Docked Editor

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
sampolfonz
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:20 pm
Contact:

Docked Editor

Post by sampolfonz » Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:17 pm

Guys,

Is there a way to not have the editor open in a consolidated window? Is There preference to have it open up as before?

Anyone found this?

Thanks,
Rich

Mac Pro Trash Can, 6 core connected to Apollo via Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt card.

Mac Pro 2.66 Core 2 Duo,

Motu hd 192, Miditimepiece AV,

Cubase 9, 8.5, 8, 7, 6.5, 5, Digital Performer 9, Studio One Pro 3 and 2, Waves Mastering, Sonnox Oxford Mastering, East-West Play and Orchestra, IK Multimedia plug ins, UAD Plugins,

Focusrite ISA 428 PrePack, Focusrite ISA 828, ART Tube Compressors, Shure SM5b mics for vocals, ADK TC 51 Mic with Tube Pre, Focal Solo 6 monitors, and other neat stuff.

User avatar
Steve Helstrip
Member
Posts: 782
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Docked Editor

Post by Steve Helstrip » Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:19 pm

Drop down arrow top right! Been answered already,
Hackintosh, 8700K / 4.8GHz, 16Gb, OSX10.14.4
MacBook Pro Retina (2015), i5, 8Gb, OSX10.14.4
Cubase Pro 10
Vienna Ensemble Pro 6
UAD-2 Octo, Focusrite Clarett Thunderbolt
Cubase user since 1989!

http://www.thethrillseekers.co.uk
http://www.twitter.com/stevehelstrip
http://www.facebook.com/thrillseekersofficial

sampolfonz
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 7:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Docked Editor

Post by sampolfonz » Wed Dec 07, 2016 5:23 pm

That only un-docs it once it is open. How is it opened in editor window without docking first?
Rich

Mac Pro Trash Can, 6 core connected to Apollo via Thunderbolt and Thunderbolt card.

Mac Pro 2.66 Core 2 Duo,

Motu hd 192, Miditimepiece AV,

Cubase 9, 8.5, 8, 7, 6.5, 5, Digital Performer 9, Studio One Pro 3 and 2, Waves Mastering, Sonnox Oxford Mastering, East-West Play and Orchestra, IK Multimedia plug ins, UAD Plugins,

Focusrite ISA 428 PrePack, Focusrite ISA 828, ART Tube Compressors, Shure SM5b mics for vocals, ADK TC 51 Mic with Tube Pre, Focal Solo 6 monitors, and other neat stuff.

GregOndo
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:03 am
Contact:

Re: Docked Editor

Post by GregOndo » Wed Dec 07, 2016 6:08 pm

Go to Preferences - Editors and there are preferences to open editors in lower window zone or as an independent window on double clicking and opening via a key command.
Cubase 8, Nuendo 6.5, WaveLab 8.5
Hexcore I7, 12 gigs RAM, Windows 7 64bit
MR816CSX (2), CC121, Houston
Lots of VSTis and External MIDI

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Disabling the Lower Zone completely

Post by noiseboyuk » Wed Dec 07, 2016 9:47 pm

I thought the Lower Zone might be handy on Elements on the MBP - useless for the main rig with multiple screens, but good for one small screen perhaps. Sadly, I was mistaken - it's ill-conceived for this job. Everything I want to use it for requires height - a mixer where you can - gosh - see faders and sends at the same time, a key editor where you can see all the keys.

Oh well, I thought, just keep it switched off. But here's the kicker - I can't. Yes, I can hide it, but the moment I click on a midi part, up it pops in all its truncated glory. I then have to expand it out to a proper-sized window, and THEN hide the damn lower zone again afterwards. 8.5 - one click. 9.0 - three clicks, do to something I might do 500 times a day.

For me there are only three options. One - disable the thing completely; Two - further develop the Lower Zone into The Tabbed Zone and have it as a proper sized window that you can have alongside / flip between the project window, or Three - give up on Cubase 9 before it even starts.

So starting with #1 - is there a way of getting rid of it, and it never coming back? Quite happy to lose the Sampler Track along with it, as that has about a dozen problems of its own that would require its own thread.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1041
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling the Lower Zone completely

Post by ZeroZero » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:35 pm

You can effectively turn it off in prefs/editors
Z
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

Evertone
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling the Lower Zone completely

Post by Evertone » Wed Dec 07, 2016 10:37 pm

Preferences -> Editors -> Double-Click opens Editor in a Window.

This will open the editors in the original windows.
Cubase Pro 10.0.30
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

noiseboyuk
Member
Posts: 716
Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling the Lower Zone completely

Post by noiseboyuk » Wed Dec 07, 2016 11:04 pm

Thanks gawd for that, thanks folks.
Win 10 64 bit, i7 4930, 64gb RAM, 2x GT610, RME Babyface, Cubase 9.01, PT 12HD
Macbook Pro 2015, 2.8ghz i7, 16gb RAM

http://www.guyrowland.co.uk

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: NathanClearyMusic and 7 guests