how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
cobiashimew
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:19 am
Contact:

how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post by cobiashimew » Fri Apr 08, 2016 3:11 pm

I am trying to mix 10 songs out of a long performance in 24 tracks.

What I would like is to go to the start of a song, set all faders knobs etc. to where i want them, then go into write mode
and obliterate any and every setting as I go through a pass.

An analogy would be like how pro tools handles it, click the write button on a track, make your destructive pass then
it toggles to latch mode when stopped.
Nuendo used to work like that (I think in version 4?) before they forced the read on when you click the write button.

For the life of me I cant grock how to simply start overriding all automation at a given start point. I Have read the help
but am missing something.

thanks
i7 X990 3.47GHz / 24 GB RAM / Asus P6X58-E PRO / Windows 10 / RME Fireface UFX
Nuendo 10 / Cubase Pro 10 / Wavelab Pro 9.5 / Halion 6 / Groove Agent 5 / Waves / Izotope RX

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3829
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:23 pm

Uhm.... why don't you just switch to 'latch' then?....
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
cobiashimew
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post by cobiashimew » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:43 pm

Because i would have to touch every fader or pan or anything that i wanted to latch.

Every song is going to start out at different values, different pans, EQ's etc.
i7 X990 3.47GHz / 24 GB RAM / Asus P6X58-E PRO / Windows 10 / RME Fireface UFX
Nuendo 10 / Cubase Pro 10 / Wavelab Pro 9.5 / Halion 6 / Groove Agent 5 / Waves / Izotope RX

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post by twelvetwelve » Fri Apr 08, 2016 5:50 pm

I assume you want to just write for the particular song/section? If so, set your loop points around the song in question, open the automation panel, engage "loop" and off you go (this will write the value across the loop upon punchout.

If you want to keep looping over the section make sure the automation preference (located via the gear icon on the automation panel) "Continue Writing" is enabled.

You can also engage "Preview" so you can set your levels without writing automation and then when you're happy choose to punch those changes in.

There are also a variety of functions available within the automation menu which might be helpful in your scenario.

User avatar
cobiashimew
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post by cobiashimew » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:11 pm

Thank you thank you!

The preview and punch on play was it, where do i send the six pack of beer? :)
i7 X990 3.47GHz / 24 GB RAM / Asus P6X58-E PRO / Windows 10 / RME Fireface UFX
Nuendo 10 / Cubase Pro 10 / Wavelab Pro 9.5 / Halion 6 / Groove Agent 5 / Waves / Izotope RX

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3829
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post by MattiasNYC » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:16 pm

cobiashimew wrote:Because i would have to touch every fader or pan or anything that i wanted to latch.
First off, if you have your tracks' automation set to "global" then any tracks' automation will follow whatever "global" is set to. So no need to touch every fader in order to enable latch. Just set latch on the automation panel.

Secondly, do what likelystory said. And to clarify, when he wrote "engage 'loop'" he probably meant setting "fill" to "loop". This way when you punch out of recording whatever value you're punching gets set to your loop-selection.
cobiashimew wrote:Every song is going to start out at different values, different pans, EQ's etc.
If you include many different items, then I recommend using "Preview", again like likelystory said. It's very convenient. And if you want to make sure you catch every parameter of a plugin don't forget to enable "touch assist".

EDIT: Just saw you saw his post.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

User avatar
cobiashimew
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 4:19 am
Contact:

Re: how to "destructively" do an automation pass?

Post by cobiashimew » Fri Apr 08, 2016 6:34 pm

Thank you all so much.
i7 X990 3.47GHz / 24 GB RAM / Asus P6X58-E PRO / Windows 10 / RME Fireface UFX
Nuendo 10 / Cubase Pro 10 / Wavelab Pro 9.5 / Halion 6 / Groove Agent 5 / Waves / Izotope RX

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests