Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
Locked
noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by noiseboyuk »

Disabled tracks has the potential to be transformative to how we work. Many professional composers use VE Pro currently to handle the huge number of available instruments, but already some are switching at least partly to disabled tracks instead as a preferable, more efficient and cleaner method of working. There are some ongoing bug issues regarding restoring these tracks' full information (midi in, quick controls etc) - 8.0.30 has improved, though not fixed these issues. Meanwhile I have a proposal for some enhancements that would really speed up the workflow further to make the most of the feature.

1. Auto-Enable on click

A preference to auto-enable any disabled track when clicking on the track in the project window.

2. Background enabling

Make the enabling happen as a background process, so work can continue uninterrupted. Some instant graphical feedback would be appreciated as this is instigated.

3. Show Disabled Tracks toggle

A specific toggle between any regular configuration with all disabled tracks visible, and enabled-tracks only. Ideally this wouldn't be a specific workspace configuration but a separate toggle that will work with any of the existing workspaces.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
jonwright
Junior Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 4:33 pm
Location: London
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by jonwright »

A big fat +1 to all of this.
www.jonathanwrightmusic.com
Cubase 10.5.20, macOS 10.15.6

JT3Jon
Member
Posts: 366
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 9:16 am
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by JT3Jon »

+1 to all this from me as well. Would love to see Cubase advance in this area for those of us who use large templates.
Cubase 9.5.41 OS10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.33Ghz, 64GB RAM, UA Apollo

UnderTow
New Member
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 12:04 am
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by UnderTow »

Some nice suggestions you have!

Here is another suggestion:

Don't hide all the information in disabled tracks. I often want to quickly check which inserts I have used on a track, which FX sends are used or where the track is routed to. Now I have to enable the track to see this information. I really see no reason to hide the information. Just make it all dark grey but don't hide it!

Alistair
Last edited by UnderTow on Fri Oct 09, 2015 4:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

a4000
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 2:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by a4000 »

+1

austinhaynesmusic
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2014 11:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by austinhaynesmusic »

Bump! +1

ptsmith
New Member
Posts: 15
Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2013 3:46 am
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by ptsmith »

Another +1!

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 815
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by Home Studio 87 »

another : the possibilty to disable/enable from folder track all the track Inside it.
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 726
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by noiseboyuk »

Nothing implemented in 8.5 - please could these be prioritised for future updates?
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by orchetect »

On top of fixing the disable/enable bugs (ie: Quick Controls not reinstating, sometimes track MIDI Input port isn't restored, Expression Map assignments are lost, etc. STILL IN 8.5.20) -

I'd like Visibility Agents in the project window to allow for Disabled/Enabled Tracks. ie: Making an agent that shows only enabled tracks or only disabled tracks. This would be a huge time saver.
Last edited by orchetect on Fri Oct 21, 2016 7:27 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

roel
Member
Posts: 801
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by roel »

+1

kind regards,
R.
Cubase 10.5, vienna ensemble pro 5,
Master:laptop Clevo, P771zm, i7 4790S, 16 gig, 2xSSD samsung 840pro/evo, 2x Samsung SSD850 +touch screen
Slave: none, will probably never be replaced because latest processors are powerfull enough
Sound: Motu Ultralite MKIII (usb), Focusrite 18i20, behringer 16 ch mixer
control: Synergy, novation zero SL
vsti: Steinberg, East West, Vienna, Native Instruments, Spectrasonics and a lot of others
hardware: S760, CD3000xl, SY77, studiologic 990, alesis Q88,

Kilgurt
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 9:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by Kilgurt »

Hide/show disabled folder tracks (with all tracks in it) as an additional feature would be very handsome!
C 10.5 / Nuendo 10 / WL - Win 10 i7-6590x -64 gb, Dante audio PCI / Rednet

User avatar
islandmusicpro
Member
Posts: 829
Joined: Wed May 29, 2013 6:41 pm
Location: Rotenburg an der Fulda, Germany
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by islandmusicpro »

+1 to all!
I'm currently in the Rack Instruments camp, but would consider to switch if all of this would work reliably!

B.
Cubase Pro 10.5, Windows 10
Sibelius 7.5.1, Dorico Pro 3.5.10
http://www.yourmusic.pro

User avatar
Muziksculp
Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:08 am
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by Muziksculp »

+1

This would be so helpful !

Would be great to see these features in a future Cubase Pro 8.5 update, or if not, please make sure they show up in Cubase Pro 9 :)
Cubase Pro 9 , Groove Agent 4, Halion 6, Halion Sonic 3, Padshop Pro, RND Portico EQ & Compressor, Wavelab Pro 9, The Grand 3, Antelope Audio Goliath, Antelope Audio Pure2., Windows 8.1 Pro

nicoroy123
Junior Member
Posts: 95
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by nicoroy123 »

+1 To all this!
In fact, in the Visibily Panel on the left of the project windows (behind Inspector), we should see another option to

-Show Only Enabled Tracks, or
-Hide Disabled Track...

That would be to damn perfect!
-Cubase Pro 10.5.20 on Win10 x64 1909
-CPU Intel i7-6850K
-MB Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
-RAM 32GB
-SSD drives for all samples, apps and OS

dbh
Junior Member
Posts: 105
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 7:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by dbh »

+1

Please also add to Project Logical Editor so property "Is Disabled" is available to choose (in a similar way to "Is Hidden")

mozart
Member
Posts: 354
Joined: Wed Dec 29, 2010 11:36 am
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by mozart »

+10000!
Music for Film and TV

www.matthewmooremusic.co.uk

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by ZeroZero »

+1. A quick way to show hidden disabled tracks too please. For orchestrators ther is often an initialization bar so hiding/revealing empty tracks does not work.

Steinberg, please look at the way Orchetrators have to work with huge templates in order to be able to work with different VST orchestration packages - VSL, PLay Kontakt. There must be better workflows... hopefully when Dorico integrates
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

C-Wave
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2016 9:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabled tracks - workflow enchancements

Post by C-Wave »

+1

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests