Mono Wav in AAC?

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
Flohre
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:17 pm
Location: Munich
Contact:

Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by Flohre »

Hi there,

i also posted this question in the german forum...perhaps here has somebody a solution.
I created a watchfolder which should convert incoming audio files into "mp3" and "AAC".
When i put a stereo file in the folder everything works. But when i put a mono file in the folder, there pops up a window, that tells me, the aac codec cannot handle this format!
Can Mono-files (Wav, Aiff, etc) really not be converted into AAC?

Hope somebody has an answer :-)

Best regards from munich
Flohre
MB: MSI X99a Mpower, Win 10/64 bit, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 9, CC 121, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Apollo Twin USB, Focusrite LiquidMix, Samplitude ProX4, UAD Apollo Twin, diverse Plugins von Acustica Audio, Fabfilter, Waves, Softube, Plugin-Alliance, Kush Audio, Zynaptiq, Eiosis
http://www.florianpilz.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7903
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by PG »

AAC can create mono files, but not in all formats. What is the format of your input file? And what settings to you set for AAC?
Philippe

Flohre
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:17 pm
Location: Munich
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by Flohre »

Hi PG,

thank you for your reply...here´s what i want to convert

Source File : Wav, 24bit, 48khz, mono

wanted destination AAC-File(Settings in Wavelab):Type: AAC, Name: m4a, Channels: like input, Samplerate: like input, Encoder: MP4 HD-AAC 24 CBR 256 kbs, Metadata: copy from source

What do you think? Should this work?


best regards
Flohre
MB: MSI X99a Mpower, Win 10/64 bit, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 9, CC 121, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Apollo Twin USB, Focusrite LiquidMix, Samplitude ProX4, UAD Apollo Twin, diverse Plugins von Acustica Audio, Fabfilter, Waves, Softube, Plugin-Alliance, Kush Audio, Zynaptiq, Eiosis
http://www.florianpilz.com

PG
Moderator
Posts: 7903
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by PG »

MP4 HD-AAC 24 CBR 256 kb
Use something lower than 256 kb. In HD mode, this won't make a difference (lossless) but that will please the encoder.
Philippe

Flohre
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Aug 09, 2014 3:17 pm
Location: Munich
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by Flohre »

Hi PG,

thank you for your reply!
You were right...bringing the Bitrate lower to 112, 128 kb/s solves the problem.
I saw afterwards that i wouldn´t benefit from higher rates anyway (regarding the filesize)

Thank you and best regards
Flohre
MB: MSI X99a Mpower, Win 10/64 bit, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 9, CC 121, Focusrite Liquid Channel, Apollo Twin USB, Focusrite LiquidMix, Samplitude ProX4, UAD Apollo Twin, diverse Plugins von Acustica Audio, Fabfilter, Waves, Softube, Plugin-Alliance, Kush Audio, Zynaptiq, Eiosis
http://www.florianpilz.com

ZIK0650
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2016 12:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by ZIK0650 »

Hello,
I have the same problem with a stereo file "Wav, 24bit, 48khz, stereo"
This file comes from an another machine under cubase.

The file is transfered in a second machine via an usb key.
Wavelab opens the files without problems.

I can do my job and save after that.

The "save under" AAC with the same sample rate with 24 bits resolution, Stéreo channels and 128kbps/crb kills wavelab

Wavelab is killed! and shut down. Windows 10 64bits is angry!

Same problem at 112kbps, 96kbps.

I have to use "freac" to convert my file "Wav, 24bit, 48khz, stereo" directly to AAC 128kbps! And the file plays!

Where is my mistake?

Regards

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2572
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by bob99 »

ZIK0650 wrote: Where is my mistake?
Are you using Wavelab 8.5.31, the hotfix?
http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/downloads.html
Which type of AAC? - LC? HD?
Works ok here on Windows 10 Redstone.

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2572
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Mono Wav in AAC?

Post by bob99 »

ZIK0650 wrote: Where is my mistake?
Unless you're on Wavelab 9, in which case it should be fixed in the latest 9.0.30 update:
http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/downloads.html

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests