VST Plug-Ins not updating in Plug-In Information

Discussions about VST Instruments and VST plug-ins from other manufacturers
Post Reply
axetofall
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:35 am
Contact:

VST Plug-Ins not updating in Plug-In Information

Post by axetofall » Mon Mar 20, 2017 10:44 am

Hello,

I'm currently using Cubase 7 on a Mac and have downloaded the recent Kontakt Player (5) from Native Instruments. The VST files are within my Library > Audio > Plug-Ins folder like all of my other Plug-Ins are such as Toontrack, Line 6 etc (which all work fine). However, the VST files for Kontakt don't appear to be updating in Cubase.

I've gone to Devices > Plug-In Information, clicked update, I have changed the path to several different folder locations but it doesn't seem to be updating. I've re-started Cubase and my computer since installing Kontakt, tried re-installing Kontakt but still nothing.

Does any one have any ideas what I could be doing wrong?

Thanks!

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3772
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: VST Plug-Ins not updating in Plug-In Information

Post by Prock » Mon Mar 20, 2017 1:54 pm

What files are not showing? Kontakt should show but, the actual VST instument sounds would not. They will be available inside the Kontak player once you open it.

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Zaras
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 3:57 am
Contact:

Re: VST Plug-Ins not updating in Plug-In Information

Post by Zaras » Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:13 am

I am also having the same problem. I've updated to the latest version of the Kontakt stand alone successfully but the Kontakt version inside Cubase is not updating and I can no longer play certain vst instruments. How Do I update the Cubase Kontakt?

Atardecer
Junior Member
Posts: 125
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:14 am
Contact:

Re: VST Plug-Ins not updating in Plug-In Information

Post by Atardecer » Tue Apr 11, 2017 4:32 am

I'm assuming here you're meaning that the plugin shows up in the Plugin Manager but when you load a vst instrument its not in the dropdown menu? If so, are you using the Default in the plugin collections in plugin manager? This will display plugins in Cubase default manner. If you have made you're owncollection (like me) where you like to categorise plugins you're own way, you need to manually add newly installed plugins to that collection. To do so, simply drag and drop the plugin from the left pane into the folder on the right you want (ie. drag Kontakt to a Samplers folder for example).

If you're talking about stuff not showing up as a Konatkt library within Kontakt, thats a different matter and nothing to do with Cubase.

Cheers,
James
System:
Win 7 SP1 64-bit
Intel i7-6900K @ 3.20GHz
64 GB RAM
Samsung SSD 850 Pro 1TB 256GB System Drive
Samsung SSD QVO 4TB Sample Drive
RME AES16/Lynx Aurora 16
Cubase 10
Reaper 5.40 64 bit

garnvik
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Oct 10, 2013 12:52 am
Location: Sarasota, FL
Contact:

Re: VST Plug-Ins not updating in Plug-In Information

Post by garnvik » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:32 pm

I had the same issue, but solved it. I did a search on my C drive for all Kontakt 5.dll files. I could tell by "date modified" which ones were the most recent. I removed all old .dll files from the cubase vst plugin folder, and copied over the newer ones. Basically, Kontakt inside Cubase is looking at the old dll files still and by locating, copying and pasting the newer ones into the right folder solves the problem.
PCAudioLabs Rok Box, Processor 3.40Ghz Intel, i7-2600K, Motherboard: Gigabyte Z68, Memory: 32GB, Windows 7 Pro 64-bit, 4 HD’s (SATA 2 and 3) | Cubase 8

Post Reply

Return to “VST Instruments and Virtual Effects (general)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests