[SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Tue Jun 16, 2015 1:26 pm

cmaffia wrote:
ggc wrote:
cmaffia wrote: the drawbacks (if any) in doing this change?
Smooth sailing in cubase:p
I get your response but it doesn't answer the question. Others already have "smooth sailing" without this suggested registry change. Could someone from Steinberg please comment? If your offloading graphic processing from GPU to CPU, something's obviously impacted..
What is your issue specifically?

Seraglio
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Seraglio » Tue Jun 16, 2015 2:59 pm

peakae wrote:So you simply are transferring the graphics calculations from GPU to CPU.
So that's what this does?
I ain't got no dedicated graphics board, but instead Intel HD 5000 integrated graphics (on PC). It's using using the CPU and chipset together as GPU. Could that explain why I don't experience much improvement from this?
Steinberg user since 1984. Left, and tried many other DAWs for 3 years. Just got back on Cubase to try its limits in comparison. PC/Win8.1 custom build.

dNET
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by dNET » Tue Jun 16, 2015 6:03 pm

I was skeptical but this actually works for me. Projects close really quick without crashing! Initial load time is still pretty slow but it's an improvement.
Win 7 + Cubase 9.5 Pro

User avatar
cmaffia
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 4:38 pm
Location: Queens, New York
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by cmaffia » Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:15 pm

ggc wrote:
What is your issue specifically?
I'm trying to figure out if this is a solution or a band-aid? What's the impact from shifting processing from GPU to CPU? Does this cause OTHER performance issues being that you are now taxing the CPU more? This might fix one problem but have other unintended consequences.
Last edited by cmaffia on Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
2 Cascaded Tascam DM3200's - IF-FW/DMMKII - IF-AN/DM - Tascam DA-3000 Mastering Recorder - Apogee Rosetta 200 - Cubase 9.0.30 - Sweetwater Creation Station 400 - i7-3770, 3.4GHz Quad Core - 8GB RAM - Windows 7 & 10 Home - UAD-2 Solo - UAD-2 Duo - Steinberg CC121 - 2 x Frontier Tranzport - Wavelab 9 32/64-Bit

Bandcamp: The Sweats
Check out The Bastudio

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Tue Jun 16, 2015 8:23 pm

My personal opionion?
Its a bandaid and a solution..
No drain of cpu for audio resources on my side... Only improvements so far..
(Cubase doesnt really need 3d super visual fx to run smoothly)

But check it out for youself.. If you dont like it, its easy to reverse by deleting the registry entry again..;)

Good luck and rock on:)

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by orchetect » Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:41 am

estrica2000 wrote:i 've done: defaults write com.cubase.common GraphicsAcceleration 0
seems surprinsigly good.. could any one on OSX try this on terminal:

defaults read com.cubase.common GraphicsAcceleration


what value is outputed? it will just read and so no change will happen
It outputs:

Code: Select all

The domain/default pair of (com.cubase.common, GraphicsAcceleration) does not exist
The same error message comes up when reading the fabfilter defaults too (I have have fabfilter plugins installed) so I guess this is expected. I'll apply the setting, reboot, and see if Cubase changes bevior at all.

cmaffia wrote:Does this cause OTHER performance issues being that you are now taxing the CPU more? This might fix one problem but have other unintended consequences.
That's the first question I thought - I guess time will tell.
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

barryfell
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by barryfell » Fri Jun 19, 2015 2:52 pm

A repair install of Cubase fixed all my crash on exit issues.
Windows 10 / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 530
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by orchetect » Fri Jun 19, 2015 6:41 pm

I'm not sure this graphics tweak is making any real difference for me. I have noticed that periodically, Cubase and all audio will halt for a split second then resume. Almost like the graphics layer is choking and trying to process something and interrupting the audio stream. That's just my suspicion.
Steffan Andrews | Composer for Film/TV | Custom iPad control surface developer | website | imdb
DAW: Mac Pro 6,1 (trashcan) 3.5GHz 6-core 64GB RAM, 4TB SSD, macOS 10.13.6, Cubase 10.0.30 rc3, Cubase 10.5.0 a2, Dorico 2.1
Converters/Monitoring: UA Apollo Duo Thunderbolt x 2, Apollo 16 Thunderbolt, Focal Twin6/Sub6
Gear: Vertigo VSM-2, Pultec EQM-1S3 pair, Manley Massive Passive, Neve Portico II Master Buss Processor, Manley ELOP, Manley Nu Mu, API 2500, Smart C2, Dangerous Compressor, Millennia STT-1 & HV-3C, Aurora GTQ2 x 2, Manley Core, Neumann M149 / U87ai / TLM170R pair / KM184 mt, Schoeps CMC64 stereo pair, Gefell UM70S, AT5040 & AT5045, Yamaha CP33, 5 iPads running custom DAW control surface software

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Fri Jun 19, 2015 6:51 pm

orchetect wrote:Cubase and all audio will halt for a split second then resume. Almost like the graphics layer is choking and trying to process something and interrupting the audio stream.
This has been happening to me with cubase for the last couple of versions... I ignore it nowadays... (Whenever i add a new vst)

Mikael
Junior Member
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Mikael » Sat Jun 20, 2015 1:55 pm

Thank you so much for this post.

I never had Cubase crashing on me. However, I was fighting ASIO Spikes into the red and occasional crackles for years.

I added the registry entry as suggested onto my Cubase8 Folder, and the ASIO Spikes are - gone! I observe this improvement on my Cubase 8.0.20 Workstation, as well as, on my Cubase 7.5 machine.

I am happy.

regards, and thank you!
Mikael
SW: C 9.5 /64 & Wavelab 9 on W10/64
DAW 1: DA-X Extreme Haswell-E Xeon E5-2680V3 12-core workstation
DAW 2: Dell Precision T5500 2 x Xeon X5690 12-core workstation
Audio: 4 x rme HDSPe / Multiface II, 3 x Octamic II, 1 x rme Fireface UC
Surface: 3 x Avid MC Mix, 1 x MC Transport
Plugins: Audioease, Lexicon, Neve Portico, Yamaha Vintage, SlateDigital, Izotope, Pianoteq etc.

Paulwr
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2013 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Paulwr » Sat Jun 20, 2015 6:05 pm

Looks like my spikes are handled here. Also quicker starting the program and loading projects.
Paul
Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 10 | DAW 3770k i7 | 3 pc slaves| Fireface 800 | VE Pro 5
http://www.MusicScapes.net

barryfell
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by barryfell » Sun Jun 21, 2015 6:21 am

How are people establishing which VSTs are causing problems? Is there a crashlog somewhere which tells you?

I'm getting occasional freezes, usually which require a hard reset which is very annoying.
Windows 10 / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64

Seraglio
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Fri Jun 05, 2015 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Seraglio » Mon Jun 22, 2015 11:06 pm

orchetect wrote:I'm not sure this graphics tweak is making any real difference for me. I have noticed that periodically, Cubase and all audio will halt for a split second then resume. Almost like the graphics layer is choking and trying to process something and interrupting the audio stream. That's just my suspicion.
Cubase has always done that. It's been graphic oversensitive for over a decade. Doesn't have anything to do with this registry hack.

But I'm not surprised to hear you react with great concern when Cubase freezes up like that. The user freezes up the same way, one's mind goes blank. This does actually cause occasional crashes 'cause sometimes cubase doesn't recover from it. So you never really get used to it.
Steinberg user since 1984. Left, and tried many other DAWs for 3 years. Just got back on Cubase to try its limits in comparison. PC/Win8.1 custom build.

beerbong
Member
Posts: 796
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by beerbong » Tue Jun 23, 2015 1:17 am

i tried this but it had no effect for c75 remaining open after shutdown.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by SteelyDani » Wed Jun 24, 2015 7:32 pm

I applied the fix to the Cubase 8 registry folder and the spikes have completely disappeared. The program closes much quicker. Incredible!!!!! :shock:
http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3034
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by peakae » Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:40 pm

I tried it on my perfectly good working system, just to test if it makes a difference. I got exactly the same performance, makes me wonder if all this GPU rendering is actually worth the effort.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Thu Jun 25, 2015 1:13 pm

Good question;)

dNET
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by dNET » Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:00 pm

I spoke too soon. On my latest project I'm getting my usual crash on exit....
Win 7 + Cubase 9.5 Pro

User avatar
ggc
Senior Member
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Feb 17, 2011 6:17 am

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by ggc » Thu Jun 25, 2015 6:15 pm

Sorry to hear that...

MaestroMetro7
Junior Member
Posts: 183
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2012 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by MaestroMetro7 » Sat Jul 04, 2015 1:04 pm

BooYAH!!! I've been plagued with the crash on exits and other related symptoms for months. Even opened a ticket with support and had temporary intermittent resolve for the problem after the recommended upgrade to 8.0.20 Build 468

In my case, support had diagnosed the issue to be with some third party plug-ins after reviewing my crash dump logs, which was very likely I suppose.

But after stumbling across this post and applying the fix (running Mac) my woes are over. So great to exit without a brutal crash afterwards. Seems to be a bit more responsive as well now.

Thanks ggc!!!

Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Keith99 » Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:05 pm

Tried this fix and it has speeded up a lot of things like the opening of Ozone 6 that used to take ages. Only downside is that when exporting audio I now do not get a percentage bar moving - it works but stays at 0%

barryfell
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by barryfell » Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:14 pm

Keith99 wrote:Tried this fix and it has speeded up a lot of things like the opening of Ozone 6 that used to take ages. Only downside is that when exporting audio I now do not get a percentage bar moving - it works but stays at 0%
I haven't used this method the stop crashy VSTs but I sometimes experience the bug of the export percentage bar not moving, so I think it's unrelated.
Windows 10 / Cubase Pro 9.5 x64

Keith99
Member
Posts: 409
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 11:16 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by Keith99 » Sat Jul 04, 2015 10:27 pm

It could be but I have never experienced it prior to this, I guess I can easily test

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1295
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by matjones » Sun Jul 05, 2015 4:58 pm

I had this issue constantly on larger projects in C7.5 and am getting it intermittently in C8 also....

Possibly worth people listing what plugins they're running to try and narrow it down a bit?

Often, but not always, when it happens here, my UAD2 cards won't 'flush' properly according to the uad2 monitor, i have a feeling though that at least in my case Slate VMR & VTM have something to do with it...it does seem to be a little better if i use just the VST3 versions though........ iLok related?

Only bit of info i've been able to gather after a hang on exit here is this.....
C8 hang on close.JPG
(67.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 10.0.40 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ 3.7GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, Asus RX 570, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Pod X3 Pro, Slate VCC/VTM/Trigger etc, SoundToys 5, Waves 10, HALion 6, The Grand 3, BFD3 (+ Expansions), WL9.5, Melodyne Studio 4, Arturia VC7, Relab LX480, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG,Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

umfufu
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED]crash on exit-Peaks-crashy vsts? Read this!)

Post by umfufu » Tue Jul 07, 2015 5:30 am

holy crap this appeared to have worked for me!
at least after my first few loads/quits... AMAZING!
iMacPro 10 Cores, 64 Gigs Ram. High Sierra 10.13.6. CubasePro 10 and Nuendo 8 (latests). Universal Audio Interfaces.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests