how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
madsv
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post by madsv » Sun Dec 25, 2016 2:19 am

subject says it..
I have a lot of customized key commands in CB 8.5 but CB 9 didn't load them.
Wher are they stored and where should I copy them to so CB9 gets them ?
TIA :-)
Mads
--
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 1.0) Socket LGA1366
Core i7 I7-920 8 MB
Kingston 6 G RAM
ATI XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
RME Fireface 800, Windows 10 pro.
Cubase 10,0.10, Wavelab 10, Sibelius 7.5, Dorico 3.10

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post by djw » Sun Dec 25, 2016 3:30 am

For 8.5, you can find the files in:
C:\Users\<Name>\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 8.5_64\Presets\KeyCommands\

For 9:
C:\Users\<Name>\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 9_64\Presets\KeyCommands\

madsv
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post by madsv » Sun Dec 25, 2016 11:25 am

thank's djw - found it but it doesn't work :-(
CB 9 says that it's not a key command file - it looks for a .key or .mac file and in CB 8.5 it's an .xml file. I tried renaming the .xml into .key - still no luck.
What to do ?
--
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 1.0) Socket LGA1366
Core i7 I7-920 8 MB
Kingston 6 G RAM
ATI XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
RME Fireface 800, Windows 10 pro.
Cubase 10,0.10, Wavelab 10, Sibelius 7.5, Dorico 3.10

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post by marQs » Sun Dec 25, 2016 11:30 am

If you've copied the .xml from 8.5 to 9 in the named folders you should find them in the dropdown presets list in 9. Sounds like you're trying to import them from the key commands menu (which you don't have to).
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

madsv
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post by madsv » Sun Dec 25, 2016 11:56 am

I did copy it but I have no presets in the dropdown menu.
And CB 9 has no presets/keycommands folder. The keycommand is located in the C:\Users\Mads\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\Cubase 9_64 folder.
Could it be because my CB 8.5 is 32 bit ?
And why is CB9 looking for a .key file ?- there are no files with that ending..
--
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 1.0) Socket LGA1366
Core i7 I7-920 8 MB
Kingston 6 G RAM
ATI XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
RME Fireface 800, Windows 10 pro.
Cubase 10,0.10, Wavelab 10, Sibelius 7.5, Dorico 3.10

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2186
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post by marQs » Sun Dec 25, 2016 4:52 pm

Indeed the key commands folder is created when you save a preset first. So open up the key command menu ans save a preset with any name, you'll find the keyco folder as a subfolder of the presets folde then. Same for configurations.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo (2x)/Quad PCI-e | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

madsv
Member
Posts: 412
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 7:50 pm
Contact:

Re: how to get key commands into 9 from 8.5 ?

Post by madsv » Sun Dec 25, 2016 6:39 pm

yep - now it works :-)
Thank's a lot !
Mads
--
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R (rev. 1.0) Socket LGA1366
Core i7 I7-920 8 MB
Kingston 6 G RAM
ATI XFX Radeon HD 5770 1GB
RME Fireface 800, Windows 10 pro.
Cubase 10,0.10, Wavelab 10, Sibelius 7.5, Dorico 3.10

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: jibulissan and 9 guests