A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Post Reply
blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:36 pm

Here the scenario:.

I'm editing a VO and would like to cut out all the breaths. At the moment I'm using either:
1. Range --- Delete
2. Scisors ----Delete.
It does feel cumbersome and requires a lot of clicks.
I do have a macro for "deBreath: using range and Gain function, but that doesn't cut the region.

When using scissors, the red event marker/frame always jumps the the event ahead... so
I'm trying to make a macro where:

2. What I would like is Scissor---Scissor (for the range)
Notice that the next adjacent event will be red so hitting delete will cut it...
3. jump back, mark the cut range, delete
4, jump forward to the next event

Any ideas?

Thank you in advance

User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by The Sound Post » Thu Sep 26, 2013 9:00 pm

Why don't you try 'Detect Silence' and adjust the threshold so it just cuts out the breaths? Works for me...
Nuendo 10 OSX 10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.46 GHz 48GB ram Antelope Orion32 Slate Raven

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by Dolfo » Thu Sep 26, 2013 10:15 pm

DeBreath plugin from Waves. Symply it works.
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.5
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 6:22 am

Thank you for your replies. I tried both suggestion in the past and it didn't work for me. The problem is a lot of African languages have syllables/vovels/clicks that are softer than the breath. Bushman language has only clicks for example, and those are at the beginning and end of the words, so both solution are dangerous since I could cut out half of the word :) . Happened to me once. Being old school I like to have control what I'm cutting.
Anybody has an idea how to program this macro?

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by Fredo » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:42 am

-Assign a Key Command to "process/gain".
-Use range tool to select the area with the breath.
-Use Key Command
-Set to desired level
-Process

===>Done.

Once you have done this once, you can limit yourself to "select range" "hit KC", Enter.

HTH
Fredo

User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by The Sound Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 7:53 am

Or you could try something like:

1. make the 2 cuts with the scissors
2. start a macro that consists of 'Navigate left', 'Delete' and 'Locate selection'

Would that get you going?

As you can see, there's a lot of ways to achieve what you're going for. It's up to you to decide which way suits you best.

Best regards,
Martijn.
Nuendo 10 OSX 10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.46 GHz 48GB ram Antelope Orion32 Slate Raven

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:13 am

Fredo wrote:-Assign a Key Command to "process/gain".
-Use range tool to select the area with the breath.
-Use Key Command
-Set to desired level
-Process

===>Done.

Once you have done this once, you can limit yourself to "select range" "hit KC", Enter.

HTH
Fredo
Thats exactly what I already have, but this only decreases the level. Thanx Fredo

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:14 am

The Sound Post wrote:Or you could try something like:

1. make the 2 cuts with the scissors
2. start a macro that consists of 'Navigate left', 'Delete' and 'Locate selection'

Would that get you going?

As you can see, there's a lot of ways to achieve what you're going for. It's up to you to decide which way suits you best.

Best regards,
Martijn.
Good Idea. Will try ASAP

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by Fredo » Fri Sep 27, 2013 8:31 am

-Select Range
-Delete.

:)

Fredo

User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by The Sound Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 10:16 am

Fredo wrote:-Select Range
-Delete.

:)

Fredo
That was my first thought as well :-)
But the OP wants to use the scissor tool.

Martijn.
Nuendo 10 OSX 10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.46 GHz 48GB ram Antelope Orion32 Slate Raven

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:33 am

Thx Fredo and Martijn

Scissors are faster. I can let it roll and cut on the go. With range you have to stop, make a range, delete, hit play.. to many clicks.. :shock:
There should be a function: Cut the last event. Then you use stationary cursor and just cut as you go .. :mrgreen:

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:40 am

Fredo wrote:-Select Range
-Delete.

:)

Fredo
It makes me think:
I'm running with stationary cursor; I mark the beginning and the end of the range and then hit DELETE. Perfect solution but there is no way to tell the cursor to start and end the range :(

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by Fredo » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:43 am

I was wondering why you wanted to use the scissor tool.
But I don't think it will make a difference.
If you are able to cut twice while the project rolls, then you can as easily define a range.

But it'n not up to me to question your workflow.
You must have a good reason to use the scissors tool.

Fredo

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2511
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by Fredo » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:44 am

blob wrote:
I'm running with stationary cursor;
Try with a running cursor, and zoom in so you have detail enough to cut out whatever you need.

Fredo

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1402
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:51 am

Also you could try alt click to cut at cursor position.

I have a 17 button gamer mouse (razer naga) that allows for keyboard shortcuts and macros. You can setup a button to cut at cursor and another one to delete and fly at speeds faster than Paganini and Malmsteen together.... ;)

Ollie
Main machine: Fireface UFX+ 64GB, 2TB Hecacore macmini 10.14.x, egpu
Avid ProTools Ulitimate and S3. A gazillion plugings
https://aufnahme.myds.me

User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by The Sound Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:54 am

Fredo wrote:
blob wrote:
I'm running with stationary cursor;
Try with a running cursor, and zoom in so you have detail enough to cut out whatever you need.

Fredo
Exactly. I do all kinds of things while the project is playing. Deleting, fading, crossfading, leveling, etc. A real time saver. The stationary cursor would make this really hard or even impossible.

Martijn.
Nuendo 10 OSX 10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.46 GHz 48GB ram Antelope Orion32 Slate Raven

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 11:58 am

Thank you Fredo.

How would you automate it?.
I don't have to use scissors.
Lets see. You run the project, the cursor comes to the point you want to cut, you hit cut, cursor rolls( be it stationary or not), next cut, cursor rolls, you hit a key and previous event is cut while you still roll to the next

I hope it makes sense.I just don't want to stop rolling, mark range with the mouse delete, play....
Is there a function to locate/mark previous event while rolling?
Last edited by blob on Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:01 pm

The Sound Post wrote:
Fredo wrote:
blob wrote:
I'm running with stationary cursor;
Try with a running cursor, and zoom in so you have detail enough to cut out whatever you need.

Fredo
Exactly. I do all kinds of things while the project is playing. Deleting, fading, crossfading, leveling, etc. A real time saver. The stationary cursor would make this really hard or even impossible.

Martijn.
Yes I understand, I do so as well. :).
The problem is, if you are not fast enough the screen will jump forward and you loose focus if you have follow cursor on.
When I'm cutting I only see couple of seconds and the cursor is allready 2 km ahead :).

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:06 pm

Oliver.Lucas wrote:Also you could try alt click to cut at cursor position.

I have a 17 button gamer mouse (razer naga) that allows for keyboard shortcuts and macros. You can setup a button to cut at cursor and another one to delete and fly at speeds faster than Paganini and Malmsteen together.... ;)

Ollie
Thx. Sure I can, but still I have to select the event. I want Nuendo to select it for me, while I'm still rolling.. :)

User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by The Sound Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:12 pm

blob wrote: Is there a function to locate/mark previous event while rolling?
Like I said before: Navigate left.
Nuendo 10 OSX 10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.46 GHz 48GB ram Antelope Orion32 Slate Raven

blob
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:35 am
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by blob » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:17 pm

The Sound Post wrote:
blob wrote: Is there a function to locate/mark previous event while rolling?
Like I said before: Navigate left.
Oh man :facepalm:

There we go.
Thank you :oops:

User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by The Sound Post » Fri Sep 27, 2013 12:22 pm

You're welcome :-)
Nuendo 10 OSX 10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.46 GHz 48GB ram Antelope Orion32 Slate Raven

Mike S
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2011 3:28 am
Location: Melbourne Australia
Contact:

Re: A "deBreath"macro, need help

Post by Mike S » Mon Oct 07, 2013 1:03 pm

Hi,
I use "split at curser" at the beginning of the breath then "cut head" at the end of the breath.
I have programmed A , S , D QWERTY keys in key commands as Cut Head(A) , split at curser(s) , Cut Tail(d)
One hand scrolls while the other operates the editing key commands A,S & D.

Or hold "ALT "and mouse click to split at cursor , then with the mouse trim the head of the file up to the beginning of the next word.

Cheers
Mike
Mike
Nuendo 10.2 Win 10 64 Pro,i9-9900K,Asus TUF Z390 Plus, 16 G DDR4 RAM, NVS510 GUI, Intensity Pro Video ,WK ID Console, RME Fireface UFX, UAD-2.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests