RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by beatpete »

Fo all you RME HDSP users, I got my trusty old HDSP PCI card (rev. 1.7 connected to a Digiface) to work perfectly with a StarTech PCI Express to PCI Adapter Card!
http://www.startech.com/ca/Cards-Adapte ... d~PEX1PCI1
I'm running a Asus X99-a USB 3.1 motherboard with an Intel 5930k and 32 gig of Corsair DDR4 ram.
Lots more years left in this setup...
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

SLL
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 10:47 pm
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by SLL »

Thanks beatpete for informing about this. I also use a RME HDSP 9652 legacy pci card, which works fine in my old current motherboard. But since the old PCI bus is bridge to the PCIe bus on newer mobos, such a little PCI -> PCIe adapter could come in handy to use :)

Some new mobo's still have the old legacy pci slot on board. But if this adapter works, then it might be better to insert the card in a "native" pcie slot, than using the bridged slot.

Though I have read, that the Asus' Z97 mobos (with legacy pci) works fine with the older HDSP pci cards, though I've never tried it myself.

But thanks for this info.

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by beatpete »

Yeah, the problem is, as far as I know, none of newer X99 motherboards have PCI slots. Also, as a mod pointed out on the RME forum, RME PCI cards with more I/O may be p[problematic because of the extra height incurred by the adapter. In that case, mods to the computer case may be in order.
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

bacherak
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2015 6:20 pm
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by bacherak »

Beatpete.. I just upgraded to windows 10 with a motherboard that only has PCIE slots. I bought your recommended card. But I am not able to find the right driver for Windows to recognize this as a RME HDSP PCI Card.. Kindly help me on how you set it up
Ram

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by beatpete »

bacherak wrote:
Sun Nov 05, 2017 1:50 am
Beatpete.. I just upgraded to windows 10 with a motherboard that only has PCIE slots. I bought your recommended card. But I am not able to find the right driver for Windows to recognize this as a RME HDSP PCI Card.. Kindly help me on how you set it up
Ram
I'm not sure. What revision of RME HDSP PCI card are you using? The latest RME drivers worked for me, been working without a glitch for 2 1/2 years.
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

User avatar
Dallon426
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by Dallon426 »

I've read that pci cards will not work in pcie slots.
Lenovo Legion y730
Cubase Elements 10.5

User avatar
Mauri
Senior Member
Posts: 1141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 3:17 am
Location: Adelaide AU
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by Mauri »

Dallon426 wrote:
Fri Nov 10, 2017 10:22 pm
I've read that pci cards will not work in pcie slots.
The original poster wrote: "Fo all you RME HDSP users, I got my trusty old HDSP PCI card (rev. 1.7 connected to a Digiface) to work perfectly with a StarTech PCI Express to PCI Adapter Card!"
http://www.startech.com/ca/Cards-Adapte ... d~PEX1PCI1

You're right, pci cards will not work in pcie slots, that's why you need to use an adapter... ;)
Cubase Pro 10.5 x64 with jBridge | WaveLab Elements 10 | i7 5930K @ 4.6GHz (stable) | ASUS X99 Pro | 32GB RAM | | W10 x64 Dual Boot on 2 SSDs plus 3 SSDs for samples and project/audio files | Fractal Design Define R5 case | Noctua NH-D15 | AMD Radeon RX 580 | Vox ToneLab SE | Mackie HR624 MKII | 2 x UAD2 Solo PCIe | RME HDSPe AIO | 2 x 24" LED monitors...

User avatar
Dallon426
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by Dallon426 »

Hmmm. Is latency affected at all?

Curious because then I might buy an RME card. I'm doing testing on my system this week. I'm going to try the Motu 828x via Thunderbolt and see what results I get
Lenovo Legion y730
Cubase Elements 10.5

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by beatpete »

Dallon426 wrote:
Sat Nov 11, 2017 6:07 pm
Hmmm. Is latency affected at all?

Curious because then I might buy an RME card. I'm doing testing on my system this week. I'm going to try the Motu 828x via Thunderbolt and see what results I get
Latency is still better than any other audio interface I've tried (including the RME UFX).
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

User avatar
Dallon426
Member
Posts: 348
Joined: Sat May 04, 2013 8:00 pm
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by Dallon426 »

Have you used Thunderbolt yet?
Lenovo Legion y730
Cubase Elements 10.5

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by beatpete »

Dallon426 wrote:
Sun Nov 12, 2017 8:05 pm
Have you used Thunderbolt yet?
No, I'm on a PC with no native thunderbolt support. That said, my setup can keep up with all but the fastest TB interfaces.
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Daskeladden
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by Daskeladden »

Just curios did you have to custom make your pc case cause of the adapter. Sound card gets higher than it normally would?

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by beatpete »

Daskeladden wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:39 pm
Just curios did you have to custom make your pc case cause of the adapter. Sound card gets higher than it normally would?
I had to adapt to the case but it wasn't that difficult, Still working great BTW!
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 10.5 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 10 64bit, I5 3450,32 gb ram, VEPro 7.

Daskeladden
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Jun 16, 2019 12:44 am
Contact:

Re: RME HDSP PCI card in PCIe slot (newer motherboards)

Post by Daskeladden »

beatpete wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:46 pm
Daskeladden wrote:
Sun Aug 18, 2019 3:39 pm
Just curios did you have to custom make your pc case cause of the adapter. Sound card gets higher than it normally would?
I had to adapt to the case but it wasn't that difficult, Still working great BTW!
yes, that what I thought. I was just curious cause some guy over at Gearslutz gonna try the same as you

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests