Hypersonic 2 - Where to buy?

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Hypersonic 2 - Where to buy?

Post by Promedia » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:29 pm

Hi guys,

I'm currently forced to use a 'borrowed' version of Hypersonic 2, try as I might I can't seem to find a legitimate version anywhere, I know HS2 has been discontinued for some time, I was wondering if anyone can recommend a way to get hold of a legitimate version?

Kind regards,

George Wood
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2 - Where to buy?

Post by Romantique Tp » Tue Nov 03, 2015 9:55 pm

The standalone version of Halion Sonic 2 should come with a Hypersonic 2 license. Halion Sonic tends to sound way better overall but the sounds in Hypersonic are still useful for layering.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2 - Where to buy?

Post by Promedia » Wed Nov 04, 2015 1:50 am

Hi there,

Thanks for the speedy reply, I had no idea HALionSonic 2 had taken over from HS2; I recently bought Elements 8 which comes with HALionSonic 2 SE, I've not had an opportunity to dig too deeply, but I'm guessing it'll be a cut-down version?

All I need now is a spare £184!

Kind regards,

George Wood
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2 - Where to buy?

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Nov 04, 2015 9:57 am

Yes, the Halion Sonic 2 SE that comes with any version of Cubase is a cut-down version of Halion Sonic 2.

The Cubase Pro version has more sounds than Cubase Artist, and that has more sounds than Elements. Cubase Elements has no sounds from the full version of Halion Sonic, while Artist and Pro have a few. Most of the sounds in HS SE2 aren't in HS2.
Last edited by Romantique Tp on Sat Feb 03, 2018 6:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

anilnc
Member
Posts: 225
Joined: Mon Oct 31, 2011 7:35 am
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2 - Where to buy?

Post by anilnc » Wed Sep 07, 2016 4:33 pm

Hi

Sorry for sending a reply after long time. But as I was looking to get a legitimate Hypersonic and couldn't succeed.

I have Halion 5 and Halion sonic 2 license. By going to Steinberg FTP archive downloads, I was able to download and install Halion 3.5. But Hypersonic is simply not available there. I only see the updates of Hypersonic.

I hope there is a way to download it. Many years back I used it in a friend's system and loved it. I miss those tones.

Looking for any help.

Thanks :)
i7 7700k 4.2Ghz, 32GB RAM, MSI GTX 1050 2GB, Windows 10pro x64, Cubase 9.5.1, Cubasis 2, Cubase IC Pro, Halion 5, couple of third party vsts, RME UCX, Panaroma P4, PadKontrol, Nocturn, Triton.

fiddler2007
Member
Posts: 251
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 8:06 am
Contact:

Re: Hypersonic 2 - Where to buy?

Post by fiddler2007 » Sun Jan 22, 2017 1:59 pm

Back then Hypersonic 2 seemed one of the best easy intefaced GM2 synths if you needed one .... I have Halion Sonic 2 as it is included with Halion 5, but both are alot more complicated for general GM2 playback setup. BTW, Hypersonic 2: i've seen it running on a 64 bit system via JBridge converted to 64bit, and would like to get hold of it too ...... F

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests