No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Haavard
Junior Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 8:30 am
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by Haavard » Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:12 pm

I have this as well and it's driving me nuts!!

It just started happening on a project I've been working on a lot, and I've got a lot of work done on it without this happening. I opened it today, and several tracks (though not all) exhibit this exasperating behavior.

I have 8.5 build 69 - downloading update as we speak. The change in behavior is not update-related.
Haavard
(Previous nick on Cubase.net: ToonHead)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18617
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Apr 05, 2016 8:03 am

8.5 build 69 is 8.5.0. Please update to 8.5.15, where was the fix applied.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

stevesideas
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by stevesideas » Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:59 pm

I have the same problem running Cubase 8.0.35 Build 565 (64 bit). I don't really want to upgrade to 8.5 so am I stuck with this issue now ? If so I have to say this is a joke !

For some reason this issue started happening when I recently opened up a 3-4 week old track I'm working on. Was fine previously.

telecino
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:00 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by telecino » Mon Oct 24, 2016 6:11 pm

Restarting Cubase doesn't work for me, but rebooting the entire computer does.

Cubase 8.5, it started happening just lately, this is what changed on my computer since the bug started:
- I installed their new eLicenser to remove the bug with the old MP3 license
- I installed Civilization 6 :)

Anyway: Reboot = loss of time = temporary solution.

I can't stop using volume automation on my VST,s. It makes no sense. So.... Help Cubase? Help Steinberg?

patrick76
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:22 am
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by patrick76 » Wed Nov 02, 2016 12:31 am

I have also been having this problem where tracks mysteriously stop making any sound. Odd. I just recently got Cubase 8.5 after using 6.5 for quite a while. These bugs are why I loathe to upgrade any software that is working well. I am downloading the latest update (here for those interested http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ro_85.html ) and hope this fixes the issue. Will report back after using the new version for a while, hopefully with good news!

Mosaic
Junior Member
Posts: 159
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2015 3:41 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by Mosaic » Wed Nov 02, 2016 7:01 am

telecino wrote:Restarting Cubase doesn't work for me, but rebooting the entire computer does.

Cubase 8.5, it started happening just lately, this is what changed on my computer since the bug started:
- I installed their new eLicenser to remove the bug with the old MP3 license
- I installed Civilization 6 :)

Anyway: Reboot = loss of time = temporary solution.

I can't stop using volume automation on my VST,s. It makes no sense. So.... Help Cubase? Help Steinberg?
Unfortunately, the only known fix for this is to upgrade. To me, that's not a "bug", its forcing people to pay extra for a faulty product. The "support" I received from Steinberg on this matter borders on the ridiculous. Its such a shame they cannot take their Support seriously and understand what handling issue requests better would mean to the image of the company.
Windows 10, 64 bit, Cubase 9.5

patrick76
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2015 1:22 am
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by patrick76 » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:01 pm

patrick76 wrote:I have also been having this problem where tracks mysteriously stop making any sound. Odd. I just recently got Cubase 8.5 after using 6.5 for quite a while. These bugs are why I loathe to upgrade any software that is working well. I am downloading the latest update (here for those interested http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ro_85.html ) and hope this fixes the issue. Will report back after using the new version for a while, hopefully with good news!
Well, the update seemed to fix the bug for a while, but now the same thing is happening again even with the latest version. Very frustrating. Simply don't have time to have to go through each track to see if it is going to actually sound when played.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by alexis » Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:07 pm

patrick76 wrote:
patrick76 wrote:I have also been having this problem where tracks mysteriously stop making any sound. Odd. I just recently got Cubase 8.5 after using 6.5 for quite a while. These bugs are why I loathe to upgrade any software that is working well. I am downloading the latest update (here for those interested http://www.steinberg.net/en/support/dow ... ro_85.html ) and hope this fixes the issue. Will report back after using the new version for a while, hopefully with good news!
Well, the update seemed to fix the bug for a while, but now the same thing is happening again even with the latest version. Very frustrating. Simply don't have time to have to go through each track to see if it is going to actually sound when played.
Oh, dear. I thought it was safe to upgrade to 8.5 in a few weeks, regarding this and other bugs that had been reported as being fixed. I hope it turns out to be an unrelated issue.

Please report back if you learn anything new!
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

lior
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 9:33 am
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by lior » Sun Jun 11, 2017 3:11 pm

I'm experiencing it now in a middle of a project
now is 2017, and still can't find any solution.

can someone in steinberg hear us???

maby its time to move on guys

can't work like this...

if somebody has the solution, i'll be glad to know.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by alexis » Mon Jun 12, 2017 3:39 am

lior wrote:I'm experiencing it now in a middle of a project
now is 2017, and still can't find any solution.

can someone in steinberg hear us???

maby its time to move on guys

can't work like this...

if somebody has the solution, i'll be glad to know.
Which Cubase are you running? I haven't noticed this in Cubase 9.0.20.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

lior
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 10, 2016 9:33 am
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by lior » Mon Jun 12, 2017 4:40 pm

Hi alexis
Cubase 8.5

as u see above its a problem that are repeating for years again and again

now i dont know what to do, this project is very important for me,
As soon as I open the project
after 30 seconds or so, the audio stops completely.
There is a sign of the Level meter, but there is no sound at all.




cubase 8.5
intel core i7-4710HQ cpu 2.5 ghz, 16 gb ram. win 10 64-bit. ssd HD. Komplete audio 6.

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4417
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by alexis » Tue Jun 13, 2017 3:07 am

lior wrote:Hi alexis
Cubase 8.5

as u see above its a problem that are repeating for years again and again

now i dont know what to do, this project is very important for me,
As soon as I open the project
after 30 seconds or so, the audio stops completely.
There is a sign of the Level meter, but there is no sound at all.




cubase 8.5
intel core i7-4710HQ cpu 2.5 ghz, 16 gb ram. win 10 64-bit. ssd HD. Komplete audio 6.
Hi - The moderator a few posts up said to make sure it's 8.5.15 that is being used.

Beyond that: Maybe try Cubase safe mode (not the same as Windows safe mode) to see if it might be a corrupted preference.

Also, maybe try it on a virgin project (brand new and empty, not even using one of your templates).

Finally - maybe try updating the e-licenser, as an administrator.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

LetitLoad
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2018 9:17 pm
Contact:

Re: No sound in Cubase on tracks with volume automation

Post by LetitLoad » Fri Jul 12, 2019 1:33 pm

Still no fix in 2019. It's a MASSIVE problem, especially when I have clients waiting for a mix...

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests