity (127 x0.5000=64, and 0 x0.5000 still =0 ;) ).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 700
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Is there a way to make foot pedal to produce a midi note

Post by Weasel » Mon Jun 17, 2013 1:03 am

Math! (uttered in the style of Seinfeld's "Newman")

Thank you, Vic. I don't call you Transformer Guru for nothing.

Well...at least my little video can show you the results.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests