Widen scroll bars

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
User avatar
soul patch
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:55 pm

Widen scroll bars

Post by soul patch »

Any way to do this?

They're so thin now I have to hunt for them.
i7 5820k, Win 10, Cubase 9.5

patcub
Member
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 1:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by patcub »

agreed. The slider was better.

User avatar
Outsounder
Member
Posts: 485
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2011 8:36 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by Outsounder »

The screen looks quite neat because you can hardly see them at a hairs thickness! Maybe the grab handles could be made a bit wider?
Main-Intel i7/Asus mobo/Gforce GPU/32gig ram. Secondary-Intel Q9950/Asus mobo/Radeon GPU/8gig ram.Win7 pro/Win10 pro, Cubase 9.5 Pro/Cubase 10.5 pro, Studio One 4 Pro, ACID, Ableton Live, SonicCore/Scope DSP Audio System, Presonus Sceptre S6 monitors. Avid Artist Mix/Control and Transport. Software includes NI Komplete 10, Halion 6, East West Play Libraries, Heavyocity Libraries, Sample Logic Libraries Best Service Libraries, Sonokinetic Libraries, 8Dio Libraries,Project Sam Libaries, Sound Iron Libraries,Melodyne Pro, Uberschall Elastic & Liquid Libraries etc etc.

User avatar
Greg Houston
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Jul 23, 2011 12:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by Greg Houston »

This is one of the few details about the new UI I actually like so would hope they make the width an adjustable option rather than simply make them fatter.
Image i7 3.4G Quad-Core, 16Gb, Win 10

MickGael
Member
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Feb 14, 2011 3:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by MickGael »

My God, yes. Please widen the scroll bars! There have been some fantastic usability enhancement. This is categorically not one of them.

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by noiseboyuk »

+1 to widen.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
HughH
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 4:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by HughH »

I'm old. I'm blind.

+1
Nuendo 10, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019
i7 5820 Asus x99 Deluxe 64 Gig Win 10 Home, Dual Monitors RME Digiface PCIe
Dell XPS 15 7590 Laptop i9 (10th Gen) 32 Gig Win 10 MOTU 8Pre-ES
i7 920 Asus P6T 12G Win 7 Slave Machine
MCU Pro plus 2 Extenders (24 Chn)
X-Touch Compact for various stuff
Blackmagic Decklink Studio w/27" Monitor
UR22

Gadget Fiend
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Feb 02, 2014 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by Gadget Fiend »

Are you sure that the actual clickable area for the scroll bars is smaller? Or do the scroll bars just look thinner on screen?
Hardware: Matrix-1000, Microwave w/Access programmer, MKS-50 w/JUNO CTRL programmer, MKS-80 w/Kiwi Patch Editor, Nord Rack 2, Prophet REV2 Module, Pulse 2, Shruthi (4-pole filter,) Shruthi (multi-pole filter,) Tetra, Virus TI2 keyboard, Maschine mk2
Software: Cubase Pro 10.5, Logic Pro X, Studio One 4, Wavelab
Plugins: ACE, AIR Complete, BassLine 101, Diva, Dune 2, Falcon, Groove Agent, HALion, Korg Legacy, Legend, Microtonic, NI Komplete, Omnisphere, OP-X Pro, Padshop, Repro-5, Retrologue, Serum, Spire, StylusRMX, Sylenth, Trilogy, U-NO-LX, V Collection, Virtual String Machine, VirtualCZ, VSL, WaveMapper, Zebra

User avatar
DaveAbbott
Member
Posts: 684
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:51 am
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by DaveAbbott »

Hi All

I personally think the thin scroll bars make the whole thing MUCH neater, but then that's just me :)

Best Regards

Dave
Dave Abbott
Entertainer | Musician | Producer
cricket@iafrica.com

Computer i7 3 Ghz CPU, Intel Mobo, DX58SO, 12Gig DDR1600 RAM, System Drive 64 Gig SSD + 480 Gig SSD sample drive + 3 x 1TB recording and sample drives.
Software: Windows 10 Pro 64Bit, Cubase 10 Pro, Wavelab 9.5, NI Komplete Ultimate, UAD, Waves, and various other plugs
Interface: Steinberg UR824 with Focusrite ISA One, Focusrite Octopre, Cubase Elements 8.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on spare machine. Cubase Elements 9.5 with Focusrite 18i8 on Stage Laptop (Dell 6430 i7 with 8gig RAM)
Korg Taktile 49 Controller Steinberg CC121 Controller

Rule 1: Have Fun! Rule 2: It's Not Serious! Rule 3: When in doubt refer to Rule 1!!

User avatar
Tytune
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 7:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by Tytune »

Here is a tip: scrolling is MUCH easier if you use the scroll wheel on your mouse, instead of clicking and dragging the scroll bar buttons.

Just try it: put your mouse anywhere on the scroll bar,for example the small horizontal one at the bottom right. You don't have to aim for the scroll bar button, put it anywhere on the bar. You don't have to be precise either, because the bar area is bigger than the thin line itself.

Now move the scroll wheel on your mouse and you will (hopefully) agree that this is not so bad after all.

User avatar
soul patch
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by soul patch »

I use scrolling but it's still too thin, especially when working quickly & compared to the previous.
i7 5820k, Win 10, Cubase 9.5

User avatar
jb
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 1:59 am
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by jb »

+1 they are small.
Studio: Cubase 8.5 32bit, 11 + jBridge 1.75
Windows 10
Intel I7 4930K @3.4Ghz/Asus P9X79/16gb/NVIDIA GeForce GT 610/RME Digiface and MultifacePCI/W10-64
Studio 2: Clone with RME digiface
Controllers: https://www.jbgeluid.nl/en/jurmix/
4 Ipads2/16gb, Lemur running customized 16channel Mackie control and multiple 14 bits generic remote templates, presonus faderport, BCR2000
website: https://www.jbgeluid.nl

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2078
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by Puma0382 »

+1 too narrow
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20 (and C11 testing), WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 900
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by Steve Helstrip »

I never use them, so not a problem for me. Mouse wheel is much easier IMO.
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

User avatar
soul patch
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by soul patch »

Yeah, if you never use them it stands to reason it wouldn't be a problem.
Many like myself do & are finding them too thin, even while also using the mouse wheel.
i7 5820k, Win 10, Cubase 9.5

User avatar
TSR
Junior Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 2:49 am

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by TSR »

As long as the mouse "target" area is bigger than the line itself, I'm good.

Even though I'm old, and blind ;-)

PS. I seldom use it, so who am I to.....?
HOVER HATERS UNITE -- DOWN WITH HOVER
Alias True Stereo Recordings uses:
Win 7 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Win 8.1 64, i5-3570K, 16 GB | Motu PCIe-424 w/96 io +++
HW - Focusrite Control 2802, ISA430 mkII | Universal Audio LA-610 SE, UA 2-610, UA 8110 | TL-Audio 5052, C-1, PA-1 |
TC Electronics R4000, M3000, M-One, D-Two | Eleven Rack | CC121 | Dynaudio BM15A +++
SW - Cubase 6.5/8, Nuendo 5.5 | Studio One 2.6 | Reaper 4.7 | PT10 | Boz Digital Labs, DDMF, Eventide, Exponential Audio, Kush Audio, Slate Digital, Softube, Sonnox, Soundtoys +++

andyjh
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by andyjh »

I find the scroll bars generally too narrow in Cubase, such as scrolling through an effects list, and the new ultra narrow arrange scroll bars are far too narrow, if you hover over them and use the mouse wheel, then the target area is still wide, but to actually click and drag it, you have to be right on it.

I'm on a 1920 x 1200 screen resolution, so maybe they end up smaller than other resolutions.

The micro zoom bars are horrid as well, I was hoping steinberg would use the same zoom bars that Wavelab uses - so much better.

but please Steinberg - make all the scroll bars wider - they should be designed for functionality first, leave all the arty appearance stuff alone.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 10, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico Pro 2.1.1
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

User avatar
soul patch
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by soul patch »

Part of the problem I'm having with it is when I rt+click on the scroll the Tool buttons windows opens up & scrolls through those selections as well.
The paint fill will keep popping up, annoying & too thin! (or code needs to be tweaked)
i7 5820k, Win 10, Cubase 9.5

madsv
Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by madsv »

HughH wrote:I'm old. I'm blind.

+1
+1
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 1.0) Socket LGA1366
Core i7 I7-920 8 MB
Kingston 24 G RAM
ATI XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
RME Fireface 800, Windows 10 pro.
Cubase 11, Wavelab 10, Sibelius 7.5, Dorico 3.5.10

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4838
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by raino »

andyjh wrote:... the new ultra narrow arrange scroll bars are far too narrow, if you hover over them and use the mouse wheel, then the target area is still wide, but to actually click and drag it, you have to be right on it.
Exactly. I agree the new thin scroll bars look great. However functionality should trump cosmetic considerations.
rodger

Cubase Pro 11, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

User avatar
soul patch
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 5:55 pm

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by soul patch »

I was working with another daw on some older projects for the last few months. I got back to Cubase yesterday & now I really find these narrow scrollbars irritating to say the least.

Besides this, 2 different size fonts used on tracks (I can't change either one), drop outs & can't close the damn thing w/o crashing Cubase is really getting frustrating to use these days.
i7 5820k, Win 10, Cubase 9.5

User123123123
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by User123123123 »

+1 100%

Scrollbars really need to be bigger. This is a big workflow issue for me.
Win7 64 bit, Cubase8.0.20. 64 bit, M-Audio FastTrackUltra8R, Radeon HD5500, 2 x 24" monitors

User avatar
jono not bono
Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Thu May 09, 2013 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by jono not bono »

They absolutely need to be widened.
Please make me stop buying stuff.

madsv
Member
Posts: 451
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by madsv »

jono not bono wrote:They absolutely need to be widened.
+1
--
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 1.0) Socket LGA1366
Core i7 I7-920 8 MB
Kingston 24 G RAM
ATI XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
RME Fireface 800, Windows 10 pro.
Cubase 11, Wavelab 10, Sibelius 7.5, Dorico 3.5.10

User123123123
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Sun Mar 17, 2013 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Widen scroll bars

Post by User123123123 »

I guess we have to make an issue out of it to have the devs consider it? Are the devs reading the general section here also?
Win7 64 bit, Cubase8.0.20. 64 bit, M-Audio FastTrackUltra8R, Radeon HD5500, 2 x 24" monitors

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests