9.0.20 experience so far?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
silhouette
Senior Member
Posts: 1325
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:45 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by silhouette »

Audio dropouts and freezes seem to be the order of the day for me. I am back with 9.0.10 for the time being. Having said that the audio dropouts started with Cubase 9???
Intel core i7 5960X CPU 3.0 GHz 64bit 32 gig RAM - Windows 10 - AMD RadeonHD 7700 - RME Fireface UC - Cubase 10.5 - UAD Solo + Duo + Quad - Nektar Panorama P1 - Komplete 12 - All uhe - Adam AX7 + Adam Sub 8 - BFD3 - Alchemy - PSP - FabFilter - Fender Telecaster- Wudtone Strat - Gibson L4, 335x2,330L,175 -Ibanez PM100 - Musicman Silhouette x 3 - Warwick Thumb Bass - Kemper Profiling Amp -https://soundcloud.com/silhouette-17

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by SteelyDani »

Two different computers here, with different audio cards and in none of them have I had the slightest problem, which makes me think that the solution from software code to dropouts, spikes and freezes might not be easy to find.
http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 685
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by AP »

So far so good except for the broken virtual keyboard and the VST Performance needs improvements.
Cubase Pro 10.0.60. 15" MacBook Pro i7, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.14 UR28M, CMC.

User avatar
Jazzhands
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Apr 11, 2014 7:17 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by Jazzhands »

Rock solid for me!

zipb
Junior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by zipb »

silhouette wrote:Audio dropouts and freezes seem to be the order of the day for me. I am back with 9.0.10 for the time being. Having said that the audio dropouts started with Cubase 9???
Have you checked your RME/soundcard driver? Is it the latest? Someone else said the difference was night and day for him(between the latest and previous RME driver, that is)
Desktop:
Gigabyte Z390 Designare/i9 9900k/OSX10.14.6/Cubase Pro 10.5.20/32 GB RAM/MSI AMD R480x/SSD's/Metric Halo ULN-8/UAD2 Quad
Laptop:
MacBook Pro 8,2/OSX10.12.6/8GB RAM/SSD/Metric Halo ULN-2

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1022
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by Sonik »

Jazzhands wrote:Rock solid for me!
OSX or Win?
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.5|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (24 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

kdogg456
Junior Member
Posts: 62
Joined: Thu Oct 15, 2015 5:58 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by kdogg456 »

CPU usage is much higher with VST's on OSX. Really want to use 9 but version 8.0.35 is still the best, super responsive and CPU use is excellent.
Mac Pro 2013 6 Core 3.5 ghz 32GB Ram OSX 10.14.5

Oliver17
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Fri Apr 26, 2013 7:38 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by Oliver17 »

Very unstable. Crashes and freezes all the time. At the moment I am really frustrated.
i9-9900k (Master), 64GB RAM, i7-4770k (Slave 1), 32GB RAM, i7-4770k (Slave 2), 64GB RAM, Win 10, Cubase 10, RME Fireface UCX

shore
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sun Jan 13, 2013 3:54 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by shore »

I am back with 9.0.10 for the time being. The VST3 / Plugin Alliance problems that were solved with moving to VST 2.4 for those plugins I own was back with a vengeance.
  • > Cubase freeze.
    > Bursts of noise.
    > While playing back a mix randomly playing other bits of audio additionally.
Of course, all gone in 9.0.10.
I'm on Win10, 64bit, latest drivers, focusrite interfaces.

Sven
http://www.svenhorlemann.com

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by Weasel »

There is something wrong with 9.0.20.

Projects created prior to 9.0.20 were playing back with an unusual amount of CPU spikes. I raised the latency to a higher number and that settled it down...but not completely.

I always let a freshly launched Project play through before working on it, so Cubase can roll over the spots where the introduction of some instrument track parts would spike and register, clearing up on the next playback and for the rest of the session. With 9.0.20, this wasn't happening. And many of these Projects were using less than 8 Instruments and audio combined.

I rolled back to 9.0.10, dropped latency back to it's smaller setting (192ms), and ran the same tunes. No spikes or dropouts. To me, that's quantifiable evidence that something is amiss.

This is the first revision of Cubase I've had to roll back to in ages and I find it rather disappointing.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

pondwalden
Junior Member
Posts: 155
Joined: Tue Feb 08, 2011 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by pondwalden »

I also had to roll back. Crazy interface slowdowns were causing the GUI on some large projects to respond more than a full second after clicking the mouse.

Hoping for Steiny to figure out the Mac interface issues.

Lasso
Member
Posts: 516
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by Lasso »

Weasel wrote:There is something wrong with 9.0.20.

Projects created prior to 9.0.20 were playing back with an unusual amount of CPU spikes. I raised the latency to a higher number and that settled it down...but not completely.
My experience too - at least for one of my projects - only seemed to happen on the first playback on .20 though but no sure. No more spikes at least but can't judge the total CPU consumption without rolling back, which I'm not ready to do yet.
2015 MBP Retina @ 2,8 gHz, High Sierra, Cubase Pro 10, WaveLab Pro 9, UAD Apollo Twin, UAD Apollo Satellite Quad TB

audioguy
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by audioguy »

I won't roll back but these audio glitches when just moving midi notes or scrolling editors, project page are rather annoying but it could be the audio driver (Roland SonicCell) which was not actually made for Windows 10.

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 705
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by Weasel »

My experience too - at least for one of my projects - only seemed to happen on the first playback on .20 though but no sure.
This behavior has been the norm for me since Cubase 7. Typically, I let the Project run through once to let it glitch at various points where different Instrument track parts show up along the timeline....then the next playback is good to go. But not with 9.0.20. The glitches continue until I raise the buffer to what I consider an unusable amount for recording. Rolling back to 9.0.10 fixed the problem for me.

Has anyone noticed that Steinberg has left the the 9.0.10 update link at the top of the forum page? Usually, they remove the previous version from up there. I think they are aware that 9.0.20 is problematic for some (or many) users and left the 9.0.10 link as a safety measure.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48GB RAM • OSX 10.14.6 • Cubase 10.5.20 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MOTU MIDI Express 128's

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

ralphprice
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 8:33 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by ralphprice »

I purchased a copy of Cubase 9 Pro and then upgraded to include Groove Agent 4, Halion 6 (with sonic) and Grand Se 3. Then made the mistake of loading Dorico 1 to see what it would be like. Now keep getting a message about Halion Symphonic Orcehestra Factory Presets 1 not being loaded. Uninstalled Dorico and it still appears. Now whenever I try to add a Halion Sonic instrument the whole thing corrupts and and I get the 'save your project under a different filename and restart' message. Bitterly disappointed at how unstable Cubase 9 is now.

Anyone have a solution? :(

extralife
New Member
Posts: 44
Joined: Sat Aug 01, 2015 5:02 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by extralife »

kdogg456 wrote:CPU usage is much higher with VST's on OSX. Really want to use 9 but version 8.0.35 is still the best, super responsive and CPU use is excellent.
Exactly the same here.

pkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2013 9:10 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by pkmusic »

Horrible. Random audio dropouts from previously good projects. I am actually hesitant to call this software professional.
Windows 10 x64 vs 1809 Build 17763.1039
Gigabyte Z390 UD
3.70 gigahertz Intel Core i7-8700K
32 MGb DDR4
Cubase 10.5.10 Build 120
Presonus RM16A via 1394

zipb
Junior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Wed Dec 16, 2015 12:02 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by zipb »

I had a real recording session last night(real in the sense of using an improvised vocal booth, talkback, punch ins, cycle recording, take comping, quickly adding backing vocals, trying out different ideas), the works.
I will normally bounce everything to stems to reduce clutter, but I didn't do that this time, so I had at least 8 VI's running, plus a bunch of audio tracks.
No problems or hiccups. I even got my copy of Cubase iC Pro to work(shouldn't work with iOS10.3.2, but it did)
Smooth session. I was able to concentrate on the job, and I had fun too. Lovely.
Desktop:
Gigabyte Z390 Designare/i9 9900k/OSX10.14.6/Cubase Pro 10.5.20/32 GB RAM/MSI AMD R480x/SSD's/Metric Halo ULN-8/UAD2 Quad
Laptop:
MacBook Pro 8,2/OSX10.12.6/8GB RAM/SSD/Metric Halo ULN-2

audiofrq
New Member
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2012 3:22 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by audiofrq »

I'm on OSX 10.10 on a macbook pro.

Like I mentioned in a previous thread, 9.0.20 doesn't even make it through the plugin scan, so crashes on start up. There isn't one particular plugin that it crashes with, it just enters that phase of the start up, tries to scan and then crash.

Rolled back 9.0.10 using Time machine and everything is working fine including plugin alliance stuff, powercore stuff via 32bit lives.

User avatar
PMF
Junior Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 9:18 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by PMF »

Lasso wrote:
Weasel wrote:There is something wrong with 9.0.20.

Projects created prior to 9.0.20 were playing back with an unusual amount of CPU spikes. I raised the latency to a higher number and that settled it down...but not completely.
My experience too - at least for one of my projects - only seemed to happen on the first playback on .20 though but no sure. No more spikes at least but can't judge the total CPU consumption without rolling back, which I'm not ready to do yet.
Been having this issue too since C7. I think it has nothing to do with C9.0.20
After loading a project the first time, playback will cause CPU Spikes, 2nd time playback: no Spikes.
If I wait like 1-2 Minutes after loading the project, everything Plays back fine.
Multitrack/Mastering HW: ASUS P87 Plus, i7 4790 3.6GHZ, 32GB RAM, Graphics: ATI Radeon HD7750, HD SYS C: 0.5TB, Samsung evo 850, VSTi F: Seagate ST2000DX001, Data E:3TB, Seagate ST3000DM008, Backup/Image: 4TB Seagate ST4000DM005 x2, RME RayDat, 3 Focusrite Clarett Octopre, GAP Prem73 Pre, RME Quadmic II, OS WIN10 64bit 1909, Cubase Pro 10.5.00, Sequel3 and Samplitude PRO-X4 15.2.2.388 64bit.

jessenemitz
New Member
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2011 6:20 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by jessenemitz »

9.0.20 for me (highly optimized w7 64bit) is like a dream. it may even be as fast as 6.5 now. I can finally work... something I noticed however may help others. When you first start cubase, bring up the media bay. WAIT till it is completely synced with itself.... THEN load up your session. YMMV

User avatar
SafeandSound
Member
Posts: 214
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 7:05 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by SafeandSound »

Early experiences suggest 9.0.2 is going to work very well. Only a menu bar hang issue after clicking "X" to close the application on 1 system of 2 where 9.0.2 is installed. (oddly not exhibited when using File/Quit).

Overall things feel sturdy. Once (after loading 50x soft synths) I have seen the project name vanish from the upper arrange window bar, leaving a blank arrange window bar.

I am fairly confident 9.0.2 is going to work nicely other that these slight issues that have not caused any crashes.
Home music making machine : Windows 10 (64bit), Cubase 9.0.2, RME HDSP 9632 PCI, 16GB HyperX 1333MHz, Intel i7-2600 3.4GHz, ASUS P8H61-M LE/USB3, Seasonic X-650 PSU, Radeon HD5450 PCI-E, Samsung 850Pro 256GB SSD (LatencyMON checked, memory tested, latest BIOS/drivers, no cracks, DAW only clean install to SSD) Mastering Engineer Barry Gardner

RichardTownsend
Junior Member
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2016 7:39 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by RichardTownsend »

I have slightly worse cpu usage and occasional crashes I never had before. Also a strange problem in the key editor where notes stay coloured black after the playback cursor has passed through them. I'm almost sure I didn't get that in 9.0.10. Is anybody else experiencing that?
2014 MacBook Pro 15", 16Gb RAM, 500Gb SSD, 2Tb CIE Rugged External HD, BENQ GW2765 display at 2560 x 1440, Mac OS Mojave, Cubase 10.5.x, Dorico 3.x, Mytek Brooklyn DAC, NI Kontrol 6, Neumann KH120 monitors, Focal Elear phones, NI Komplete 12, Omnisphere, Kontakt libraries, Serum, Superior Drummer 3

User avatar
hjwinge
Member
Posts: 243
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 11:11 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by hjwinge »

I use Elements on my office imac (late2009), with sierra, and although cubase 9 and sierra is supported, I would not recommend this combo. I get bad slowdowns, and for the first time I have to restart the mac frequently during sessions and more. I have used Elements 7, 8, and 9 and perfomancewise on this mac, I think 8 should be the final version supported on this mac.
Main studio: Cubase pro 10.0.3, Wavelab 9.5, mac pro middle 2012, saffire pro 40, waves 9, 10 and 11, t-racks, plugin alliance, superior drummer and komplete, and much more. Mackie D8B with probox DAW controller (MCU protocoll and Generic remote)

Classroom 1: imac with Cubase elements 10, saffire pro 40, behringer x32 as DAW controller MCU or MIDI/generic remote
Classroom 2: mac pro 2011, Cubase elements 10.5, protools 11, scarlet 18i20, 3d gen

audioguy
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: 9.0.20 experience so far?

Post by audioguy »

I introduced Reason 9 into the equation and things seem to have stabilized considerably.

A great many less audio breakups when moving MIDI notes, which is most welcome but seems counter intuitive when I am using VEPro 6, Cubase 9 and Reason 9 all together!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests