Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW control

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 7 can be posted here.
Locked
User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW control

Post by MattiasNYC »

Leave off-line plugin window open (do NOT auto-close after processing)

AND

continue to have control over timeline/selection

This request goes back over two and a half years.

Example case study:

I like to denoise offline in many situations simply because my source clips are too numerous to simply setup one denoiser per track. And i'd rather not automate it. Here's what I currently have to do in Nuendo:


1. I select a region to capture noise.
2. I instantiate iZotope RX denoiser, select "learn", hit play.
3. Save as preset.
4. Close plugin
5. Select the region to be denoised.
6. Open iZotope RX again
7. Load the preset.
8. Apply the process and window closes.

If I now want to do it again to a new region with a different noise profile I have to repeat ALL 8 steps!!!

In Pro Tools here's what would happen:

1. Open iZotope RX (audiosuite).
2. Select area that has noise profile.
3. Select "learn", hit play.
4. Select the region to be denoised and hit denoise.

Done. And since the window remains open I can move on to the next region without going back to step one. So instead of 8 steps I'm down to 3.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
Brain
Member
Posts: 276
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 7:55 pm
Location: Dallas
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by Brain »

Yeah!!! What he said !!!!

BUMP
1.
N6.5.40, N6.0.7, WL 8.5.20
3.50gHz i7, Win-7_Pro
RME HDSPe-MADI
Motu Micro-lite
Timebase
Euphonix System-5

2.
N7.0.30, N6.5.40, N6.0.7
2.66 gHz Core2 Quad, XP SP-2
RME HDSP-MADI (primary)
SSL Alphalink MADI-SX, Mixpander-5 (backup)

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by jorisdeman »

First off, BUMP

And to second this request, here is another case-in-point that would illustrate the usefulness of this workflow.
(Next to that PT owners have had this for years..like track versions, this should be one of those things that you just copy without needing to change the functionality SB :)

For certain things (time stretching, pitch shifting, normalising, some offline plugs) I tend to use the audio offline processing mode.

One of my longstanding pet peeves with offline processing is that as soon as the dialog appears, you're locked out of everything else.
Moving locators (that some processes like time stretch use to determine length), selecting different files, changing selection length etc. can't be done without quitting your process, making or tweaking your selection and then using the process again.

This gets boring real quick; and even though assigning key commands to often used processes speeds things up, it's still a pain in the *hits*.

So, suggestion is:
Make offline processing work like Audiosuite in PT; a floating window that processes whatever is selected, and allows you to keep working like normal (much like the Audio Quantize window).
The dialog could have preferences or radio buttons for deciding what happens to processed audio (replace, new file etc)
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by jorisdeman »

loved how it changed *t its* to *hits*...makes no sense..
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

glidator
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2016 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by glidator »

BUMP !!!
I re-recording mixer at France televisions. Today, all the sound editors (dialog and FX) I work with use izotope over 50 % of the time. not to mention Altiverb, denoise... Nuendo is for post ? Right ? offline processing has become essential for post-production, and changed the way of mixing.i use spectral repair every days ! (for deessing, boom noise, click.....) this is the only really important feature missing in Nuendo for pro tools sound editors. (with Cantar conformation and stereo/mono tracks management)
Are you, at least, working on it ?
thanks
Latest Nuendo on various Macs
Nuage 32 faders
AMS-NEVE DFC GEMINI (with Nuendo and Pro Tools)

User avatar
ChrisPolus
Member
Posts: 577
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 9:32 am
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by ChrisPolus »

+1
Handmade Win10 x64 Machine, Intel 6 Core CPU, ASUS Prime Board, 16GB RAM, 1080 GTX
MacBook Pro 15" Late 2016 with Touchbar, latest macOS, 16GB RAM
Latest Nuendo version, Logic Pro X, Reaper, UAD Apollo Duo + Twin MK2 via Thunderbolt

suparill
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 7:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by suparill »

+1
Nuendo7 (W7 MACOS 10.9, 11), Nuage, lots of analog gears (cheaps and not so cheaps)

Oswald Schwander
Member
Posts: 247
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 12:05 pm
Location: Switzerland, Germany
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by Oswald Schwander »

+1
N10 on OSX 10.15 - Fireface UC - BM mini monitor - Artist Control - Arturia Keylab
http://www.schwander-sounddesign.de

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 581
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt »

A big +1!
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4439
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by MattiasNYC »

Here is another scenario where "fixing" this would actually provide yet another benefit elsewhere in the Nuendo app. It would create a possible workaround which would make it possible to do an faster-than-realtime offline loudness measurement of any source not routed to the main mix, which is desirable in some situations:

1. Nuendo currently (as far as I understand it) actually renders a temporary mix and then analyses that mix/file to get loudness data. So step #1 is rendering a mix offline. We can do that ourselves.

2. Mix is imported to appropriate track.

3. Use loudness measuring plugin of choice - click process:

- here is where the current window management just destroys this workaround (as well as other workflows) in that it a) doesn't allow me to choose options in my plugin (iZotope Insight) because my plugin uses a floating window, and Steinberg programmed the plugins to not allow any control outside of the main plugin window when used offline, and b) it automatically closes the plugin window after processing.

- what should happen is that a) control is retained of the DAW in general when opening the plugin offline, which would allow us to pick whatever presets we need, and b) after "applying" the plugin and it is done with its measurement the plugin window would remain open.

So, a three-step process which is clearly more than a one-step process, but at least we'd have a workaround to offline loudness measurement of sources other than the "main mix" output.

The feature request for assignable loudness measurement source is here.
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 509
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by fuzzydude »

+1
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1875
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by mozizo »

+1
generally old functions with outdated workflow that continue to newer versions,should be modernized in many areas of Cubendo and enhance their workflow. it's one of the weaknesses with cubendo.
like the old and slow editing tools. i watch SudioOne3 on youtube and i'm envy of their fast workflow capability in every area of that daw :oops:
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
jorisdeman
Member
Posts: 351
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 8:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by jorisdeman »

Another bump for this, also as it seems offline processing on the Mac is somehwat broken...I seem unable to click on any pop down/preset plug-in menus for quite a few plug-ins, making offline process pretty useless.
Please make this work SB!!!!
Nuendo 10, Mac Os Mojave / Windows 10 | iMac Pro 8 core | X-keys |PT Control | VSLE Pro | UAD Apollo Quad via Thunderbolt | Dual Xeon & i7 Hexacore Slave PC's | G-tech G-Raid drives

www.jorisdeman.com

User avatar
lemix
Member
Posts: 336
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 2:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by lemix »

I can not comment on this using OS 10.11, but on Windows only the Steinberg and the newer VST 3 ones showing on my system when pulling down the offline plugin process menu.
Older, VST 2 plugins are available in the channel insert list.
cheers,
Andrew

W7 pro 64_i7 3930K_16GB_ Nuendo 6.5.4-7.1.30 & PT 12.4------Mac Mini OSX Lion_PT 10.xx-----WXP, Wavelab, Plextor Premium, Hofa DDP
Allen&Heath GS R-24M_ full rack of vintage analog boxes _UAD2_Nugen_iZotope_Melda_Waves_Plugin Alliance_McDSP
1.0_2.0 and 5.1 monitoring

User avatar
Chewy Papadopoulos
Member
Posts: 855
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:37 pm
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Contact:

Re: Leave off-line plugin window open AND continue DAW contr

Post by Chewy Papadopoulos »

lemix wrote:I can not comment on this using OS 10.11, but on Windows only the Steinberg and the newer VST 3 ones showing on my system when pulling down the offline plugin process menu.
Older, VST 2 plugins are available in the channel insert list.

Here on 10.11 they're all showing up just fine.

Chewy
N10x, C8, Cubasis, Halion, UAD-2s (Quad PCI, Satellite & SOLO/Laptop), Fireface 800, UR-22, MC Control, MacPro 12 core 3.46GHz, 64 Gigs RAM OS 10.14.4; MacBook Pro 4 core, 16 Gigs, OS 10.13.6

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest