Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by alexis » Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:20 pm

Howdy!

What do folks think about having one location for people to post their favorite Macros and share with the community? Some of us are Macro Mavens, others are newbies, but having some cool macros in one place might be pretty cool for all of us.

Good idea maybe, or ...?

PS: This could include Project Logical Editor (PLE) macros as well!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by alexis » Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:20 pm

Copy/Paste a Portion of an Audio Clip (without actual cutting/splitting the audio itself)

I'll start it off - here's one for copying and pasting a portion of an audio clip without actual cutting/splitting the track itself (which I wanted to avoid because invariably I would forget to glue them back together and then wonder why things went awry later). So I am happy enough!

Step 1 - set the locators to the portion of the audio clip you'd like to copy/paste
Step 2 - Open up a range of *any* start/stop time at all somewhere between the locators. It can be any length at all, just so long as it's between the two locators.
Step 3 - Macro A
Step 4 - Macro B

Done! Now I can move the cursor anywhere in the project, and paste the portion of the track between locators.

Macro A (I've assigned CTRL-L)
- Transport - To Left Locator
- Edit - Left Selection Side to Cursor

Macro B (I've assigned CTRL-R)
- Transport - To Right Locator
- Edit - Right Selection Side to Cursor
- Edit - Split Range
- Edit - Copy
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

djgraver
Member
Posts: 377
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by djgraver » Sat Feb 11, 2017 6:48 pm

Show selected audio file in Explorer:
1. Audio - find selection in pool
2. media - show in explorer

assing your key, and when u press it explorer shows u contain folder with that sample and select it
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

Accel0001
Junior Member
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 6:32 am

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by Accel0001 » Sat Feb 18, 2017 8:10 pm

Export Selected Channels
- File - Export Audio Mixdown
- Audio Export - Sync Channel Selection with Mixer

This opens Export Audio Mixdown dialog. Selected channels are checked automatically in Channel Selection of the dialog.
Last edited by Accel0001 on Fri Feb 24, 2017 12:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
DAW: Cubase 9.5 (6.5 - 10), FL Studio 20.5 (8 - 20.5), Studio One 3.3 (2 - 4.5), etc.
PC: Win7 Ultimate, i7 3930K 4.2GHz (OC), 32GB RAM

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by alexis » Tue Feb 21, 2017 3:47 pm

Thanks djgraver and Accel0001, those are great ones!



Here's a handy one from stingray, for splitting out and muting an event:

Transport - Go to Left Locator
Edit - Split at Cursor
Transport - Go to Right Locator
Edit - Split at Cursor
Navigate - Left
Edit - Mute Events

Thanks guys ... keep 'em coming!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by mozizo » Tue Feb 21, 2017 7:36 pm

hi. 2 macros
1:
a macro to mute selection on event with the range selection tool.
best works if,"track selection follows event selection" is enabled under preferences ->editing
if not ,user have to select the track manually where the events needed to be mute (to work properly)
(didn't find other solution for automatic track selection,further improvements are welcome)

Image

2:
a simple macro to split selection with range selection tool,select the event,and switch to "select tool" for fast editing( event volume etc..)

Image

EDIT: i did those macros on Nuendo 7, in cubase 9 there is little difference in command name.(just made the macros in my cubase9 setup)
instead of "Locate selection",in cubase the command is"locate selection start"
Last edited by mozizo on Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by mozizo » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:11 pm

alexis wrote:Copy/Paste a Portion of an Audio Clip (without actual cutting/splitting the audio itself)

I'll start it off - here's one for copying and pasting a portion of an audio clip without actual cutting/splitting the track itself (which I wanted to avoid because invariably I would forget to glue them back together and then wonder why things went awry later). So I am happy enough!

Step 1 - set the locators to the portion of the audio clip you'd like to copy/paste
Step 2 - Open up a range of *any* start/stop time at all somewhere between the locators. It can be any length at all, just so long as it's between the two locators.
Step 3 - Macro A
Step 4 - Macro B

Done! Now I can move the cursor anywhere in the project, and paste the portion of the track between locators.

Macro A (I've assigned CTRL-L)
- Transport - To Left Locator
- Edit - Left Selection Side to Cursor

Macro B (I've assigned CTRL-R)
- Transport - To Right Locator
- Edit - Right Selection Side to Cursor
- Edit - Split Range
- Edit - Copy
if i understood what you meant, its can be achieved without macros !)) just use the range selection tool, copy and paste elsewhere, the audio/midi event copied from won't be splitted.
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by alexis » Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:26 pm

mozizo wrote:
alexis wrote:Copy/Paste a Portion of an Audio Clip (without actual cutting/splitting the audio itself)

I'll start it off - here's one for copying and pasting a portion of an audio clip without actual cutting/splitting the track itself (which I wanted to avoid because invariably I would forget to glue them back together and then wonder why things went awry later). So I am happy enough!

Step 1 - set the locators to the portion of the audio clip you'd like to copy/paste
Step 2 - Open up a range of *any* start/stop time at all somewhere between the locators. It can be any length at all, just so long as it's between the two locators.
Step 3 - Macro A
Step 4 - Macro B

Done! Now I can move the cursor anywhere in the project, and paste the portion of the track between locators.

Macro A (I've assigned CTRL-L)
- Transport - To Left Locator
- Edit - Left Selection Side to Cursor

Macro B (I've assigned CTRL-R)
- Transport - To Right Locator
- Edit - Right Selection Side to Cursor
- Edit - Split Range
- Edit - Copy
if i understood what you meant, its can be achieved without macros !)) just use the range selection tool, copy and paste elsewhere, the audio/midi event copied from won't be splitted.
Hi mozizo, thanks for looking at that!

It's been a while since I set this up, but iirc the Macro doesn't split the source audio itself (the source audio is left untouched), it's the range that is being split. It looks like you're saying that the 3rd command in Macro B isn't necessary ("Edit - Split Range"), I can't remember why I put that in there, but if it's just an uneccesary step, that would be cool!

The main reason I wrote the macro is to have the part of the audio to be copied by the range to exactly match the locators. I got frustrated matching them up "by hand" (zooming in maximally to line them up), and this was the best I could come up with!

Please keep the Macros coming ... improvements on this one or others, or even better yet, brand new ones!

Thanks!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1674
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by mozizo » Fri Feb 24, 2017 6:25 pm

hi alexis..
just wanted to mention that range selection tool can copy a "selection" of event/clip without splitting it regardless of locators position.
but your macro i guess copies when you want to use the locators position , so cool to have it ! ;)
cubase Pro 9.5 64bit ,halion 6 GA4 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 redstone 64bit 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

McSound
Junior Member
Posts: 122
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2018 11:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by McSound » Thu Feb 07, 2019 8:51 pm

Just have made a macros for piling up sounds separated by silence. I wanted to get rid of tedious work and spend more time for creativity) It is useful for doors, shots, blasts to collect them together.

1. Channel and track visibility - agents: show tracks with selected events ( making visible only selected events)
2. Audio - detect silence
3. Transport - locate selection start
4. Transport - locate next event
5. Transport - nudge cursor right ( maybe several times here for making space between events)
6. Edit - select from cursor to end.
7. Edit - move to cursor.
And repeat from 4 to 7 as many times as you wish. I made 30)
And after all 4-7 cycles -
8. Channel and track visibility - agents: show all channels/tracks.

If you select multiple events don't forget to check "process all selected events" in detect silence window.
And one another thing: there must be no event after theese events you want to act.
Nuendo-PileUp1.gif
(714.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Nuendo 10.1 , Samplitude ProX4, Win 10x64 pro, i7, 16Gb, 256SSD, Gigabyte GTX 760, Blackmagic DeckLink Mini Monitor, Presonus VSL1818, 2 monitors, 1 TV, Avid Artist Control v2, Liine Lemur, Yamaha MOX8 keyboard

Joe90
Junior Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Fri Nov 30, 2018 12:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Macro Mania - Post 'em here!

Post by Joe90 » Thu Jul 04, 2019 9:21 pm

Hoping to resurrect this thread as the introduction of Metagrid to my studio setup has gotten me thoroughly into my macros!

Here's one I use daily - bounce selection, open lower editor, apply variaudio, then select all notes and zoom to selection in the editor view, so you can instantly see the whole thing and start editing.

Anyone know how to get rid of the 'replace events?' prompt so bouncing in place happens smoothly? I know you can probably do it via autohotkey or something similar - but I run two different screens of vastly different resolutions, and have had nothing but issues with those programs.

Cheers!
Attachments
bounce and apply variaudio macro.png
(88.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 10 Pro, Studio One 4, Windows 10x64, i9 9900k, RME UCX

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: holografique and 7 guests