Stand alone Audio Unit

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Vibelingo
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 10:49 am
Contact:

Stand alone Audio Unit

Post by Vibelingo » Sat Sep 14, 2013 10:53 am

Hi, I have an audio unit ("Granite") and I am unable to locate the unit from Cubase and record input from it. How do one connect a stand alone unit to Cubase?

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Stand alone Audio Unit

Post by Strophoid » Mon Sep 16, 2013 8:15 am

You mean you are not running it as plugin?
That'll be difficult. I sure there are ways but you'll need some 3rd party application to link the 2, or run it from a separate computer and audio interface and just record it's output like that.
If you want to control it with midi from Cubase you can do it that way too.
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4722
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Stand alone Audio Unit

Post by curteye » Tue Sep 24, 2013 1:04 am

Vibelingo wrote:Hi, I have an audio unit ("Granite") and I am unable to locate the unit from Cubase
Aloha V,

IMHO
This is a question that would best be answered by the folks who make 'Granite'.

What do they have to say about accessing their product from
within the Cubase DAW as a VST plug-in?

{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Vibelingo
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 14, 2013 10:49 am
Contact:

Re: Stand alone Audio Unit

Post by Vibelingo » Tue Sep 24, 2013 3:32 pm

Hi, the response from Granite was that it is "not made to use as a plug-in on Mac". Very helpful. In any case I use a different software to record Granite, export as aiff then import in Cubase...

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4722
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Stand alone Audio Unit

Post by curteye » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:14 am

Vibelingo wrote:Hi, the response from Granite was that it is "not made to use as a plug-in on Mac". Very helpful. In any case I use a different software to record Granite, export as aiff then import in Cubase...
I see.

At least you have figured an effective work-a-round. Nice work.

Good Luck!
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests