Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Phobic78
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Phobic78 » Wed Feb 12, 2014 5:02 pm

apologies if there is an obvious solution to this, but I can't seem to find it in the manual.

Is there any way to search for a specific word in the mediabay? for example, if i want to search for 'ice' in my sound effects, but don't want to have to wade through a thousand sound effects that contain words like 'office', 'police', 'slice' etc. so i guess i need some modifier that searches for 'ice' as a separate word.

any ideas?

thanks,

phobic.
Nuendo 6.0.5 : iMac i7 : Waves : NI Komplete : East West Orchestral

Phobic78
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Phobic78 » Mon Mar 24, 2014 10:58 pm

well, i guess it doesn't do it then. seems like a no brainer feature request for any sound designer with 100k+ sound effects in their library.

any chance of getting this in v6.5?
Nuendo 6.0.5 : iMac i7 : Waves : NI Komplete : East West Orchestral

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- » Tue Mar 25, 2014 12:12 am

Type into the text field - labeled "Search Results"

Or hit the tab key a couple times.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 414
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Dog and Pony » Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:11 am

This has always bugged me.
Type into the text field - labeled "Search Results"
Sorry if I'm being dense but that doesn't seem to make any difference, "ice" still brings up "office" and "wind" still returns "window". John.
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- » Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:19 am

Sorry, I misunderstood.

Use the Logical (not Attribute) search and set the filter to 'equal', and not 'matches' or 'contains'.

It's in the "The Filters section" of the Mediabay chapter in the manual.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Elektrobolt » Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:29 am

Or perhaps padding with a space before or after would work? This way you don't have to operate elsewhere, but you would need to do the search twice to see all matches (in two batches).

I'd love for MediaBay to have an option to search by regular expressions! That would make your search very easy indeed.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- » Tue Mar 25, 2014 1:40 am

Interesting idea... but spaces are ignored.

Have you checked out the Logical search in mediabay?
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2467
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo » Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:38 am

Mediabay.jpg
(64.39 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:21 pm

Fredo wrote:
Mediabay.jpg
Fredo
Did you try it?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2467
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo » Tue Mar 25, 2014 3:54 pm

Yes I did.
Did you try it?
And what's your point?

Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:18 pm

Fredo wrote:Yes I did.
Did you try it?
And what's your point?

Fredo
Yes I did.

If I type in "wind" after "matches" is selected, I get "window" as well.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2467
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo » Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:50 pm

Try the same with "equals".
Also make sure that you are not searching within attributes that can provide matching results.


Fredo

Phobic78
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Phobic78 » Tue Mar 25, 2014 4:59 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:Sorry, I misunderstood.

Use the Logical (not Attribute) search and set the filter to 'equal', and not 'matches' or 'contains'.

It's in the "The Filters section" of the Mediabay chapter in the manual.
thanks for the suggestion, but this seems to only return results that are an exact match, so searching for 'ice' will not identify a sound effect called 'crushing ice' or 'ice pick'.

i'm sure that previous versions of media bay were able to do this, or am i just thinking of pro tools?

also, fredo, thanks for your suggestion but, as lydiot says, i don't think this actually filters out the unwanted words.
Nuendo 6.0.5 : iMac i7 : Waves : NI Komplete : East West Orchestral

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- » Tue Mar 25, 2014 5:19 pm

I was writing this post while Phobic78 was posting his... I'll post anyway.

Indeed, The answer to the OP's question is no, "Equals" (my suggestion, sorry) only matches an entire field, not a single word in a field.

As far as filtering out, you can use booleans, so you can filter out strings thus: -words
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:14 pm

Fredo wrote:Try the same with "equals".
Also make sure that you are not searching within attributes that can provide matching results.


Fredo
We did. Same results.

If you tried this, did your version of Nuendo omit whatever result was 'longer' (meaning if you type "wind" you do not get "window") ?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:16 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:As far as filtering out, you can use booleans, so you can filter out strings thus: -words
This however requires that one knows all of the hits one does not want in advance and type them in, right?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- » Tue Mar 25, 2014 7:21 pm

Lydiot wrote:This however requires that one knows all of the hits one does not want in advance and type them in, right?
Yep. It's of limited use. There's no filter for Whole Words Only.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2467
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo » Wed Mar 26, 2014 8:45 am

Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:03 pm

Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
Whatever is "standard" in search engines. I seem to recall Google previously allowing "" to ensure you only got what was in quotes, and nothing outside, and I think some search engines default to [space] meaning either [and] or [or] rather than only a word.

In short, intuitively speaking I think space to many would mean "or" or "and" because that's how we type text generally. So I would prefer "". It would also allow us to write things like;

"wind" forest

and get any hit on "wind" and "forest" but no "window" etc. We'd use both "" for making the word exclusively short and [space] to add a second search term.

But whatever is most prevalent is fine by me, or what most users prefer. The function is more important than which character to use in my opinion.

EDIT: I just checked and in MediaBay [space] seems to equal a boolean [+].
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Elektrobolt » Wed Mar 26, 2014 2:32 pm

Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
I definitely think space should be a factor, so yes. +1
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Mar 26, 2014 3:00 pm

Elektrobolt wrote:
Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
I definitely think space should be a factor, so yes. +1
It already is.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- » Wed Mar 26, 2014 4:15 pm

@Lydiot, what does space do?
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3781
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:15 pm

SteveInChicago wrote:@Lydiot, what does space do?
It appears to function as [and]. So typing "key" in my currently selected database gives me four results, one of which has the word "clock" in it. So then typing "key clock" yields only that result.

Have you tried it?
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9098
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- » Wed Mar 26, 2014 5:32 pm

Yes, I see. I was actually using it for that - without explicitly realizing it's function. Thanks.

Hope to see a Whole Word filter in the future.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Elektrobolt » Thu Mar 27, 2014 10:23 pm

Lydiot wrote:
Elektrobolt wrote:
Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
I definitely think space should be a factor, so yes. +1
It already is.
Well, I meant of course in respect to what Fredo suggested, but yes, I see my fault in expressing that. Thank you.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests