Groove Agent has lost it's way

All topics on Groove Agent
User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun Jan 18, 2015 7:05 pm

Hi,
Rumdrum wrote:Support through Toontrack is heaven compared to Steinberg.
ToonTracks support (via email) is very good indeed). Replies within 24/48 x hours.

It is a bit of a shame though that the Forum does not attract more traffic. I have heard there is a dedicated FaceBook page, but that is something I would not use, personally.

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
AndrasFL
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:05 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by AndrasFL » Sun Jan 18, 2015 9:13 pm

I'm not sure if I'll buy it. I need to play with it some more. I have EZ-drummer 1, so upgrading is pretty cheap. I'll have to judge which one fits my needs better.
Funny thing about the sound quality. But then again I only got a demo version of ezdrummer 2. It doesn't contain all the drumsets, so I'm probably missing out on some of the good ones.

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun Jan 18, 2015 10:15 pm

Hi,
AndrasFL wrote:Funny thing about the sound quality. But then again I only got a demo version of ezdrummer 2. It doesn't contain all the drumsets, so I'm probably missing out on some of the good ones.
I would think they give you enough to be able to judge/compare it against similar products. Plus there are tons of demonstrations videos on You Tube.

But if for have EzD1 then you should be familiar with all the fundamentals and basic concept etc.

Paul

User avatar
AndrasFL
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:05 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by AndrasFL » Wed Jan 21, 2015 8:49 pm

Yeah I reckon that they have.
I've been demoing groove-agent and ezdrummer some more. I still think that groove agent 4 sounds better.
It's a matter of taste. I guess

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jan 22, 2015 12:17 am

Hi,

Just to say I made some more purchases this week for my recent EZD2. The salesman Josh phoned me (UK) from the US to offer advice and pre-sales support. What a superb service indeed!

Anyway, I have ordered the two MONSTER MIDI packs (FILLS and ODD METERS), and also the CLASSIC EX and BLUES EX.

Have a nice little collection now to be going on with for a year or two...

I wanted to ask please, I have consequently now downloaded FIVE out of SIX of the "MIDI PACK 6" (Activation Codes) I purchased recently. Do you know if there is a TIME LIMIT (eg 28 x days) for making/downloading your choices? Or does the download time remain open?

Ta,

Paul

User avatar
Rumdrum
Member
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2011 1:08 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by Rumdrum » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:48 am

It ramains open in your user account after registration.
Mac Pro - Maverics 3,2Ghz - 20GB RAM - 22TB Disc, Cubase 8,5 + 4.5 (on PC/XP), Wavelab 9, iPad Remote, RME Hammerfall RAYDAT, Yamaha01V96, and a bucket of ice cream.

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Thu Jan 22, 2015 9:41 pm

Hi RedRum,
Rumdrum wrote:It ramains open in your user account after registration.
Ok, thats great! So I can take my time and choose my final MIDI at leisure.

Best,

Paul

Jblob
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:47 am
Contact:

Ilok 2

Post by Jblob » Tue Feb 03, 2015 4:48 am

does anyone know of a good vst compressor i can use for cubase 7 AND iLok 2 compatible?

i have a brand new iLok 2 that I've never used and i want to use it if i can, instead of buying a eLicenser dongle...(there's none available in australia)
i tried RND Portico trial, and iLok manager sees the iLok 2 but won't recognise the act code. eLicenser accepts the code but does not recognise the iLok 2
I've been reading all day and i may have missed something
any help would be nice.
j
MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015) 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 8Gb ram 512Gb SSD RME fireface UCX Rode K2 Rode M3 UA Solo 610 casio usb midi keyboard martin OM28V Cubase Elements 9

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Ilok 2

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Tue Feb 03, 2015 11:46 pm

Jblob wrote:does anyone know of a good vst compressor i can use for cubase 7 AND iLok 2 compatible?
Might be better off posting this in a more relevant thread mate!

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 916
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by PeppaPig » Fri Feb 06, 2015 11:21 pm

robissimo wrote:I have been a staunch GA3 supported and produced some great music with it - especially in the jazz vein. GA4 soimply does not cater for me now, so I am joining the ranks of the disappointed. so I have loaded GA3 back into my newly upgraded Windows 7 / Cubase 7.5 environment (finally let go of XP and Cubase 4.5) and willo have to carry on as before.
25 Euros: http://www.steinberg.net/en/products/so ... Essentials
Cubase Pro 10.00.40, 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, Adam T5V, Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Behringer ADA8200, Joe Meek AC3, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 860 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67 (cheap valve U67 clone), Heil PR20&PR22, Behringer Mic2200 used for reamping with a bit of nastiness!

Jblob
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Ilok 2

Post by Jblob » Tue Feb 10, 2015 5:03 am

monsterjazzlicks wrote:
Jblob wrote:does anyone know of a good vst compressor i can use for cubase 7 AND iLok 2 compatible?
Might be better off posting this in a more relevant thread mate!
ahhhh mate.... not very constructive help there! see how many times I've posted???
wheres your manners? :twisted:
MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015) 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 8Gb ram 512Gb SSD RME fireface UCX Rode K2 Rode M3 UA Solo 610 casio usb midi keyboard martin OM28V Cubase Elements 9

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Ilok 2

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Tue Feb 10, 2015 4:53 pm

Jbob,
Jblob wrote:ahhhh mate.... not very constructive help there! see how many times I've posted??? wheres your manners? :twisted:
I was simply suggesting you may obtain an answer more quickly by re-posting the questions elsewhere. This was based on personal experience because I have made the very same mistake myself and likewise members responded similarly. It was supposed to be a pointer but interpret it how you might.

I have no idea as to how many threads you have started? And I do not see why/how this is at all relevant?

Paul

Jblob
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2015 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by Jblob » Thu Feb 12, 2015 1:07 pm

just pointing out Im only new to the forum as you were once. seemed as though you were doing the whole newb thing on me, anyway thanks for elaborating....
i shall move on then
cheers
MacBook Pro (Retina, 13-inch, Early 2015) 2.7 GHz Intel Core i5 8Gb ram 512Gb SSD RME fireface UCX Rode K2 Rode M3 UA Solo 610 casio usb midi keyboard martin OM28V Cubase Elements 9

User avatar
AndrasFL
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:05 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by AndrasFL » Sun Mar 22, 2015 8:38 pm

monsterjazzlicks wrote:Hi,

Just to say I made some more purchases this week for my recent EZD2. The salesman Josh phoned me (UK) from the US to offer advice and pre-sales support. What a superb service indeed!

Anyway, I have ordered the two MONSTER MIDI packs (FILLS and ODD METERS), and also the CLASSIC EX and BLUES EX.

Have a nice little collection now to be going on with for a year or two...

I wanted to ask please, I have consequently now downloaded FIVE out of SIX of the "MIDI PACK 6" (Activation Codes) I purchased recently. Do you know if there is a TIME LIMIT (eg 28 x days) for making/downloading your choices? Or does the download time remain open?

Ta,

Paul
How are things getting along? Are you happy with your choice?
I'm pretty much leaning towards EZ-drummer 2 now. I've found tap2find to be a tremendous time saver.
I wish Groove agent 4 had that.

fransmo
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2014 8:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by fransmo » Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:06 pm

I totally agree with the posts above on GA as having lost it´s way. And sadly so too as GA 2 and 3 were quite usable even if the samples and sound quality could have been better. It seems sad that Steinberg, who in Cubase has such a good and creative friendly concept that really makes it easy to go with the creative flow in your music making, seems stuck on the teenage techno thing. They have it in their hands to do something really good, but no! There appears to be something wrong in the leadership of Steinberg, sadly.

I just want to say, when talking about competitors as EZ drummer and such. EZ is all rightish, but those of you who have the chance. Try Digidesign /Avid´s "Strike2" and you´ll find you´re suddenly in a totally different league. The sound samples makes you wake up and wonder what you´ve been doing all the time. Makes you think you´ve never heard a professional drum sampler/plugin before. Of course it is limited to work in the protools environment! It´s just miles of difference in terms of sound quality. That is what one would wish GA4 to be in the VST environment but sadly no!
(As a footnote I´d like to add too that my experiences of testing the plain audio signal of ProTools, Logic and Cubase, nothing beats ProTools in terms of naturalness, headroom, breathing and cleanness) Logic and Cubase are far behind, still after all these years! Doesn´t differ much, but it differs. And it might just be that difference that makes all the difference to your tracks! OR not, the Cubase sound also works in many contexts, but it´s different)

I often defend Steinberg for it´s user friendliness in relation to the other DAW´s, but I cannot do that for the GA4 plug. I think it time Steinberg takes a real think through on what they are doing. It makes you just so sad to see it fall of the ladder...

When will Steinberg see the diamond they hold in their hand...?
Last edited by fransmo on Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Sun Mar 22, 2015 11:06 pm

Hello Andra,

Well, I got it all installed on both my Win7 and Win8.1 in January. It took a long time to get all of the stuff downloaded plus apply all the necessary UPDATES. Anyway, totally unrelated, during February after much debate and trying various solutions, it became apparent that I needed to get both of my PC's RE-FORMATTED. So when I got them back a couple of weeks ago they have obviously both been stripped down! Now I have to RE-INSTALL all of the EzD2 software again which is a total PITA! But worse than that, my bloody Steinberg DONGLE cracked and so I can't complete my Cubase INSTALLATIONS!

So, a really bad start to the year computer-wise you might agree!

However, I have watched tons of You Tube tutorial on the EzD2 and also I got the whole USER GUIDE printed out from my local printing store (I think it cost just over 5 quid).

Hopefully I will be back up and running soon and able to offer you more feedback.

Best,

Paul

User avatar
AndrasFL
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 11:05 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by AndrasFL » Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:40 pm

Hey Paul.
That is horrible.
I hope that everything is going to be alright soon.
Thanks for your answer and good luck.
Kindly
Andras

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Mon Mar 23, 2015 8:44 pm

Hi Andras,

Just building it all back up right now. Yes, it's a complete drag dude!

The main issue though is the damn DONGLE which has thrown a spanner in the works.

But luckily I will still be able to install and practice using EzD2 without having any Cubase facility.

Ta,

Paul

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 916
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by PeppaPig » Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:31 am

I have most of the NI drums stuff 50s,60s,70s, Drumlab, Studio Drummer and Battery 4 and although the samples sound fantastic played on their own I've found my Groove Agent 3 based songs mix easier and the drums sit better in the mix. I've had some cracking results with Groove Agent (the original) and GA3. I can't say I've used GA4 much - more out of lack of time to learn it than anything else. In the same way I LOVE The Grand - I've got most of the NI piano samplers that are supposedly miles better but my old creaky (original) The Grand is my first choice piano - it cuts through like no other piano I've got - especially for bass reinforcement. I tried the Grand 3 and didn't like it!

I do agree though that the new interface is a problem - when I want to get some basic drums down fast I still go to GA3. Steinberg are clearly trying to complete with NI Battery and forgot that some people actually like the old interface and when you're tracking demos or sketching ideas GA 1-3 is superb.
Cubase Pro 10.00.40, 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, Adam T5V, Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Behringer ADA8200, Joe Meek AC3, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 860 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67 (cheap valve U67 clone), Heil PR20&PR22, Behringer Mic2200 used for reamping with a bit of nastiness!

User avatar
monsterjazzlicks
Senior Member
Posts: 1412
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2011 1:02 am
Location: Wirral
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by monsterjazzlicks » Tue Mar 24, 2015 12:36 am

Hi,
PeppaPig wrote:I do agree though that the new interface is a problem - when I want to get some basic drums down fast I still go to GA3. Steinberg are clearly trying to complete with NI Battery and forgot that some people actually like the old interface and when you're tracking demos or sketching ideas GA 1-3 is superb.
I still intend on using GA3 for (as you say) sketching ideas etc.

I don't have any experience with the NI Battery products though.

Ta,

Paul

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by J L Bowie » Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:46 am

fransmo wrote: I just want to say, when talking about competitors as EZ drummer and such. EZ is all rightish, but those of you who have the chance. Try Digidesign /Avid´s "Strike2" and you´ll find you´re suddenly in a totally different league. The sound samples makes you wake up and wonder what you´ve been doing all the time. Makes you think you´ve never heard a professional drum sampler/plugin before. Of course it is limited to work in the protools environment! It´s just miles of difference in terms of sound quality. That is what one would wish GA4 to be in the VST environment but sadly no!
Air Music Technology's Strike 2 is indeed available in VST form for Cubase, and certainly looks interesting enough to give it a whirl.
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1903, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -17 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10.5/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1903/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 15, WaveLab Pro 9.5/64 DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

UltimateOutsider
Member
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2012 6:18 am
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by UltimateOutsider » Wed Mar 25, 2015 7:35 pm

I am a Groove Agent 4 newbie. I build all my own kits and I mostly program my own patterns (although I occasionally use something like the NI Drummer or EZDrummer series for things that require a more traditional drum approach), so the Beat Agent portion is where I've spent all of my time in GA 4.

For someone like me, who likes to create bespoke kits and program patterns during composition, Groove Agent 4 is one of the best tools I've used.

While I don't share the complaints of most of the people in this thread (since I don't use the acoustic or percussion agents) I do sympathize. I've used Native Instruments Battery 3 in possibly every single project I've done since I entered the digital age in 2010. Aside from the ugly and occasionally unresponsive UI, it is nearly the perfect drum sampler. When Native Instruments dropped nearly all of Battery's unique kit-building features in the Battery 4 update it felt like a sort of betrayal. Why couldn't they just add new features and improvements without taking away all the things that used to make Battery unique?

Anyway, so far I think Groove Agent 4 is great, but I do seem to be using it in a different way from most of the people in this thread.

EDIT: I'm also curious if some of the folks here who do more jazzy stuff have found any of the Groove Agent expansions useful? I noticed there was a Jazz one out- Jazz Essentials?

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by J L Bowie » Wed Mar 25, 2015 8:22 pm

I've been with Groove Agent since the original GA1 years ago, and it has always been a great tool for composition, as well as, at times, a cool and convenient addition to live studio tracks (Yeah, believe it or not). I still use Groove Agent 3 along with Groove Agent 4 (Two very different beasts, to be sure) and find both tools indispensable in a variety of situations.
In Cubase Pro 8 or Nuendo 6.5, via JBridge, you can't find an easier tool than Groove Agent 3 for laying a quick drum track when inspiration hits, one that can be easily edited or augmented, and further enhanced with Groove Agent 4. I'm not a note for note from scratch drum programmer, but editing a performance by world-class drummers in either of these tools couldn't be more user friendly, at least for me. I think the confusion for many was the expectation that Groove Agent 4 was going to be the next iteration of GA3, when in fact it is a completely different workflow. Unfortunate naming convention, I think, but the tool itself is great when you get used to it, which doesn't take very long, truthfully. It's all subjective, of course, but the critics have this one wrong. Can't please everyone :)
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1903, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -17 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10.5/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1903/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 15, WaveLab Pro 9.5/64 DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

PeppaPig
Member
Posts: 916
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2015 5:39 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by PeppaPig » Wed Mar 25, 2015 11:30 pm

The critics don't have it wrong - work flow is everything, GA + 2 and 3 all worked the same way and people got used to that way of working could produce what they want really fast. I would find something similar to what I want, dump the midi plus a handful of fill I like and then manually edit to taste - still driving GA. GA4 is a completely different product aimed at a different market - it's more like NI Battery 3 than GA, GA2 or GA3. Steinberg should have at least had the decency to retire Grove Agent if they didn't want to continue the product as it stood and call GA4 something else - it's not the same VSTi. I do own GA4 and am struggling to find any genuine reason why it's better than GA4 SE supplied with Cubase. If it's just kits then I got plenty of samples I could have used to build up new kits with SE.
Cubase Pro 10.00.40, 9.5, Pro9.0.20. WaveLab 9 EL. UA Apollo Quad FW, UA PCI Octo, UA Satelite Quad, Adam T5V, Golden Audio pre73 DLX, Behringer ADA8200, Joe Meek AC3, Intel i7 6850x@4.2Ghz (6C/12T), Asus x99 Deluxe II, AMD 6450 HD, Windows 10 Pro, Samsung 860 and 850 SSDs, 64Gb RAM - Melodyne Studio, Komplete ultimate 11, Halion 6, GA,GA2,GA3,GA4 (+sp), OZ6, OZ7, OZ8 adv, Neutron Adv, BFD3, SoundToys rack, Panorama P1, M-Audio Oxygen, Yamaha YPP55 - outboard: PRO VLAII, Digitech Time machine RDS4000, 1950s Ferrograph Series 5, Mics: AKG C1000S, Rode NT2A and M5 pair, SE2200A, SE X1R, Fame-VT67 (cheap valve U67 clone), Heil PR20&PR22, Behringer Mic2200 used for reamping with a bit of nastiness!

User avatar
C.LYDE101
Member
Posts: 203
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 12:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Groove Agent has lost it's way

Post by C.LYDE101 » Sun Mar 29, 2015 1:08 pm

I'm curious - did people here try the demo before shelling out for the full version? I tried the demo - realised what it is and what its not, uninstalled and haven't look back since...

For those enjoying GA4 - excellent , more power to you...
For those that bought without checking it out 1st, and are now regretting the purchase... mmm tough tackie?
The objective of good design, whether products or services, is to …satisfy customers by meeting their actual or anticipated needs and expectations.

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: andy1324 and 0 guests