Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 6 here.
Phobic78
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Phobic78 »

apologies if there is an obvious solution to this, but I can't seem to find it in the manual.

Is there any way to search for a specific word in the mediabay? for example, if i want to search for 'ice' in my sound effects, but don't want to have to wade through a thousand sound effects that contain words like 'office', 'police', 'slice' etc. so i guess i need some modifier that searches for 'ice' as a separate word.

any ideas?

thanks,

phobic.
Nuendo 10.2.20 : Windows 10 : Waves : NI Komplete : East West Orchestral

Phobic78
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Phobic78 »

well, i guess it doesn't do it then. seems like a no brainer feature request for any sound designer with 100k+ sound effects in their library.

any chance of getting this in v6.5?
Nuendo 10.2.20 : Windows 10 : Waves : NI Komplete : East West Orchestral

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- »

Type into the text field - labeled "Search Results"

Or hit the tab key a couple times.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Dog and Pony »

This has always bugged me.
Type into the text field - labeled "Search Results"
Sorry if I'm being dense but that doesn't seem to make any difference, "ice" still brings up "office" and "wind" still returns "window". John.
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- »

Sorry, I misunderstood.

Use the Logical (not Attribute) search and set the filter to 'equal', and not 'matches' or 'contains'.

It's in the "The Filters section" of the Mediabay chapter in the manual.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Elektrobolt »

Or perhaps padding with a space before or after would work? This way you don't have to operate elsewhere, but you would need to do the search twice to see all matches (in two batches).

I'd love for MediaBay to have an option to search by regular expressions! That would make your search very easy indeed.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- »

Interesting idea... but spaces are ignored.

Have you checked out the Logical search in mediabay?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo »

Mediabay.jpg
(64.39 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Fredo wrote:
Mediabay.jpg
Fredo
Did you try it?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo »

Yes I did.
Did you try it?
And what's your point?

Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Fredo wrote:Yes I did.
Did you try it?
And what's your point?

Fredo
Yes I did.

If I type in "wind" after "matches" is selected, I get "window" as well.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo »

Try the same with "equals".
Also make sure that you are not searching within attributes that can provide matching results.


Fredo

Phobic78
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2012 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Phobic78 »

SteveInChicago wrote:Sorry, I misunderstood.

Use the Logical (not Attribute) search and set the filter to 'equal', and not 'matches' or 'contains'.

It's in the "The Filters section" of the Mediabay chapter in the manual.
thanks for the suggestion, but this seems to only return results that are an exact match, so searching for 'ice' will not identify a sound effect called 'crushing ice' or 'ice pick'.

i'm sure that previous versions of media bay were able to do this, or am i just thinking of pro tools?

also, fredo, thanks for your suggestion but, as lydiot says, i don't think this actually filters out the unwanted words.
Nuendo 10.2.20 : Windows 10 : Waves : NI Komplete : East West Orchestral

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- »

I was writing this post while Phobic78 was posting his... I'll post anyway.

Indeed, The answer to the OP's question is no, "Equals" (my suggestion, sorry) only matches an entire field, not a single word in a field.

As far as filtering out, you can use booleans, so you can filter out strings thus: -words
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Fredo wrote:Try the same with "equals".
Also make sure that you are not searching within attributes that can provide matching results.


Fredo
We did. Same results.

If you tried this, did your version of Nuendo omit whatever result was 'longer' (meaning if you type "wind" you do not get "window") ?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC »

SteveInChicago wrote:As far as filtering out, you can use booleans, so you can filter out strings thus: -words
This however requires that one knows all of the hits one does not want in advance and type them in, right?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- »

Lydiot wrote:This however requires that one knows all of the hits one does not want in advance and type them in, right?
Yep. It's of limited use. There's no filter for Whole Words Only.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2664
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Fredo »

Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
Whatever is "standard" in search engines. I seem to recall Google previously allowing "" to ensure you only got what was in quotes, and nothing outside, and I think some search engines default to [space] meaning either [and] or [or] rather than only a word.

In short, intuitively speaking I think space to many would mean "or" or "and" because that's how we type text generally. So I would prefer "". It would also allow us to write things like;

"wind" forest

and get any hit on "wind" and "forest" but no "window" etc. We'd use both "" for making the word exclusively short and [space] to add a second search term.

But whatever is most prevalent is fine by me, or what most users prefer. The function is more important than which character to use in my opinion.

EDIT: I just checked and in MediaBay [space] seems to equal a boolean [+].
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Elektrobolt »

Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
I definitely think space should be a factor, so yes. +1
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC »

Elektrobolt wrote:
Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
I definitely think space should be a factor, so yes. +1
It already is.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- »

@Lydiot, what does space do?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4344
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by MattiasNYC »

SteveInChicago wrote:@Lydiot, what does space do?
It appears to function as [and]. So typing "key" in my currently selected database gives me four results, one of which has the word "clock" in it. So then typing "key clock" yields only that result.

Have you tried it?
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9670
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by -steve- »

Yes, I see. I was actually using it for that - without explicitly realizing it's function. Thanks.

Hope to see a Whole Word filter in the future.
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
[safe mode] [cubase manual] [score editor manual]

User avatar
Elektrobolt
Senior Member
Posts: 1334
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 5:12 am
Location: A wet blue oblate spheroid spinning around a fiery bright yellow dwarf at 107,000 km/h.
Contact:

Re: Search specific words in Mediabay?

Post by Elektrobolt »

Lydiot wrote:
Elektrobolt wrote:
Fredo wrote:Hmmm ... I see. Got a point.
I however do not agree that the function should be changed.
What if we could add a space before or after the word?
"Wind "
That would give us the best of both worlds ...

Fredo
I definitely think space should be a factor, so yes. +1
It already is.
Well, I meant of course in respect to what Fredo suggested, but yes, I see my fault in expressing that. Thank you.
"Remember that we live only in the present, in this fleeting instant; all the rest of our life is either past and gone, or not yet revealed."

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest