Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Weasel »

A1, Monologue, Embracer, CS40, Universal Sound Module, Groove Agent X, WAVE PPG and Attack all disappear with this build. I could care less about CS40, GAX and USM. But I'm pretty ticked about losing the others. These all worked in 6.0.

All the usual remedies were tried....trashing blacklists, rescanning and updating from the Plug-Ins Information panel. No go. And here's another little gem brought on by this build: The entire Korg plug-in suite and Plogue's Bidule will create a second "Cubase" menu item up top. I don't know about the rest of you but when launching a plug-in somehow works its way into the host program's top level menuing structure, someone over in Hamburg ought to be concerned. See for yourselves:
Attachments
screenshot_01.jpg
(156.72 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Weasel on Fri Mar 18, 2011 8:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20/Cubase 11.0.0• MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4770
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by curteye »

Bummer W,
Thanks for the warning.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Weasel »

That's why they call 'em betas.

On the other hand, there are a nice bunch of fixes in this.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20/Cubase 11.0.0• MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by vic_france »

Hi Weasel,
Weasel wrote:A1, Monologue, Embracer, CS40, Universal Sound Module, Groove Agent X, WAVE PPG and Attack all disappear with this build. ..These all worked in 6.0.
For me, Monologue, Embracer and the Waldorf Suite (v1.2.2?) are still working :?, but yes, I too will miss good ol' A1 if it is really gone for good. (Also, I no longer see the old Plugsound VSTis). They are still there in the menus, but simply don't launch.
Did you try trashing, not only the Vst2xBlacklist Cubase.xml, but also Vst2xPluginsCubase.xml and VstPlugInfo.xml?
The entire Korg plug-in suite and Plogue's Bidule will create a second "Cubase" menu item up top.
Yes, that's happening here too.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Weasel »

Did you try trashing, not only the Vst2xBlacklist Cubase.xml, but also Vst2xPluginsCubase.xml and VstPlugInfo.xml?
Just the blacklist. I'll try dumping Vst2xPluginsCubase.xml and VstPlugInfo.xml this evening and get back to you.

As to the "Double Cubase in the Menu" thing....of note: it doesn't seem to do anything adverse to the performance of Cubase. The left-most does nothing while the right-most will open the proper menu.

It can't be cleared by by deactivating the plug-in that set it off nor quitting the Project and opening a new one. Only a complete relaunch of Cubase clears it.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20/Cubase 11.0.0• MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

Guest

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Guest »

The entire Korg plug-in suite and Plogue's Bidule will create a second "Cubase" menu item up top.
Yes, that's happening here too.
+1 ( it happend with 6.00 too)

L

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4770
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by curteye »

I'm scared now after reading thru this thread.

I was all set to pounce but now I believe I will wait a lil while longer.
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by vic_france »

Unless those few non-opening VSTis are a deal-breaker for you, don't let that put you off getting Cubase 6.. it is really lovely to work with (for the mostpart ;) )
And, of course, that doesn't prevent you from keeping Cubase 5 on the same machine ;).
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Weasel »

I was all set to pounce but now I believe I will wait a lil while longer.
Other than the missing ancients mentioned above....and the oddness of the Korg-induced CubaseCubase....there's no major reason not to install C6 (if you already have or about to buy it). There are some really very nice bits in it that go beyond what C5 is capable of...and with this beta update, most of the showstoppers are gone.

OK...that said...
Vic? What an incredible waste of time that little exercise was (which is why I skipped dumping the other prefs beyond the Blacklist in the first place). I did this across all three* of my Macs and I get the exact same results as listed above.

Of note...the included (and still) "un-iconed/packaged" Monologue and Embracer plugs did not show up. Dumped 'em and put in copies from a C5 install. Those work.

* There is a new 2.66 MacPro Dual6core with C6 on one of the drives not listed in my profile. It is not used in the recording studio.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20/Cubase 11.0.0• MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by vic_france »

Weasel wrote:Of note...the included (and still) "un-iconed/packaged" Monologue and Embracer plugs did not show up. Dumped 'em and put in copies from a C5 install. Those work.
(apologies.. in a really hurry at the moment).. am I reading you correctly?.. You trashed Monologue.vst and Embracer.vst from the Package Contents of Cubase 6, and replaced them with copies of the ones from the Package Contents of Cubase 5, and that worked? I've just had a look, and, here, they are exactly the same versions of those plugins in both apps (and they have the correct vst icon) :? Anyways, that still doesn't give a clue as to why the missing Waldorf plugins.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4770
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by curteye »

Not to hi-jack this thread Weasel but since we are talking about plugs that may not work after this latest up-date. One plug in particular which I use quite often,

I use the Embracer plug in quite a few situations.

I find that with some music it can act as a sort of musical 'MSG'.
You don't really know it is there, but if you take it out,
feels like something is missing.

To my ears, nothing sounds quite like it.
But as Cubase advances, it is getting more and more problematic to use.

So I am looking for a replacement.

Omnisphere can do the same function but I am
looking for something much cheaper.

Can anyone recommend an alternative to 'Embracer'?

MAJOR TIA
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5664
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Centralmusic »

Weasel wrote:...will create a second "Cubase" menu item up top.
this is the stereo version.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5664
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Centralmusic »

Remark: pre-release (!) approach when anybody can decide whether to go this way or wait for official patch later.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by vic_france »

Centralmusic wrote:
Weasel wrote:...will create a second "Cubase" menu item up top.
this is the stereo version.
:lol:
In fact, Martin Scorsese used the same software on a film that he intended naming, simply, "New York".
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9674
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by -steve- »

:lol:

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5664
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Centralmusic »

;-)
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

billum
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 4:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by billum »

Can anyone recommend an alternative to 'Embracer'?
Hi Curteye,

Many alternatives to Embracer out there, although the Surround-ness and nifty 'eye' control (a favourite of yours, by any chance? ;) ). As you say, Omnisphere is really the daddy of them all, but have you tried out Mystic & Spector, which do some very nice pads, and you already have them! Further afield FM8 & Massive do good pads as well as lots else; from the same stable you could try Absynth and Reaktor (the latter has loads of useful new synth engines coming along all the time - very funky & abstract); and Tassman4 can make some very interesting noises too.

There's loads else out there too - you should just get you a load of demos and have some fun, but don't overlook the other synths that Cubase has already, as there's some real gold-dust in them thar VSTi's.
Bill M
Cubase9.5 64bit, Hal4.5, GA3, Wavelab 9.5
Win7 64bit, i9

If it ain't broke - fix it until it is

User avatar
curteye
External Moderator
Posts: 4770
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by curteye »

Aloha b, and thank you.
nifty 'eye' control (a favourite of yours, by any chance?)

Wow! Ya got me. Soooo True.
have you tried out Mystic & Spector, which do some very nice pads, and you already have them!
To be truthfulI I really have not. I have not even read the blurb in the 'Plug-in info' pdf.
This will be my project this weekend.
Tassman4 can make some very interesting noises too.
Googling now.
Much Mahalo b
{'-'}
If yer gear ain't breakin down, you aint workin' much.

iMac 5K 4.2Gz 16GB
MBP 3.0Gz......16GB

Location:
On the side of a volcano in the middle of the Pacific Ocean.

NYC Composer
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by NYC Composer »

curteye wrote:Aloha b, and thank you.
nifty 'eye' control (a favourite of yours, by any chance?)

Wow! Ya got me. Soooo True.
have you tried out Mystic & Spector, which do some very nice pads, and you already have them!
To be truthfulI I really have not. I have not even read the blurb in the 'Plug-in info' pdf.
This will be my project this weekend.
Tassman4 can make some very interesting noises too.
Googling now.
Much Mahalo b
{'-'}
Curt-save your spare change for a while and get Omni. It really is the solution to, well...pretty much every synth need.
Regards, L.J.

_______________________________________________________

Cubase 10.5.12, 2019 iMac i9 8 core@3.6khz, OS 10.14.6, 72 GB RAM, scads of SSDs, Babyface Pro, OWC 4 bay Thunderbolt 3 enclosure, too many sample libraries, 90s American Series Strat, Taylor and Martin acoustics, Mexican Fender Precision.

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 712
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Weasel »

Just to touch base with the original premise of this thread....if Embracer and Monologue have disappeared...try what I did. Go hunt through the C5 Installer disk and replace the C6 versions with those.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20/Cubase 11.0.0• MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

User avatar
ChrisW
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by ChrisW »

Interesting - I've noticed that Embracer and Monologue are still listed on the Steinberg site as instruments included with Cubase 6, but they've gone missing for me as well. I'll dig out my C5 discs.
Dell XPS 8930 Intel Core i7-9700 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Home, Steinberg UR12, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3.5, Sibelius Ultimate, Komplete 12

User avatar
ChrisW
Member
Posts: 333
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by ChrisW »

Just noticed that they're both present in the VSTplugins/synth folder of the Cubase 6.app, but this folder isn't showing in the Plug-in Information list. :?
Dell XPS 8930 Intel Core i7-9700 3.0Ghz 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Home, Steinberg UR12, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3.5, Sibelius Ultimate, Komplete 12

Jim Beam
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Jim Beam »

No word from Steinberg on this subject yet?
Just got a copy of Cubase 6 and I encounter the same missing plugins, even being both present on the folder inside the app.

Edit: 6.0.2 btw.
Cubase 5.5.3 - 6.0.2
Mac OS X 10.6.7 and 10.7 on Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz
M-Audio Delta 44 w/ envy24 drivers

cybiont
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2011 6:45 am
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by cybiont »

You need to get the VSTBridge re-installed. That is done with the help of Rosetta.
I had the same problem. Embrace and Monologue disappeared. Reinstalled Cubase 6 and when trying to open Embrace and window came up and asked me to install the VST bridge. Clicked OK. All working now


I am using OSX 10.6.7

Jim Beam
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 5:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Mac: 6.0.1 VSTi problems

Post by Jim Beam »

cybiont wrote:You need to get the VSTBridge re-installed. That is done with the help of Rosetta.
I had the same problem. Embrace and Monologue disappeared. Reinstalled Cubase 6 and when trying to open Embrace and window came up and asked me to install the VST bridge. Clicked OK. All working now


I am using OSX 10.6.7
Hey thanks for the tip!
It's a shame there´s no Rosetta on 10.7 any more, it seems we will lose them any way :(
Cubase 5.5.3 - 6.0.2
Mac OS X 10.6.7 and 10.7 on Intel Core2 Quad Q9550 2.83GHz
M-Audio Delta 44 w/ envy24 drivers

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests