Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
OmniPsyence
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:00 pm
Contact:

Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by OmniPsyence » Sun May 22, 2011 8:05 am

Hi! I seem to have a bit of a problem here. Under the device setup options I do not have any option of choosing a video playback engine. DirectShow isn't even given as an option. Instead I have a huge blank box, ugh.

Any ideas what the issue could be?

thinkingcap
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 6459
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:27 pm

Re: Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by thinkingcap » Sun May 22, 2011 10:42 am

OmniPsyence wrote:Hi! I seem to have a bit of a problem here. Under the device setup options I do not have any option of choosing a video playback engine. DirectShow isn't even given as an option. Instead I have a huge blank box, ugh.

Any ideas what the issue could be?
Yes, and it´s explained in the 5.5. new features PDF - download and read... Also the Steinberg knowledge base concerning video playback with certain Hardware under certain systems with certain OS.
And Google Quicktime 64 Bit support in windows...
Cubase 5.1.1 (32bit) | Win 7 Pro x64 SP1 | RME Fireface UFX | RME Fireface 800 | Cubase Essential 5 | Win 7 Home Premium x64
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just took off my thinkingcap, it got filled up with too much crap...

OmniPsyence
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by OmniPsyence » Sun May 22, 2011 8:59 pm

Okay, so I found this here:
QuickTime in a 64-bit Environment

As of writing of this article there is no QuickTime 64-bit support for any Windows system available. In order to bypass this shortcoming, our 64-bit video engine uses a 32-bit helper/wrapper application to access QuickTime. This allows us to offer the same feature set on Windows Vista 64-bit and Windows 7 64-bit. The only exception is the video play-out in Nuendo 64-bit and Cubase 64-bit using e.g. Blackmagic Decklink / Intensity or AJA video cards. This is not possible and requires a 32-bit installation!
So apparently there is a wrapper to help with this issue, do you have any idea how to access it?

I tried downloading that K-Lite 64 bit codec pack but it didn't do anything to help me out.

OmniPsyence
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by OmniPsyence » Sun Jun 05, 2011 7:29 am

Is there any chance of me having some way of importing video at all? I desperately need to work on some scores and this is holding me back. No alternatives for video in Cubase 5 64bit?

OmniPsyence
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by OmniPsyence » Wed Jun 29, 2011 8:32 pm

Anyone? I really need to get video to work... Steinberg, where is your support at? :(

Guest

Re: Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by Guest » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:12 pm

This is a user forum. For official support, a support request form must be submitted.

OmniPsyence
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by OmniPsyence » Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:22 pm

Yeah, I knew that already. Have used the support forms many times....

Cujorius
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubse 5.5.3 64 bit - No Video Devices

Post by Cujorius » Fri Jul 27, 2012 11:54 am

as far as I know. you can't change it.

know it's been a while since you posted. but in the update information from 5.1 to 5.5, they removed the option to change the playback method.

must be a mistake. I'm sure.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests