Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret »

Here's my first test...
Cpro9_200_Nexus2_test_hd.png
200 Tracks of Nexus 2.7.4
(899.57 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 9 playing 200
and yes, you read it correctly that's "TWO HUNDRED" duplicated tracks
of refx's NEXUS 2.7.4 64bit VST2 and the new Frequency on each
without ANY dropouts.
and on a stock not yet tuned for production system!
While testing, I'm also running over 120 background processes (other software) according to the
Windows 10 64bit Pro task manager at the same time as Cubase Pro 9.

Well done Steinberg!

:D
Last edited by fretthefret on Thu Dec 08, 2016 10:49 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by jose7822 »

Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret »

jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by rumlee »

fretthefret wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
The 200 tracks, are they audio tracks or VSTi tracks?
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret »

VSTi and midi (Nexus 2.7.4 VST2 64 bit with each instance using the 65MB ballad piano patch) ,
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
jose7822
Member
Posts: 929
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2011 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by jose7822 »

fretthefret wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
That's good news :-)
GIGABYTE X99 Designare EX | Intel Core i7 6800K (OC'ed to 4.2 GHz) | 64GB of Corsair Dominator Platinum (3333 MHz) | EVGA GTX 1070 FTW | Corsair H115i Water Cooler | Be Quiet! Dark Power Pro 1200 Watt PSU | Windows 10 Pro | Cubase Pro 10.0.40 64 bit | Studio One v4.5.3 | Dorico 3 | Lynx Aurora (n) 8TB | UAD 2 Octo | UAD 2 Quad

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret »

jose7822 wrote:
fretthefret wrote:
jose7822 wrote:Yeah, but how does it compare to 8.5?
I could NOT do that on Cpro8.5
That's good news :-)

As for Audio 44.1 kHz - 24bit (3 second disk preload) on Cpro 9....

I've tried 2560 (two thousand five hundred and sixty) tracks and haven't even got above 40 % !!
I could probably run another 3 - 5 thousand more (for over 7500 tracks) without dropouts.
Cpro9_2560_track_test_hd.png
2560 tracks playback on Cpro 9 no dropout
(934.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

dlpmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 169
Joined: Fri Feb 04, 2011 6:47 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by dlpmusic »

Curious....buffer settings?...ASIO GUARD 2 on/off?
Cubase 10.x, I7 8 5960k Core, 32 gb
Halion 6.x, Large VE PRO setup with about 3000 Tracks

https://www.samplefuel.com

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret »

dlpmusic wrote:Curious....buffer settings?...ASIO GUARD 2 on/off?
on a UR44 and newest Yamaha USB ASIO driver
buffer at 1024 samples (at 512 samples the system is at 52% load)
ASIO Guard ON (Low).
46 ms post ASIO Guard latency, (26 ms PRE).
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
orchetect
Member
Posts: 531
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by orchetect »

While we're on the topic...

I could never get more than 50-60 Instrument Tracks with a Kontakt on each in Cubase 8.5 before the ASIO meter went haywire and project stability went through the basement.

Just loaded 200 empty Kontakt instrument tracks in Cubase 9.0.1 and it's handling it reasonably well. I sure hope this is a good sign.

Was thinking about going back to using VE Pro to balance processing load, but I may not need to now.

Quad-core i7 3.5GHz, 32GB RAM, macOS 10.12.1
Audio interface buffer: 256
ASIO-Guard on High
Steffan Andrews | Composer | Developer | website | imdb | gear list
System 1: 2019 Mac Pro - macOS 10.15.5 - 16-core - 192GB RAM - 8TB SSD - 580X
System 2: 2013 Mac Pro - macOS 10.14.6 - 3.5GHz 6-core - 64GB RAM - 4TB SSD - FirePro D500
DAWs: Cubase 10.5.20 | Dorico Pro 3.5 | Pro Tools Ultimate 2020.5

fretthefret
Member
Posts: 385
Joined: Fri Dec 06, 2013 7:29 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by fretthefret »

Further to the 2560 audio track test
Trying to load 2560 instances of cubase's native "Compressor" (1 insert per track) with a Q-Link (all tracks) in the Mixer crashes Cubase Pro 9 !

lol.
:shock:
Cubase Pro 10.5, FL Studio 20, Ableton Live Suite 10.1,Harrison Mixbus 32c, UAD Apollo x series, UR44, UR28m, SSL, Native Instruments Komplete ultimate, NI Maschine Studio, Xfer Records Serum, Lennar Digital Sylenth1, reFx Nexus3, Reveal Sound Spire, FabFilter, Soundtoys, Lexicon PCM, Sonarworks, Slate Digital, Izotope, Brainworx, SPL, Waves, Cableguys, Cytomic, MeldaProductions, AOM, IK Multimedia, DDMF, Boz Digital, Antares Autotune, a bunch of other obscure stuff, TBs of samples, too much hardware to list... PC Windows 10 Pro 64bit, i7-5960x (8 core), Asus x99 Deluxe ii, GeForce 1070 strix, Fractal Design Silent RL2 case, Noctua NH-d15s, 64 GB DDR4 g,Skillz Trident Z 3200 RAM, 1tb Samsung 960 m.2, 3TB segate Ironwolf NAS HDD, 4TB WDRed, 2TB WD Black, Laptop: MSI Ghost pro GS60 6QE i7-6700 Skylake Win 10 64bit, Storage: 32 TB QNAP NAS Raid 50, 12 TB QNAP RAID 1

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1790
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by mozizo »

fretthefret wrote:Further to the 2560 audio track test
Trying to load 2560 instances of cubase's native "Compressor" (1 insert per track) with a Q-Link (all tracks) in the Mixer crashes Cubase Pro 9 !

lol.
:shock:
Try loading compressor one at a time ;)
Good to know it performs better 8-)
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1533
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by In_Stereo »

This is hopeful. When the Trial is out I will test and hopefully come to same conclusion!
Latest Cubase 10.5, Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, i9 10920x 12-core 4.8gHz, 128 gigs RAM, AMD RX-550 , plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Tommy80
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by Tommy80 »

What appen if you send all the tracks to a group track before the main out?
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013) - OSX 10.12.5
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
Apogee Duet 2 - Steinberg UR824
Cubase Pro last version - Wavelab last version

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1051
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by ZeroZero »

I would not think that comparisons across different systems are valid. Yes, Cubase can be efficient or lax, but the environment is key.

I have tested the same project in C9 and C8.5 and get the same reading here. Cubase is generally well behaved here.
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 986
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Cubase Pro 9 tests

Post by J-S-Q »

Tommy80 wrote:What appen if you send all the tracks to a group track before the main out?
From everything I've seen, I doubt it would make any real difference if there are no plugins on any of these tracks. If there are lots of plugins involved then yes, complex routing definitely impacts ASIO performance.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests