Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post by kimbo72 » Mon Oct 19, 2015 1:06 am

Hi there,

I there anybody knows how to use a Yamaha PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?
So i can use different instruments from my Yamaha in different tracks in Cubase 8.

I hope this is possible.

Regards Kimbo.
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18146
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Oct 19, 2015 7:57 am

Hi,

Open Devices > MIDI Device Manager. CLick to Install Device. Select Yamaha PSR-S970, and click OK. Back, in the MIDI Device Manager, select the MIDI Output (at the bottom of the window).

Add a MIDI track. As an Output, select Yamaha PSR-S970. MIDI Channel is set to 1. In the Program Selector, you can select the program (sound) directly. Add another MIDI track. Make sure, the output is set to Yamaha again (it should by automatically). Make sure, the MIDI Channel is set to 2 (it should be automatically).

Appart from MIDI connection, make sure, the Line Out from your Yamaha is connected to the Line In of your sound card. Add a Stereo Audio track, to be able to hear (and record) the audio signal from your Yamaha and mix it with virtual instruments from Cubase.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Hedshaker
Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post by Hedshaker » Mon Oct 19, 2015 1:09 pm

kimbo72 wrote: So i can use different instruments from my Yamaha in different tracks in Cubase 8.
You can only do this if your synth has multiple outputs and your sound card multiple inputs.
Asus P9X79 I7 - 4930K @340GHz, 16 GB Ram. Windows 10. EMU 1820m. Cubase Pro 9.##. UAD quad, UAD Solo PowerCore Element with Access Virus. AN1x, Orbit V2, E-MU Proteous 2000, Novation BassStation Rack, Korg ER-1, Dave Smith Mopho. Yamaha NS-10m studio Monitors.

https://soundcloud.com/dark-blue-man

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18146
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Oct 19, 2015 1:24 pm

If you mean Audio, then it's true. Or you have to record it in real-time track by track.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post by kimbo72 » Tue Oct 20, 2015 1:06 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

Open Devices > MIDI Device Manager. CLick to Install Device. Select Yamaha PSR-S970, and click OK. Back, in the MIDI Device Manager, select the MIDI Output (at the bottom of the window).

Add a MIDI track. As an Output, select Yamaha PSR-S970. MIDI Channel is set to 1. In the Program Selector, you can select the program (sound) directly. Add another MIDI track. Make sure, the output is set to Yamaha again (it should by automatically). Make sure, the MIDI Channel is set to 2 (it should be automatically).

Appart from MIDI connection, make sure, the Line Out from your Yamaha is connected to the Line In of your sound card. Add a Stereo Audio track, to be able to hear (and record) the audio signal from your Yamaha and mix it with virtual instruments from Cubase.
Thanks for you help.
But the S970 is not in the list only the S950
And my Keyboard is not show as Yamaha S970 but as Digital keyboard 1 en 2
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18146
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Oct 20, 2015 2:18 pm

kimbo72 wrote:
Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

Open Devices > MIDI Device Manager. CLick to Install Device. Select Yamaha PSR-S970, and click OK. Back, in the MIDI Device Manager, select the MIDI Output (at the bottom of the window).

Add a MIDI track. As an Output, select Yamaha PSR-S970. MIDI Channel is set to 1. In the Program Selector, you can select the program (sound) directly. Add another MIDI track. Make sure, the output is set to Yamaha again (it should by automatically). Make sure, the MIDI Channel is set to 2 (it should be automatically).

Appart from MIDI connection, make sure, the Line Out from your Yamaha is connected to the Line In of your sound card. Add a Stereo Audio track, to be able to hear (and record) the audio signal from your Yamaha and mix it with virtual instruments from Cubase.
Thanks for you help.
But the S970 is not in the list only the S950
And my Keyboard is not show as Yamaha S970 but as Digital keyboard 1 en 2
Oh, you are right. But insn't it the same sound set? Then you can use it.

As an MIDI Out, use the Digital Keyboard 1 then.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
kimbo72
Junior Member
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Jan 29, 2015 6:11 pm
Location: Rotterdam
Contact:

Re: Connect a PSR-S970 to Cubase 8?

Post by kimbo72 » Tue Oct 20, 2015 5:19 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
kimbo72 wrote:
Martin.Jirsak wrote:Hi,

Oh, you are right. But insn't it the same sound set? Then you can use it.

As an MIDI Out, use the Digital Keyboard 1 then.
Ok its working now.
Just put off some settings in the keyboard and it's works fine :D
Im so happy with you help, many thanks!
Yamaha PSR-S970, Akai touch, NI komplete kontrol 61, Yamaha EZ-220.
Steinberg: Cubase 9, Halion 5, Halionsonic 2, Groove agent 4, Padshop pro, Hypnotic dance, Dark planet and Triebwerk.
Desktop I7 6950, 16 GB ram,MSI GTX 1080

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Oggfish and 13 guests