Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 can be posted here.
dmbaer
Member
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Jul 05, 2013 7:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by dmbaer »

+1
David Baer

Hardware: Intel I7 4-core hyper-threaded; 8M RAM; Dual hard drives; Roland Quad Capture
OS: Win 7 64-bit
DAW: Cubase 7.5 64-bit (and SONAR X2 64-bit)
Synths and effects: More than I care to contemplate, but only the 64-bit stuff ever gets used

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5644
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Centralmusic »

+ 1 !
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4506
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by raino »

peakae wrote:Ehh i did not see anything regarding renaming in any post.
Anyhow I would really like another column beside the plugin name, call it "alias" and any name in this would be used, if left empty the original name gets used.
That would make it easy to view original names and the new ones at the same time, and make it easier to come up with new names that haven't been used already.
Yes, like this
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

Simon Barden
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 10:44 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Simon Barden »

+1
I am 'Wonks' on the SoS forum. i7 PC, 16B RAM, 3 x SSDs Win 10, Cubase pro 8.5.15. 2 x UAD2 PCIe Quad cards. MOTU Traveller Firewire.

Frozenwave
Junior Member
Posts: 132
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2012 6:28 pm

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Frozenwave »

peakae wrote:Anyhow I would really like another column beside the plugin name, call it "alias" and any name in this would be used, if left empty the original name gets used.
Nice idea !

RealRaven2000
Junior Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2015 12:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by RealRaven2000 »

+1 by me and here is another place where it is annoying:

Image

either manage the "aliases" separately or add some rule to abbreviate differently. e.g. have the ellipses at the end instead of the middle:

Roomworks... instead of Roomw...SE
AIRMulti-C.. insteadf AIRMul...64
AIRMulti-D.. insteadf AIRMul...64

at least I get a chance to see whether I am dealing with Chorus or Delay :)
Cubase 10.5 Pro | Win 10 | i9 10920X Twelve Core | PRIME X299-AII | 64 GB DDR4-2132 | Steinberg UR824 | nVidia GeForce GTX 1650 SUPER
Using mainly Waves / iZotope / FabFilter / Plugin Alliance / IK-Multimedia Plugins.

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1757
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by mozizo »

+1
can help a lot .. in my case its T-racks for every plugin by ik-multimedia
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

cinematree
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 5:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by cinematree »

+1 Yes please
Using Cubase 10.0.15 with Windows 10 Pro, RME Madiface, Orion 32, Uaudio Thunderbolt Apollo 8, Apollo Twin, and a UAD Satellite

beerbong
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by beerbong »

As well to change the search strings.. I have some plugins that won't show up if I type the 'logical' name.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

folkfreak
Member
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by folkfreak »

Blackout wrote:good news! now that Guillermo from $teinberg has posted that they are going to listen to us, the users, it means that this function will be finished and this will be done apparently by the end of Jan!

nice work Guillermo and thank you! now...over to you...we are waiting...
Nothing but hot air, as usual.

atze100
Member
Posts: 687
Joined: Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:36 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by atze100 »

+1
Cubase Pro 8.0.40 64 Bit, Win7 Ultimate 64 Bit, Core i7 2600k, 16GB RAM

Cubase Safe Start: https://www.steinberg.net/fi/support/kn ... ences.html

Cubase Einstellungen: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Loop Breaker
Senior Member
Posts: 2510
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:52 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by Loop Breaker »

+1

I've started, inadvertently, a 2nd thread for this topic:
viewtopic.php?f=228&t=102131

Best Regards

User avatar
sidfrancis
Member
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 6:52 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by sidfrancis »

+1
Liebe ist das Zentrum der Musik. Ist keine Liebe darin handelt es sich um ein Geräusch

User avatar
LarsErik
Member
Posts: 207
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by LarsErik »

+1

Oh f**k yes. Being able to set a global alias name for a plugin would be so great.
Cubase 10.5 Pro, WaveLab Pro 10, Windows 10 (64bit)
RME-Audio UCX, Intel Core I7 3930K 3.20GHZ, NVIDIA GeForce GTX

jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by jjjooonnn »

+1

User avatar
UaTem
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2016 2:01 pm
Location: Ukraine
Contact:

Re: Plugin Manager - Option to rename plugins

Post by UaTem »

+1
Regards,
Artem

P.S. My English may not be perfect (but I try really hard)

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest