Nudging?

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
djstyleee
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:41 am
Contact:

Nudging?

Post by djstyleee » Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:47 am

Is there anyway of nudging audio without using the quantise/snap value? I thought if you deactivated quantise/snap you would beable to nudge freely.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by vic_france » Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:04 pm

Well, "Snap" tells Cubase how far to Nudge each time, so you'll need to have it set to something ;).
But you can set it to a single sample :). (you'll have to switch the main Ruler over from "Bars+beats" to "Samples", however)
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

djstyleee
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:41 am
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by djstyleee » Sun Sep 14, 2014 3:21 am

Cheers for reply mate, yeah that is how i've been doing it, i've moved over from PT where you had separate 'snap' value for nudging. I will just have to change workflow a little, get all the drums etc down and then mess around with syncopation after.

Peter taylor
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 10:42 am
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by Peter taylor » Tue Sep 16, 2014 12:26 am

To ask a simple question, not knowing what PT is, - in Cubase 5 I could easily set separate quantize and snap values. In Cubase 7 they seem to be locked together which is a major irritation. How can i say - set a quantize value of 1/4 note an snap value of 1/64 so I can nudge to small values? This is in the standard, not drum editor. Peter

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by vic_france » Tue Sep 16, 2014 1:55 am

They are, as you say, locked. But if you assign a couple of key commands to the different Quantize presets, you should be able to switch quickly from one to another ;).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by MHSound » Tue Sep 16, 2014 4:18 am

yea this was irritating when I made the switch to Cubase from DP.. I nudge audio by slight amounts ALL the time.. besides making a quick key to go to 1/128 note, if I want smaller, you can go to the Info line and click on the Ticks part of the "Start position" and you can use your mouse wheel/click and drag/use up down arrows to move by ticks.

does the job pretty quickly.. just had to change my hard wired habit of just using the left and right arrows with no snap..


~MH

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1721
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by suntower » Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:00 am

This is one of my Annual Requests over in F/R. I hope you will find it and support it over there.

There should be a 'nudge' hot key.. You hold it down and can then move objects in teeny increments as in other apps.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

DG
Member
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by DG » Thu Sep 18, 2014 9:45 am

This is all really easy if you set a few Presets using the Logical editor. You can also move MIDI in ms, rather than ticks, if you like. Caveat; SB broke the ms feature at some point in the Nuendo cycle, so it may not have been fixed properly in Cubase, but ticks certainly works.

DG
Nuendo 6.07
Intel Xeon 3.0GHz 10 Core 20 Threads
32GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
nVidia GT 640 graphics card

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by MHSound » Fri Sep 19, 2014 6:42 pm

DG wrote:This is all really easy if you set a few Presets using the Logical editor.
Hey DG, can you elaborate a little more on this? I'm intrigued.. would greatly improve my workflow..

THANKS!

WillB
Junior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by WillB » Sat Sep 20, 2014 4:19 pm

I usually just right click on timeline and select timecode.
I set the value to 1/2 frame which is usually good but smaller or larger values available and then I nudge. The value is of course remembered when switching back to nudge again.
Takes 2 seconds or less.
Nuendo 1, 2, 3 / Cubase 4, 5, 6, 7, 8. HP I7-6700k, RME UFX, Lenovo Thinkpad Workstation W540, RME UCX, Win 10 64b, Halion 5, RND 5033 5043, WaveLab 4-8, DMG EQ & Compression, Limitless RME ADI-8 2x, TAB 76m x2, Calrec PQ1061 x2, Ampex ATR-100 w/ LNP-2, Houston.

MHSound
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon Mar 17, 2014 12:32 am
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by MHSound » Sat Sep 20, 2014 6:44 pm

WillB wrote:I usually just right click on timeline and select timecode.
Right, I see that too, but what if you're lining up audio to the grid? Which that's what i'm doing 99% of the time.. doesn't it change the grid to TC? I'll test that later today..

I did find out the LE way. You can say 1st half) Property - Set to - Event Selected 2nd half) Position -> Add/Subtract -> 5 ticks.

So I set 2 different ones, one adding (right) and one subtracting (left). And just assigned those to be CNTRL-Left/Right

Easy Peasy!

Although, that only affects midi notes, so to get audio to do the same, you have to set the same equation in the PLE. I then assigned that to OPTION-Left/Right.

DG
Member
Posts: 704
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by DG » Sun Sep 21, 2014 11:55 am

MHSound wrote:
DG wrote:This is all really easy if you set a few Presets using the Logical editor.
Hey DG, can you elaborate a little more on this? I'm intrigued.. would greatly improve my workflow..

THANKS!
I'm not in the studio again until the end of the week, but will post a few screenshots then, in case they are useful.

DG
Nuendo 6.07
Intel Xeon 3.0GHz 10 Core 20 Threads
32GB RAM
Windows 7 (x64)Pro
RME Multiface II
Intensity
nVidia GT 640 graphics card

MarkyGoldstein
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Feb 08, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: Nudging?

Post by MarkyGoldstein » Thu Apr 02, 2015 8:44 pm

I don't get it. How can I nudge small amounts? (in Apple Logic this is nicely done and simple to understand - basically nudge is not the same as quantise over there)

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests