Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Use this forum for an overview of collected issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
djrustycans
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by djrustycans » Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:04 pm

Hi

I've downloaded Cubase 8 as I am eligible for a grace period update from 7.5. However, after running the latest version of eLC, I am unable to get my license to transfer to a Cubase 8 license. I always get an error when I run maintenance when it reaches step 5 and it is unable to recover license transactions. I've always had this error message but it's never affected the licensing of any products. What can I do?!

Best Regards

David

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9371
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:21 pm

Did you update to the latest elc?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

djrustycans
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by djrustycans » Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:25 pm

Yes, that was the first thing I tried. I think a web page is supposed to initiate when you run maintenance?

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9371
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:41 pm

No. I don't really know the tech detailes of how this works, so this question might or might not be valid- is your previous license registered in your Steinberg account?

If we see other reports of this error we can assume there's a prob with the license server- very rare, but has happened. They would be on it pretty quick if it was that.

System specs?
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

djrustycans
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by djrustycans » Wed Dec 03, 2014 7:53 pm

Thanks Steve. Yes, my 7.5 license is registered in my account. I'm on an iMac 3.4 ghz i7(late 2012) with 32gb ram, OS X 10.9 Mavericks (latest version). Hoping it's not an eLicenser hardware problem but I've never had any issues activating products before. I don't know if there's another way because when upgrading, they don't seem to supply you with an activation code prior to this stage.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9371
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by -steve- » Wed Dec 03, 2014 8:00 pm

Well, there's always restarting the Mac. I would try later, or just open a support request.

(no web page appears during this process, it all happens within the elc.)
independent manufacturer rep (not a Steinberg employee)
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 gb | hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb | macbook Pro 2011, 10.13.6 | 8 gb

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:44 pm

Hi there,

could be a connection, permissions or installation problem.

Please, check your firewall settings first - then, I would uninstall the eLCC, repair the disk permissions (Go -> Utilities -> Disk Utility), restart your Mac and reinstall the eLCC.

If the problem persists, please report the exact wording of the error message; perhaps we'll need to check deeper.

Best,
Fabio Bartolini - Test Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PC1: Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X, i7-8700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz, ASUS Dual RTX 2060S 8GB, Windows 10 Pro
PC2: GA-Z170-Gaming K3, i7-6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2133MHz, ASUS Dual GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 (8.1 and 7 Pro backwards comp.)
PC3: GA-H97-HD3, i5-4690K, 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz, Sapphire RX 570 Pulse 4GB, Windows 10 Pro (7 Pro backwards comp.)
Office DAW 1: GA-X570 Gaming X, Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB HyperX DDR4 3200MHz, Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 Pro
Office DAW 2: Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32GB DDR4, Intel HD 630, MacOS Catalina

djrustycans
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by djrustycans » Wed Dec 03, 2014 9:51 pm

Thanks Fabio, will try your suggestions now!

djrustycans
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2014 6:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by djrustycans » Wed Dec 03, 2014 10:19 pm

Followed the steps, but still no good. Same as before. I get a 'Recovering License Transactions' dialog box containing this message:

'An error occurred which prevented the operation from succeeding.

Please restart your computer system and try again, or contact your software vendor's support department in case the error persists.

Click 'OK' to proceed with further maintenance tasks, or click 'Cancel' to stop the maintenance procedure.'

Oh dear.......

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1379
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Wed Dec 03, 2014 11:13 pm

Mmmmhh, ok.

Please, try with the "Recover" function under the Actions menu.

If this fails again, please send your account's details via PM. I will check what went wrong ASAP.

Thank you.
Fabio Bartolini - Test Engineer
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

PC1: Gigabyte Z390 Gaming X, i7-8700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2666MHz, ASUS Dual RTX 2060S 8GB, Windows 10 Pro
PC2: GA-Z170-Gaming K3, i7-6700K, 16GB Corsair DDR4 2133MHz, ASUS Dual GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 (8.1 and 7 Pro backwards comp.)
PC3: GA-H97-HD3, i5-4690K, 16GB Corsair DDR3 1600MHz, Sapphire RX 570 Pulse 4GB, Windows 10 Pro (7 Pro backwards comp.)
Office DAW 1: GA-X570 Gaming X, Ryzen 7 3700X, 16GB HyperX DDR4 3200MHz, Gigabyte GTX 1060 6GB, Windows 10 Pro
Office DAW 2: Mac Mini 2018, i7 3.2 GHz, 32GB DDR4, Intel HD 630, MacOS Catalina

GRPstudio
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by GRPstudio » Wed Dec 17, 2014 4:14 pm

Hello!

I bought the Cubase Artist update yesterday, from 7.5 and I also cannot register it. When I put may Actvation code into updating the licence it says that there is no license on eLicenser to upgrade. I have all the latest versions of ELicenser center and have all things registered on Steinberg.net.
I tried a few times, but it is always the same!
Any suggestions?
Thank you!!

Lazaruss
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 8:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by Lazaruss » Sun Jun 14, 2015 10:22 pm

Same problem here. Activation process freezes both on Maintenance procedure and activating thing.
Sibelius 8.7.2
Dorico 1.1.10.202
Finale 2014
Windows 10 x64

giafin
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 5:29 am
Contact:

Re: Help!! Can't activate Cubase 8!

Post by giafin » Tue Nov 24, 2015 2:14 pm

Greetings,

As I have posted elsewhere on this forum, I cannot update my USB-eLicenser (just received today) from a Soft-eLicenser after purchasing Cubase Artist 8 as an upgrade from Cubase Elements 8.

Many thanks for your replies.

Cheers
PC: Acer-Aspire Z3-710 - 8Gb Ram; Windows 10/64bit.
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (current); MIDI keyboard: Nektar Impact LX88.
Notation: Dorico Pro (current); Sibelius Ultimate (current).
Sample Libraries: EWQLSO; Kontakt 6; NotePerformer 3; 8Dio (Agitato & Anthology Strings Bundles); Sonokinetic (Da Capo; Maximo; Minimal); VEPro 6; DaVinci Resolve.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest