Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 8:38 am

cubase plugin list latency.jpg
(234.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Have a look at the picture. As you can see there's some pretty hefty delay comp in some of those plugs. I've experienced that cubase doesn't compensate for vst3 and vst2's. I've been creating tracks noticing timing and feel looses dramatically on inserts and instruments. A combination of both can bring nightmares. So I'm curious to know, How do you guys compensate? Manually adjusting track delay - + to get the desired result? Not using the offending plugins totally? I just remember it not being this bad. Sometimes my tracks just lose it's tightness in small increments for each track. Invisible to the eye, have to rely on ears... Bouncing to audio to adjust is not an option. Will require more warping and sliding part and regions around to fit taste. I know I'm all over the place with this, but it's surprises me how this issue has me checking tempo/clock/asio and anything else to I can to stop the bleeding...LOL. Maybe someone will shed some light on a brother. ;)
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

OldFecker
Junior Member
Posts: 142
Joined: Tue Aug 06, 2013 9:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by OldFecker » Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:41 pm

PDC happens automatically in Cubase - unless you have pressed the "Constrain Delay Compensation" button, which will turn off the PDC for plugs that have latency larger than the threshold time (in ms) you set in prefs.
Studio One 3.5.1 / Cubase 6.5.5 / UAD 2 Quad / Win 7 x64 / intel i7 920 4 x 3.8GHz

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Thu Feb 13, 2014 9:20 pm

OldFecker wrote:PDC happens automatically in Cubase - unless you have pressed the "Constrain Delay Compensation" button, which will turn off the PDC for plugs that have latency larger than the threshold time (in ms) you set in prefs.
I hear you, but if that was the case, turning off PDC would yield no result.(plugin disabled). Here's a scenario. I'm using a plugin on an insert track. PDC latency in the plugin is 2048. In order for me to get it back in the pocket, I have to use the track delay to -48 in milliseconds to play as expected. If cubase was doing the right thing and working as expected, I wouldn't have to use track delay. Right :?:
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

TKW
Junior Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2013 10:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by TKW » Thu Feb 13, 2014 11:03 pm

Sadly, this is an issue i've learned to live with.

I no longer know if it's my ears or Cubase but I always think there's something out of sync.

Then just when you've got everything lined up with the kick drum you load up a synth with a BPM synced arpeggio which actually sounds 'out' to the other instruments but because it's linked to BPM you have to shifty every other track to match the arpeggio...

...and after all that, even the BPM synced arpeggio doesnt line up with the metronome click...

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:27 am

TKW wrote:Sadly, this is an issue i've learned to live with.

I no longer know if it's my ears or Cubase but I always think there's something out of sync.

Then just when you've got everything lined up with the kick drum you load up a synth with a BPM synced arpeggio which actually sounds 'out' to the other instruments but because it's linked to BPM you have to shifty every other track to match the arpeggio...

...and after all that, even the BPM synced arpeggio doesnt line up with the metronome click...
Thanks for the share. I've been plagued with this since sx2-CB7.5. This has gone on long enough. I know there are many more who experience this same behavior.
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by marQs » Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:33 am

All I can say is: PDC works! Even with plugins that add a lot of latency. Never a problem. Don't say I just wouldn't hear it. At least with parallel compression and stuff like that I definately would... but it's always spot on, all day long, up and down ;)

Maybe plugins that do not report a correct value to Cubase?
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 1:58 am

marQs wrote: Maybe plugins that do not report a correct value to Cubase?
Thanks! I completely understand it works for you. That would leave me to discard offending plugins (update/Trash) them. Can't say I wanna do that or can do that. So I'm leaning on track delay in milliseconds to help aid this issue. Which is a bummer. The more combinations of plugins yield different offset times per track. Not a good look if The groove or feel is what your after. Dealing with all audio tracks is not the problem, works as expected. Combine instruments and audio tracks and then let the games begin.
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

vespesian
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by vespesian » Fri Feb 14, 2014 2:49 am

PDC works fine here with audio and midi/instruments here, as well. I wonder - are you using a mix of time bases in your tracks? Constrain delay compensation is actually something different than PDC...it compensates so that midi isn't recorded too early - perhaps try either turning it off or on for all tracks.

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:32 am

vespesian wrote:PDC works fine here with audio and midi/instruments here, as well. I wonder - are you using a mix of time bases in your tracks? Constrain delay compensation is actually something different than PDC...it compensates so that midi isn't recorded too early - perhaps try either turning it off or on for all tracks.
Thanks for the feedback. I know how it works. If I have a live bass player jam to some drums in the track and its in the pocket. Once recorded, Insert let's say a A.O.M Invisible_Limiter plugin. That bass track is no longer in sync as it was originally recorded.(CDC OR PDC doesn't matter) Bypass it or remove it and its back to normal. I'm trying to find solutions to overcome this. I used that plugin as a reference. It could be midi or audio or plugins. It could be that I'm a perfectionist and timing is everything when recreating the 70's sound. I'm glad it works for some of you, it's not for me. Next move will be to upload a youtube video demonstrating this issue and show the community what I'm talking about.
So far one person TKW wrote:
Sadly, this is an issue i've learned to live with.


It's driving me up the wall...
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by marQs » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:37 am

Of course timing is crucial, would drive me crazy as well... Try to find the plugins causing the problems (I guess there's the problem) and replace them by something that works.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

Niles
Member
Posts: 328
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by Niles » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:00 pm

vespesian wrote:Constrain delay compensation is actually something different than PDC...it compensates so that midi isn't recorded too early - perhaps try either turning it off or on for all tracks.
No offence, but this information isn't correct. Constrain delay compensation disables the plug ins which latency exceeds the delay compensation threshold set in the preferences.

To KDEF2004 have you had the opportunity to check the plug ins you suspect causing these timing issues in another DAW?
Like marQs said, it could well be the plugs don't report the correct latency to the host. Especially because you can correct the introduced delay, which looks like the introduced latency is consistent.
Nice beats by the way 8-)

vespesian
Member
Posts: 358
Joined: Fri Jun 14, 2013 1:58 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by vespesian » Fri Feb 14, 2014 12:37 pm

Niles wrote:
vespesian wrote:Constrain delay compensation is actually something different than PDC...it compensates so that midi isn't recorded too early - perhaps try either turning it off or on for all tracks.
No offence, but this information isn't correct. Constrain delay compensation disables the plug ins which latency exceeds the delay compensation threshold set in the preferences.

To KDEF2004 have you had the opportunity to check the plug ins you suspect causing these timing issues in another DAW?
Like marQs said, it could well be the plugs don't report the correct latency to the host. Especially because you can correct the introduced delay, which looks like the introduced latency is consistent.
Nice beats by the way 8-)
Sorry - you're right - I was thinking of the "ASIO latency" switch which is on each midi/instrument track...

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 3:48 pm

Niles wrote:
vespesian wrote:Constrain delay compensation is actually something different than PDC...it compensates so that midi isn't recorded too early - perhaps try either turning it off or on for all tracks.
No offence, but this information isn't correct. Constrain delay compensation disables the plug ins which latency exceeds the delay compensation threshold set in the preferences.

To KDEF2004 have you had the opportunity to check the plug ins you suspect causing these timing issues in another DAW?
Like marQs said, it could well be the plugs don't report the correct latency to the host. Especially because you can correct the introduced delay, which looks like the introduced latency is consistent.
Nice beats by the way 8-)
Yes, I've narrowed it down to a few plugins not playing nice with cubase. Will have to use track delay to compensate. I appreciate the feedback. Thanks!
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

dream
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:08 pm
Contact:

Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by dream » Fri Feb 14, 2014 5:40 pm

I'm pretty much using C7 just for mixing, and I'm experiencing not a correct delay compensation too in projects with great latency.
In those project also the freeze function acts the same way.

I read this thread, would you guys be so kind to tell me where I can find the compensation limit in the preference? I'm not able to find it. :)

I'd like to experiment with that and see what happens.

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:29 pm

Capture.JPG
(61.08 KiB) Not downloaded yet
dream wrote:I'm pretty much using C7 just for mixing, and I'm experiencing not a correct delay compensation too in projects with great latency.
In those project also the freeze function acts the same way.

I read this thread, would you guys be so kind to tell me where I can find the compensation limit in the preference? I'm not able to find it. :)

I'd like to experiment with that and see what happens.
Sure check the pic
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3016
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by peakae » Fri Feb 14, 2014 6:42 pm

Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
KDEF2004
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by KDEF2004 » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:42 pm

peakae wrote:Take a look at :
http://www.voxengo.com/product/latencydelay/
Nice! will check it out. Thanks
Lenovo IdeaPad 330, Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-8750H CPU @ 2.20GHz, 16 GB Ram, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1050 Beringer UMC404HD, Cubase 10.0.30, Wavelab 9.5.5.0, Specttralayers 6, Pro, Reason 10,HSO 1.5 VSTI'S & FX'S

https://www.instagram.com/djkdef/

dream
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 9:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by dream » Fri Feb 14, 2014 7:57 pm

Thanks KDEF for the time you took to take the screenshot. :)
I saw that window, but I had thought it wasn't related to the "regular" delay compensation, but to the "force dalay compensation" function while tracking.

tekniq
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by tekniq » Tue Sep 09, 2014 2:28 pm

the automation in Cubase is not tight.

when you have two inserts which lower the volume and you switch them bypassing you still hear the signal in between the switches.
Mein Cubase Arbeitsplatz

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by J-S-Q » Tue Sep 09, 2014 9:52 pm

tekniq wrote:the automation in Cubase is not tight.

when you have two inserts which lower the volume and you switch them bypassing you still hear the signal in between the switches.
Yes, Cubase automation timing is not 100% accurate. It actually varies depending on the size of buffer you have. The higher the buffer setting, the earlier your automation will be.

RE: PDC, I have also noticed a few plugins where the delay compensation does not work correctly. Can't remember which ones just at the moment but I've definitely experienced this with a couple of Waves plugins. I think there are certain plugins that create too much latency for the PDC system to cope with. It's quite rare in my experience though.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
ManChicken
Junior Member
Posts: 89
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by ManChicken » Wed Sep 10, 2014 9:51 am

J-S-Q wrote:I think there are certain plugins that create too much latency for the PDC system to cope with. It's quite rare in my experience though.
Or possibly they are just lying about their latency values, not taking into account samplerate or somesuch? I always wondered about that but have never really looked at the SDK to see how it's defined.

tekniq
Junior Member
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:28 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by tekniq » Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:50 pm

https://vimeo.com/105642261

i dont know if this is the right kind of test but for me automation "tightness" matters. When I automate some cutoff etc every new bar it sounds a little different. in this example you can hear a) theres a noise where it shouldnt and b) it isnt 100% the same error..
Mein Cubase Arbeitsplatz

Hydrophonics

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by Hydrophonics » Sun Jan 11, 2015 2:34 am

Hi, trying to get my UAD plugins working in Cubase 8, I've been advised to check the Plugin Delay compensation box, please excuse my ignorance but can someone point me to where that is please? thanks :)

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2165
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by marQs » Sun Jan 11, 2015 3:06 am

No need to check anything but telling Cubase 8 where to look for the plugins. Plugin delays are compensated automatically.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 608
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Delay Compensation (See Pic)

Post by mitchiemasha » Tue Apr 23, 2019 2:02 pm

Old thread but I'm suffering from PDC issues, CUBASE 10. I use Volume Shaper on the master buss, it displays the waveform on a grid, an essential secret for revealing timing issues in a project.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Novation Stations, Nord Rack 2, JV1080, 2x Presonus Firestudio, Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests