mono processing Help please

All topics on WaveLab 8 and WaveLab Elements 8
Post Reply
itsmecarl
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:51 pm
Contact:

mono processing Help please

Post by itsmecarl » Sun Jan 10, 2016 2:30 pm

Hi,

I own wl 8.5 and i am finding that i simply cannot make wavelab work for processing mono files.


For example i have a mono .wav recording, i set up a mono send via my ur824 through a analogue processing chain, all i get is horrible distortion and what seems to be a feedback loop, i simply cannot work out what exactly is going on.

i have tried the same thing in cubase 8.5 and it works perfectly however as im editing and processing audio what i want to do will not be viable for me to do in cubase as i have markers etc that i want to preserve.

can someone be of assistance.

to repro
mono audio file 44.1
set up a mono send/recieve in vst audio plugins (asio plugins)
mono send.PNG
mono send receive
(13.05 KiB) Not downloaded yet
and simply play the audio (you get a flam type effect at very low gains and normal gains i get a loud feedback loop)


any help will be appreciated.
using
Version 8.5.31 (build 872) - 64 bit

Thanks

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6952
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by PG » Sun Jan 10, 2016 3:23 pm

If you define 2 send/receive, what is happening?
Philippe

itsmecarl
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by itsmecarl » Mon Jan 11, 2016 12:56 pm

hi pg,

ok i got to the route of the problem but have another.

the solution to my problem, is while cubase takes control of the ur824 wavelab does not.

i defined mix out 2 L, i basically needed to go into my soundcards app and mute all the inputs as they were causing a feedback loop.
mixout2.PNG
mute
(49.69 KiB) Not downloaded yet
is this normal operation or is this a bug with wavelab as the feedback loop was really confusing im not sure if the master output was being sent out of mix 2l along with my defined external gear output?

but now i am finding that the latency compensation is not working properly as all my markers are off after external processing,
markers latency not compensated correctly.PNG
(31.5 KiB) Not downloaded yet
i am using a ur824
ur824.PNG
ur824
(171.7 KiB) Not downloaded yet
is this a known issue? ie the latency compensation with wavelab?

Thanks

itsmecarl
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by itsmecarl » Wed Jan 13, 2016 10:56 am

i've been banging my head against the wall several days now,

is latency compensation broken in wavelab?

can someone chime in, when processing audio with hardware is the resulting audio and if you had any markers etc offset?

pg is this a wavelab issue or a yamaha steinberg ur824 issue , can you please forward this report to the relevant peoples.


Thanks

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6952
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by PG » Wed Jan 13, 2016 11:20 am

On the plugin, there is a manual latency setting. Did you try that? When this is 0, WaveLab tries to guess the latency. Else the latency that is selected is used.
Philippe

itsmecarl
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by itsmecarl » Wed Jan 13, 2016 12:12 pm

hi pg,

i used the auto lateny but that was not accurate as you can see in my screen shots,

please advise as to how i would devise a way to accurately find the actual amount of samples to compensate correctly.

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6952
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by PG » Wed Jan 13, 2016 1:14 pm

You have to test several values.
Philippe

itsmecarl
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by itsmecarl » Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:30 pm

hi pg,

this value will alter depending on analogue processing chain etc,

can you explain why wavelab cannot guess the correct latency value?
is this a bug? a known issue?
or is this specific to my hardware chain?

in cubase im pretty sure you can ping your analogue chain for it to guess more accurately is this option not available in wavelab?

trying to manually find the right figure is not a viable option, time consuming i have been trying for over 1hour and i still have not nailed it etc. which forces me to work in a specific way.

i cant process individual items as usually the start of the file gets chopped off hence why im working with many files and preparing them for outboard processing in a single file.

this is for more sound design work

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6952
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by PG » Wed Jan 13, 2016 2:40 pm

This auto detection has used to work fine. Maybe it is more reliable in Cubase, though.
But generally, you can't expect sample accuracy with this. At least not in WaveLab, and not with analog gear.
Philippe

itsmecarl
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2014 8:51 pm
Contact:

Re: mono processing Help please

Post by itsmecarl » Wed Jan 13, 2016 3:28 pm

thanks for all the help pg,

for wl9 can this be looked at.

also another suggestion can you please show the value wavelab uses while in auto so i can use that value and tweak from there.

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab 8 | WaveLab Elements 8”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests