Any update in the making?

All topics on Retrologue
Post Reply
Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Tue May 12, 2015 3:48 pm

Just wondering because the recent version seems to be years old. It already is a very good synth, but there are improvements I could think of, like:

- it tends to be noisy. When Level is set to about 0 or slightly more, the effects introduce a lot of unwanted noise (even with resonance set to zero, which is mentioned in the manual). But even when I reduce Level to like -6db, chords in certain octaves have an unpleasant noise to them, although the sound is actually not loud enough in my DAW.
- it should have a control to set the oscillators' phase to a fixed point of the wave (whatever the punchiest is), currently they seem to be free-running, which leads to inconsistent attack sounds and reduces Retrologue's suitability for percussion and other "attack sounds".
- a basic EQ (e.g. low and high like on a stereo, plus one parametric band with q for stressing any frequency one wishes)
- an additional independent envelope for pitch modulation or noise (Attack and Decay would do I suppose)
- a delay knob for the LFO's
- sine as sub-oscillator waveform (so far I often use one of the main oscillators as a sub for that reason, which of course is not ideal)

I would really appreciate an update to this wonderful understatement synth :)

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Mon May 18, 2015 3:31 pm

Is this board dead? So what's the point of it? Making sure potential customers spend their money elsewhere? :P

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Mon May 18, 2015 9:27 pm

I noticed today that the irritating noise seems to happen only when I use both oscillators and mostly when playing chords on the 3rd and 4th octaves. It has nothing to do with level or volume, and as soon as I switch off one oscillator, the sound is clear, even if I turn up the volume.
It seems to be about the interaction of the two oscillators when using semitone and fine detune.
Is it a bug? That is really the major issue that keeps me from buying it as it sounds really awful...

Bacizone
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Bacizone » Tue Jun 16, 2015 9:43 am

These are all valid requests... update? ;)

I did not notice the noise at all.

I'd add an Analog Chorus / Ensemble and Phaser effect as well to improve the retro vibe.

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Thu Jun 25, 2015 12:39 pm

Does that mean you can reproduce the noise as well now or not?

I first thought it might have to do with the sampling rate of my DAW, but that was not the case...

Ensemble would be nice, yes, like on old Korg synths.

mpayne0
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:07 pm
Location: Brooklyn
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by mpayne0 » Tue Jun 30, 2015 2:55 pm

I almost forgot I had Retrologue!

Ever since I got TALs Juno, it just kinda works so well.
But one thing I remember was that Retrologue had a zippery unsmooth filter curve response.
I may remember some other niggles that you allude to... but it has been awhile. Having too many synths is not always good LOL

Bacizone
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Bacizone » Tue Jul 07, 2015 10:20 pm

Kuhihoepackumunga wrote:Does that mean you can reproduce the noise as well now or not?
No, I can not reporduce this problem.

Also, I did not notice any serious zipper stepping behaviour on Retrolouge. It is properly smoothed.
Can you show me a sound example?

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Fri Jul 10, 2015 3:46 pm

No, unfortunately I can't because the demo has expired :P

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Wed Dec 02, 2015 5:17 pm

Seems there is a new version now, I wonder if the noise is gone.
They seem to have implemented some of the things suggested in this thread, which is really cool :) Thank you, Steinberg :)

But USB eLicenser? Really?

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Wed Dec 02, 2015 8:06 pm

Trying the v2 demo, very very good :)

Strange. As I increase amp env vel sensitivity in mono mode with trigger mode set to resume, there is an increasingly loud blip sound, regardless of attack time. When amp env vel sensitivity is set to zero, there is no blip at all.

Teksonik
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Teksonik » Wed Dec 02, 2015 10:44 pm

Kuhihoepackumunga wrote:But USB eLicenser? Really?
When you select the Upgrade option on the Buy page the "Additional USB E-Licenser Required" part goes away.

So can anyone please clarify. If you upgrade from Retrologue version 1 to version 2 can you keep using the soft e-licenser or do you have to purchase a hardware USB dongle ?

It appears that if you buy Retrologue version 2 new a USB dongle is required. Check the Buy page to see what I mean when selecting the new/upgrade options.

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Fri Dec 04, 2015 11:53 am

Hi all,

The specs on the shop page had to be corrected. Retrologue 2 is as the first version protected by the soft eLicenser. No USB dongle is needed.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:50 pm

Thanks for clarifying.

Teksonik
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Teksonik » Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:19 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:Hi all,

The specs on the shop page had to be corrected. Retrologue 2 is as the first version protected by the soft eLicenser. No USB dongle is needed.
Thank you for clarifying that Matthias. I have the soft e-licenser and Retrologue version1 installed on this computer which is my old studio computer. Would I be able to install the soft e-licenser and Retrologue version 2 upgrade on my new studio computer without an issue ?

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 696
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Matthias Quellmann » Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:29 pm

Teksonik wrote: Thank you for clarifying that Matthias. I have the soft e-licenser and Retrologue version1 installed on this computer which is my old studio computer. Would I be able to install the soft e-licenser and Retrologue version 2 upgrade on my new studio computer without an issue ?
The upgrade requires the Retrologue 1 licence installed in the eLicenser Center on your new system since the license will be replaced.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Fri Dec 04, 2015 3:57 pm

There is a thread on KVR where some users describe certain issues regarding the user interface (waveform selection) and also the sound (weak, lacks bottom, strange saw waveform)...
http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic ... 5#p6318365

Teksonik
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Teksonik » Fri Dec 04, 2015 7:31 pm

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
Teksonik wrote: Thank you for clarifying that Matthias. I have the soft e-licenser and Retrologue version1 installed on this computer which is my old studio computer. Would I be able to install the soft e-licenser and Retrologue version 2 upgrade on my new studio computer without an issue ?
The upgrade requires the Retrologue 1 licence installed in the eLicenser Center on your new system since the license will be replaced.
Ok thanks. Sorry to be thick. So I would install the elicenser on my new system, then install Retrologue version 1 then install the upgrade to version 2 ? Is that correct ? Will I have to deactivate my version 1 license at the "My Steinberg" page first ?

Bacizone
Member
Posts: 326
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Bacizone » Sat Dec 05, 2015 8:08 pm

Kuhihoepackumunga wrote:There is a thread on KVR where some users describe certain issues regarding the user interface (waveform selection) and also the sound (weak, lacks bottom, strange saw waveform)...
http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic ... 5#p6318365
They should check the manual about Filter KeyCenter and Keyfollow settings...

Kuhihoepackumunga
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 3:15 pm

Re: Any update in the making?

Post by Kuhihoepackumunga » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:36 pm

Does it have a scalable user interface by now? Last time I checked it was rather small on a big monitor, and the graphics quality was mediocre.

Post Reply

Return to “Retrologue”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest